Sailing Through Another Wednesday Hodgepodge…

I always look forward to Wednesdays because of The Hodgepodge because it’s a weekly chance to exercise my brain.  Ready, set, go!  Below you will find Joyce’s questions, along with my answers:

1. Have you learned more from success or failure? Explain. I’ve discovered I always learn more from the ‘valleys’ of my life, so I’d have to say I’ve learned more from my failures.  In time, I can usually look back and figure out my mistakes–and hopefully not make the same ones again.

2. What did you call your grandparents when you were growing up? If you have children, what do they call your parents? If you have grandchildren, what do they call you? I always called both sets of my grandparents grandma and granddaddy. Our children called Ed’s parents Mema and Grandpa, and they called my parents grandma and granddaddy.  All of our grandchildren call us Mimi and “E”.  Our youngest grandchild, Chase, just learned how to say “Mimi” and “E”. 66697_362719010498906_2017606423_n

 It doesn’t matter how many times I hear “Mimi” spoken, it never gets old!

3. You’re invited to a luau. In keeping with that theme, what dish will you bring to share? Since I’ve never been to a luau, I had to do some research to find out what foods are appropriate.  That being said, I think I’d choose to bring a coconut cake to share.  You know me, I love desserts!

4. Besides Jesus, what one person’s life story do you think everyone should know about?

I have a confession to make here.  I couldn’t think of an answer for this question, at first!  Then I went over to Joyce’s blog to link up, and saw her answer of “Adolph Hitler”.  I totally agree!  Everyone needs to know about this evil man, and we need to make sure his history isn’t ever allowed to repeat itself.

5. “Don’t sweat the small stuff.” Agree or Disagree? Why? Although it’s still sometimes tough for me to do, I agree!  In the past, I’ve spent a great deal of time “sweating the small stuff”, but I’ve learned to overlook more things as I’ve grown older, especially while we were raising our teenagers!

6. June is National Rivers Month. When were you last on a river? What’s the prettiest river you’ve ever seen? What’s a river you’d like to see?

The last time I’ve been on a river was about 20 years ago, when Ed and I rented a pontoon boat while our family was vacationing in St. Augustine, Florida.  It had been about 15 years since Ed and I’d been boating, and it was great to be on the water again!

6-14-2012 1;53;04 PM

I’d like to check out the waterways down in Florida again.  I prefer salt water to fresh water, and I prefer a motorboat to a canoe!

P.S.  After reading the answers of a few others, I suddenly remembered a more recent trip on a river!  I took a ride on a riverboat in Savannah, Ga. with one of the first grade’s field trips, about ten years ago.  The trip was down a salt river, so I was happy!

7. Speaking of rivers-paddling, fishing, swimming, or bird watching safely from the shore? Which activity would you choose? Yes-you have to choose. At this point in my life, I’d choose to watch the birds from the shore, unless I could catch a ride in a motorboat!

Random: Hooray!!!  We finally got some much-needed rain yesterday afternoon!  Unfortunately, we also got some thunder and lightning to go along with it!  Our lights went out while I was in the middle of cooking supper.  Not fun!  We were without power for three hours, due to the storm.  The storm also disrupted our phone service.

During the evening, our phone kept ringing and ringing, but we weren’t able to hear anyone on the line.  While the phone kept ringing, we couldn’t imagine who was being so persistent…then we found out!

It was our son, Brad, calling with some news!

He and Jennifer found out yesterday that their baby is a BOY!!!

Jennifer sent me this picture.

photo (24)

Before I know it, this little one will be calling me “Mimi”, too!

I love it!

Published in: on June 5, 2013 at 8:58 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/05/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love the sonogram pics – didn’t have those when I had my kids.

  2. Congrats on a new baby boy coming! So awesome!

  3. Congrats on your new grandson on his way! I love Mimi and Mema for names. Coconut cake sounds like a great dessert 🙂

  4. I must have missed the news of the new grandbaby when we were on vacation (I’m still trying to get caught up). Congratulations! A new Grandson!

  5. Coconut anything is good so good choice. Congrats on the new grandson and yes, no matter how many time I hear it, Love being called Grannie.

  6. Mimi is so sweet. Coconut cake would be delicious! That is true, people do need to know about what Hitler did. I really dislike it when the power goes out. For some reason ours went out several times last week but just for short periods of time. Just after I reset the clocks it would go out again. Congratulations on the news of your new grandson!

  7. Congratulations on your happy news! Our phone kept ringing and ringing yesterday too…it was Primary day in NJ and everybody running wanted to make sure we were voting : )

  8. Congratulations on another little grandson on the way! That river question startled me. My parents had a houseboat on a river and growing up we were on the river nearly every weekend and in the summer, but your post made me realize that as an adult those experiences have been few.

    I have been IN a river often — one that runs beside a favorite campground in the Smoky Mountains. Last time in 2010 but not since my stroke 2 years ago. Oh, but that mountain water is so cold.


Leave a Reply

