Another Rainy Monday…

We’re beginning this week on a very wet note!  We’ve had rain every day for several days.  We’ve gone from dry conditions to soggy conditions.  How quickly things can change!  Neither condition is good for our garden, but that’s a post for another day…

Today is the day I participate in “The Monday Quiz”.  I’ll answer Heather’s four questions, then present one of my own.  I’ll end the post with a brief recap of the weekend.

Acting Balanced

1. June 10th is Iced Tea Day – do you drink iced tea? Sweet or unsweetened? Flavored?

I don’t care for flavored teas at all.  I love sweetened iced tea (Luzianne is my favorite brand), but I rarely drink it anymore because of the sugar and caffeine.  I know I could drink decaffeinated tea sweetened with artificial sweetener, but it’s just not the same!   These days, I usually drink water because it’s the healthiest choice.  On special occasions I’ll reward myself with a nice, tall glass of sweet tea, and it’s delicious.

2. What would be an essential for you to survive a long airplane flight?

I’ve never flown, and I tend to get claustrophobic, so I’d probably need a mild sedative to make it through a long airplane flight.  I’d definitely need someone to keep me company!

3. How do you explain wanting an iron to someone who does not speak English?

Now that would be interesting to watch!  I’d do the motions of ironing with my hands–and hope they didn’t laugh.

4. Should smoking be allowed in restaurants?

Absolutely not!  There’s nothing worse than trying to eat a meal while breathing someone’s second hand smoke!  It’s just plain nasty.

Here’s my rant on cigarette smoking:

I grew up with two parents who smoked cigarettes until the day they died.  I breathed their second-hand smoke for many, many years.  It stung my eyes, made my lungs burn, and made me sick to my stomach.  Shame on parents who force their children to breathe second hand smoke, especially in a car!

When Ed and I married, his mother also smoked (thank goodness, she quit twenty-six years ago).  During the early years of our marriage, out of respect, Ed and I felt we had to tolerate our parents smoking whenever they came to visit our home.  After every visit, our home always wreaked of stale smoke!  It would take days to rid our home of the smell!  During the first few years of our marriage, one parent set our car door on fire, another burned a hole in our couch, and yet another scorched the kitchen counter top with a cigarette.  Finally, we’d had enough, and we refused to let anyone smoke in our home anymore!  Which leads me to my question for you:

5.  Do you allow smoking in your home?

Weekend recap:

It was a busy weekend around our house.  Ed’s mom is in the hospital, so part of the weekend was spend running back and forth seeing about her.  Thankfully, she is responding to treatment, and seems to be getting better.

There was a nearby wreck and five stabbings at the local prison on Saturday.  The tech working weekends at the hospital called Ed to see about getting more help in x-ray.  They called in a second tech, but Ed decided to go in and help out as well.  He was gone a couple of hours!

On Sunday, I cooked and we had all of our grown children/families over for lunch.  It’s always special to get everyone together under our roof again.  Why is does food always taste better when you share it with family?  I hope my children and grandchildren will remember these Sunday dinners at Mimi’s, with fondness, one day.  I know I sure will!

I know I’m running behind with posting and visiting.  I’ll get caught up one of these days!  Until then, I’m just doing the best I can.  Have a great Monday!

Published in: on June 10, 2013 at 9:59 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/10/another-rainy-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My mom smoked … she quit smoking about 25 years before she passed, but unfortunately the damage was done. She was diagnosed with COPD two years before her passing and lung cancer about 9 months before she passed. 😦 Fortunately none of our friends smoke, so I’ve never had to ask someone not to smoke, but I think I would ask visitors not to.

    I’m with you … a meal is always way better when spent with family.

    I’ve told about our garden experiences so far this spring – rain, rain, rain. We got a little rain over the weekend (3/10″) – not enough to wreak any havoc on our garden. I’m anxious to get over there and see how things are doing. I’m sure anxious to see some more green beans sprouting! Or at least the existing sprouts taking off. 😉

  2. I don’t allow smoking in our home either. I’m so sorry about your MIL. I hope and pray that she will get better soon. Hope you dry out soon as well.

  3. Actually it’s been a long time since anyone has tried to smoke in our home. We’ve never really discussed it as to whether we would let them or not. I’d probably ask them to go to the front porch if they wanted to smoke.

    Seems a lot of people are having problems with the weather and their gardens this year.

    Food does always taste better when you’re with family. Actually, everything is better when you’re with family.

    Have a great day!

  4. I would prefer to not let people smoke in my house but it doesn’t work for me since Biz smokes.

  5. No! We do not allow smoking in our home! Thankfully, our closest relatives and friends are our most frequent visitors, and they are not smokers.

  6. My daddy smoked and my mother-in-law did/does as well. I have never allowed smoking in our home. Never. If they wanted to smoke, they had to go outside. I don’t feel like it was a lack of respect towards our parents to ask them to do it outside. They never voiced irritation at me for this rule. It was our home and we had to breathe and didn’t want the babies getting sick either. Obviously, if we went to their homes, we couldn’t avoid it and the kids would always be sick afterwards.

    I hope that your mother-in-law will be well soon. Have a great week!

  7. No smoking in our house! There’s plenty of land outside to do it.
    Sorry about your MIL! Hope she’s well soon!
    Here’s My MQAM

  8. I did smoke for 12 years but its been 27 years since I quit. No, I don’t allow smoking in my home and I don’t visit those who do……there are only a few relatives who still smoke, for the most part I don’t know many smokers……..

  9. My father smoked with me in the car or in the house when I was a kid. I hate it when people around me smoke and I can not stand it. When the city of Anniston enacted a smoking ban in public places, some people say it was government having too much power. I say it’s a good decision and you can still go outside to smoke.


Leave a Reply

