Friday Fragments…

Unknown Mami

Well, here it is the end of yet another week!  It seems like the week just got started…  I participated in ‘Friday Fragments’ last week, made some new friends, and had a great time, so I’m back again to join the fun.  You, too, can join in by clicking the button at the top of this post, and following the rules.

As I mentioned, it seems like it’s been a short week.  Vacation weeks are like that, aren’t they?  Ed went back to work yesterday.  He likes to spread his vacation days out among several weeks, and I sort of like that, too.  We both enjoy long weekends!

While Ed was at work yesterday, I was busy picking butter peas.  I spent four hours in the garden picking them.  Oh my aching back! I’d never make it without my “grasshopper gardening stool”.  Ed and I have a matching pair of stools, and we use them a lot for all kinds of chores.

After picking the butter peas, I spent the next four hours shelling them by hand.  I got caught up with some of the recorded shows on my DVR, but my thumb was aching by the end of the day!!!  I was too tired to blanch the butter peas last night, so they’re in the refrigerator waiting for me this morning.  The kitchen counters are lined with tomatoes waiting to be canned, too.

The first of this week it was so dry, Ed and I were dragging the water hose again.  Then on Wednesday and Thursday we received 3 1/2 inches of rain!  Ed had to wear his boots outside, last night, just to keep his feet dry.  There’s more rain in the forecast over the next few days.  Too much rain could cut our gardening adventures short!

Ed and I have spent the entire vacation week caring for sick chickens.  One of ‘our six girls’ died on Father’s Day, and the rest became very ill.  I will dedicate a post to this next week, so I’ll save the details, but I will tell you that it’s been a long week for five remaining hens (and for us).

At the moment, there sure seems to be a lot of serious illness going around, not just with hens, but with people.  Within the past few days, I’ve learned  a cousin has breast cancer,  our son-in-law’s aunt has colon cancer, and Ed’s former co-worker’s husband had a heart attack.  I’m praying for healing and speedy recoveries for all of them.  None of these people are what I consider ‘old’, because most are younger than me!

Our youngest grandson, Chase, came and stayed with us for about an hour and a half, last night.  His older brother was at VBS, and his parents decided to go out for a bite to eat–sans any children.  We enjoyed visiting with Chase, and I  they enjoyed their alone time.  It was a win/win situation for all.  Chase came in, looked at the pile of butter peas on the floor, and quickly said, “Beans!”  He rarely says much, so I was surprised.

Granddaughter, Madison, came over too, first to read us a book, then to ‘help us babysit’.  She’s such a ‘cutie’, at the moment, with all of those missing front teeth!  A couple of weeks ago, Madison lost two teeth in one evening, then lost a third one just a couple of days later.  Yet another tooth is very loose.  At the cost of $5.00 per tooth, the tooth fairy has been really feeling the pinch lately.  Grandchildren are the little ‘spices of life’ that keep things interesting for their grandparents 🙂

If I haven’t visited your blog this week, I promise I’ll catch up in the next couple of days.  It’s been crazy busy around here this week!

That’s the best of my ‘fragments’ for this week.  I hope everyone has a great weekend.

Published in: on June 21, 2013 at 8:17 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/21/friday-fragments-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whew! You’ve been busy! I didn’t do much other than recover from the school year last week. Now I’m about to start some redecorating and organizing in the house. Have a great weekend!

  2. I’m sorry to hear about your hens and hope the rest recover soon! I know you are very attached to your girls.

  3. So sorry to hear about the illnesses, both fowl and human. How about a photo of that “pea-picking” stool?

    I love those little girls with their smiles sporting empty spots and permanent teeth emerging. Our Charlie is losing hers in clusters, too.

    Yep, spice of life is right.

  4. Glad you are enjoying your grandchildren! Sorry about all the sickness lately though.

  5. Sending healthy thoughts to any who need them (hens included).


Leave a Reply

