The 129th Wednesday Hodgepodge…

129 editions of the Wednesday Hodgepodge?  I can’t believe it!  As always, I’ve answered Joyce’s questions below, now I plan to hop on over to her place to see how my neighbors answered, too.  Join me on my journey, won’t you?  Simply click on the button at the top of this post to get there.

1. What do you think makes a good dad?

Someone who is a good provider for his family.  Someone who is loving, patient, kind, and never too busy for his family.  Someone who doesn’t mind taking a turn changing a diaper, feeding a meal, giving a bath, or caring for a sick child.  Someone who disciplines with a firm, but loving hand, and backs up whatever Mom says, (whether he agrees or not).  Someone the children can talk to freely, and seek advice from whenever it’s needed.  Someone the children look up to with respect, while growing up and afterward.

2. What’s something you learned from your own father?

He taught me, without realizing it, how precious life is.  I watched my daddy spend 6 weeks in ICU, on a ventilator, and at the brink of death–two different times.  I also watched him recover from near death twice.  I watched him go through rehab, and slowly regain his life, although his quality of life was quite different from before.  I’m thankful God gave my daddy those three extra years of life, so I could spend quality time with him.  Prior to that time, I thought my dad would always be there.  He died 22 years ago, on May 16, at age 65.

3. It’s your birthday-what kind of cake will we be having?

Usually it’s devil’s food with white whipped frosting, but I love almost any kind of cake (unfortunately)!

4. When you’re faced with a big decision are you more of a go with your gut type of person, or are you someone who reasons it all out, weighing the pros and cons?

More often than not, I’m a ‘go with my gut’ type of person, and this gets me into trouble sometimes.  It’s how I once ended up adopting 22 cats and 5 dogs from the local animal shelter!

5. June is National Dairy Month. What’s your favorite dairy item? Most often purchased dairy item?

Favorite dairy item ice cream, of course!  Most purchased dairy item milk!

6. Explorer Jacques Cousteau was born on June 11, 1910….what’s something you’ve recently discovered or something you’d like to explore?

I’d love to explore more of Florida’s beaches, especially the Florida Keys.

7. Are you typical of your generation?

Yes, I think Ed and I are both pretty much typical ‘baby boomers’.

Random:

Ed and I are feeling a bit over-whelmed this week.  The strain of dealing with the garden, plus the stress and added strain of Ed’s mom’s health problems  are taking their toll on us.   My MIL should be going back to the assisted living facility today, but her health is obviously declining. The doctor actually mentioned the dreaded term ‘nursing home’, but the kind folks at the assisted living home have assured us they can still take care of her.  (I pray they’re right)  As if all of this isn’t enough, somehow, one of my MIL’s hearing aids got lost during her hospital stay!  She’s pretty much deaf without them.

Published in: on June 12, 2013 at 10:18 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/12/the-129th-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Exploring the Florida Beaches is a good one. Hoping your MIL will be okay and that her hearing aid will be found.

  2. I go with my gut as well. I pray you MIL will be OK as well. Hang in there the stress is only for the short term.

  3. Sounds like you’re having a rough time. So sorry to hear it.
    Regarding the cats, sure hoping you didn’t have all 22 at the same time.

  4. I love the Florida Keys too. I hope your mil hearing aid turns up. I’m sure thats frustrating. I think caring for aging parents is typical of our generation.

  5. I loved your answer to #2; it brought tears to my eyes!

  6. I pretty much never met a cake I didn’t like either. I hope your MIL is able to stay where she is. It can’t be easy worrying about elderly parents. I’m not looking forward to that day. It’s closer than I care to admit.

  7. Bravo for the assisted living staff. My mother’s assisted living apartment had become home and she had friends among both residents and staff. Her final days she was allowed to stay in place if we hired 24-hour caregivers.

    It was expensive, but she and my dad had prepared. The caregivers were loving, and between them, hospice nurses and loved ones, my prayers for her were answered. She was kept as comfortable as possible, was surrounded by love, and had many “precious moments.”

    Prayers are with you, Ed and MIL.

  8. That’s got to be such a difficult time and decisions with an elderly parent. Prayers for strength to you and your family.

  9. Caring for elderly parents is one of the most stressful things I ever did. My heart goes out to Ed (and you too),

  10. I forgot that DH and I plan to go back to the Keys and spend a lot more time there, exploring. 😉

    Praying for you and Ed … and that the assisted living home people are right. {{hug}}

  11. That was a nice lesson to learn and I’m glad you got three more years with your father. Lot’s of chocolate cake lovers out there. So sorry to hear about Ed’s mother, keeping all of you in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

