Welcome Back Hodgepodge…

Welcome back Hodgepodge!  It’s great to have you back after last week’s ‘snow day’!  Our Hodgepodge Hostess, Joyce, has prepared another great set of questions, so let’s get right to them, shall we?

1. Summertime is a season of reunions, weddings, and other family celebrations and gatherings…are any of the above on your calendar in the next two months?

The only family celebration we have during the next two months is our daughter and son-in-law’s 12th wedding anniversary on July 7th.  Our youngest son & his wife just celebrated their 2nd anniversary yesterday!  There’s an interesting post about their journey, located HERE.

As for July 4th, we don’t have any plans, yet, but I hope they will include a cookout.

2. June is National Iced Tea Month…are you an iced tea drinker? If so, how do you like yours (sweet, flavored, etc)?

I love sweet iced tea very much, but I’ve had to give it up for health reasons. 😦

3. When were you last nervous? Looking back, was the ‘event’ actually nerve-worthy?

I was nervous last weekend when Ed and I experienced some car trouble on our way home from the beach.  It was ‘nerve-worthy’ because it turned out that my car’s brakes desperately needed replacing and we didn’t even know!  Four hundred and twenty-five dollars later, the brakes are as good as new!

4. The bristle toothbrush was invented in China on June 26, 1498…not sure how that date was pinned down so precisely but, on a scale of 1-10, with 10 being sick to your stomach and 1 being not at all, how nervous do you feel when you’re headed to the dentist? Do you see your dentist twice a year?

I think I rate “5” on the nervousness scale when it comes to a dental visit.  It’s not my favorite thing to do, but it’s not the scariest of things for me either.  The thing I dread most is  “the shots” before any dental work can be done.  Of course, I’m always happy to get shots versus feeling the pain of the procedure!  And yes, I do see my dentist twice a year, without fail.

5. What’s making news in your town this week?

Apparently, not very much!  Our most recent newspaper was only 12 pages long and these are the actual headlines from the front page:  Reidsville All-Stars Win Tournament, Libbie  (last name withheld) Retires From Teaching, Garden Club Members Spruce Up Welcome Signs, and Hydrangeas Galore!  I guess it was a slow news week.

6. Curtains, drapes, blinds…your window treatment of choice? Are there any bare windows in your house? Is that by choice or because you haven’t gotten around to covering them?

I don’t really have a preference, so we have a mixture of all of the above in our home–drapes in the living room,  cafe curtains in the bath, and valances in the bedrooms and kitchen.  All of the windows have mini blinds on them, as well.  Yes, we do have two bare “picture windows” in our house–one in the kitchen and one in the pool room, and yes, it’s by choice.

7. Summertime is officially here (in the Northern hemisphere anyway)…what one song is a must-have on your summer playlist?

My summertime theme song is “Knee Deep” by the Zac Brown Band.

Here is why:

Random:  

The flowers in our vegetable garden are in full bloom.  See what I mean?

100_2611 100_2613

Published in: on June 26, 2013 at 8:30 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/06/26/welcome-back-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I did read your post on your son and daughter-in-law…just so behind I haven’t commented on everything I read. What a roller coaster they’ve been on, but I’m sure they’re stronger for it. Happy Anniversary to them!

    Zac Brown is one of my faves, and I love that song. Wish I were knee deep somewhere today (besides housework I mean!)

  2. Not having brakes is scary business! I am glad you made it home safely.

  3. Beautiful flowers and I’d love to sitting there on the beach.

  4. Love your sunflowers 🙂

  5. Good thing your brakes didn’t go out on you and put you in danger! But car trouble always sucks and it always costs so much! Your flowers are beautiful!


Leave a Reply

