Monday, Monday…

Acting Balanced

1. June 17th is Eat Your Vegetables Day… do you need a special day to celebrate veggies? Your favorite veg?

No, I certainly don’t need a day to celebrate veggies!  I’m living in ‘veggie paradise’ at the moment (or ‘veggie hell’, depending on how I’m feeling) because, at the moment, we have a huge garden filled with all kinds of fresh veggies.

I like almost any kind of vegetable, but fresh corn on the cob is among my favorites!  In about two more weeks our corn will be ready for eating, and I’m excited!

2. How did you spend your Father’s Day? Or for those who don’t have Father’s Day on June 16th, what did you do this weekend?

On Saturday, those of us who live on the family farm (Ed and me, our oldest son & family, our daughter & family), went to the city to spend the day with our youngest son, Brad and his wife, Jennifer.  Brad grilled hamburgers/hot dogs for us, then we ate lunch and visited for a while.  Eventually, everyone (except for Ed and me) went swimming in the pool where Brad and Jennifer live.  While the others swam, Ed and I went to Lowes and Home Depot looking for Ed a Father’s Day gift (from me).  We were unsuccessful in finding one..

On Father’s Day, we had a little ‘mishap’ concerning one of “the girls” aka, the chickens.  That morning, when I went to the coop to feed them and clean out the bottom of their  chicken house I found an unpleasant surprise.  One of my hens was stretched out in the dirt–dead!  Without warning, she just died.  Poor Ed had to bury one of “our girls” on Father’s Day.  It wasn’t the most pleasant day to begin Father’s Day.

Later, Ed and I went out for a Father’s Day lunch together, then went shopping (again) for his Father’s Day gift (from me).  This shopping trip was such an interesting adventure, it deserves its own post later in the week.  The good news is we were successful in finding what we were looking for!  The interesting part is what happened during the course of the purchase!  More details later.

Ed received several Father’s Day gifts and sweet cards from our children later in the afternoon.  I think he had a nice Father’s Day weekend.

3. June 18th is National Splurge Day… if you were (are) going to participate what would/will you splurge on?

June 18th is our 41st wedding anniversary, so if I was going to participate, I’d take Ed on a romantic, exotic cruise somewhere!  Instead, I’ll probably settle for a day at the beach and be perfectly content.

4. What is the farthest you’ve ever traveled from home?

Memphis, Tennessee to see Elvis’ former home, Graceland.

Weekend Wrap Up:

Before leaving for the trip to visit our son, I blanched and froze several packs of tomatoes, okra and squash early Saturday morning!  While I was canning, Ed visited our neighbor, Farmer Danny, and picked a bucket of tomatoes so we’d have enough ripe ones (at one time) to can in the pressure cooker.  Ed also sprayed the garden and mowed the grass.  Needless to say, we were tired before we ever left home!

Then Ed decided to take an alternate route to our son’s house.  We missed our exit and got a bit lost–not once, but twice!  We finally made it there–about 30 minutes later than planned.  Then, being the ‘old farts’ that we are, we had to leave our son’s house earlier than everyone else, so we could arrive back home before dark, because neither of us can see how to drive at night!  We made it home with almost an hour to spare.

My question for you:

Do you like to drive at night?

Published in: on June 16, 2013 at 10:50 pm  Comments (8)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/16/monday-monday-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. NO! I am night blind and even with my glasses on I don’t feel comfy driving in the dark. If it is raining, I won’t chance it at all.

  2. I hate to drive at night, I will do it in a pinch, but not without a lot of caution. Those oncoming headlights bother me.

  3. I’ll drive at night locally … but I don’t like driving in unfamiliar places at night. DH & I used to drive, when travelling, until 10-11 PM … not any more. Now we stop for the night by 6 PM. In part because we just can’t put in those 15-16 hour days on the road, but in part because we want to be off the road by dark. 😉

  4. I don’t mind driving at night, but on long overnight hauls with the kids Wayne usually settles in and lets me catch a few zz’s

  5. Did you love the Graceland tour? We did about 18 years ago and loved it.

    No, I do not like to drive at night. Too much glare.

  6. i prefer to drive at night because there’s less traffic!

  7. We don’t drive at night if we can help it although it doesn’t matter in the city.

  8. I am so sorry to hear about your chicken. 😦

    I hope that you had a happy anniversary. I am glad that you were able to find the Father’s Day gift that you were looking for and that you got to visit with your children.

    Getting lost is no fun. I went to Georgia quite a few years ago and ended up circling Athens twice because I couldn’t find our exit. Every time I got anywhere near it (as I found out later) there was a truck blocking the signs from my view, so I didn’t know I was passing it. It was a fun adventure. 🙂

    Have a great week!


Leave a Reply

