The Helpful Wednesday Hodgepodge…

It’s turning out to be ‘one of those’ weeks.  It’s only Wednesday, and, so far, nothing in my week has gone as planned.  I think it’s a good time to sit back, relax, and take a little ‘Hodgepodge Time’.  As always, thanks to Joyce for making this small pleasure possible.

1. What’s something people might ask you for help with?

Perhaps some marital or parenting advice or concerns regarding early childhood education.  I’m no expert, but I’ve had lots of experience.

2. What’s something you might ask someone else for help with?

I generally need help with all things mechanical or technical!

3. Did your family take summer vacations when you were a child? If so, where did you go? If you’re a parent, did/do you plan summer vacations with your own family? Did/do they resemble those you took as a child?

My family didn’t really take summer vacations when I was a child.  Once, when I was about twelve or thirteen, my parents and I went to the beach for a couple of days with an aunt, uncle, and a cousin.  That’s the closest thing I remember to a  family summer vacation.

For several summers, during my ‘tween’ years, I’d go (without my parents) and spend a week with my older brother and his wife.  They lived in Jacksonville, Florida, about 2 1/2 hours from my parents’ home.  I always had fun during those visits, and when I think of my childhood summer vacations, I remember of those simple, fun times.

While my own children were growing up, I was always in charge of planning our summer vacations.  We took two vacations every summer, and we spent most of that time camping.  Occasionally, we would spend a night or two in a motel on the beach, or in a cabin in the mountains.  It’s always interesting to ask our, now grown, children what they remember most about our family vacations.  One answer is “getting to buy some ‘Brach’s pick-a-mix’ candy” at the grocery store, while another is “getting to watch cable tv”.  It’s funny what sticks out in their minds.

4. Pool-lake-ocean…which one is most appealing to you on a hot summer day?

If you’re talking swimming, on a hot summer day, then I’d choose a pool.  Otherwise, just take me to the ocean, and I’ll enjoy the cool ocean breeze in the shade of a tree or an umbrella.

5. Have you ever justified using the expression, ‘you gotta be cruel to be kind’? Was it really necessary or were you rationalizing?

If you’re asking if I’m guilty of exercising ‘tough love’, the answer is yes, during an extremely difficult period of raising a ‘strong-willed’, disrespectful son. It was, without a doubt, one of the hardest things I’ve ever done in my life, but it was necessary.  Thanks to God, our story has a happy ending.

6. The Journal of Psychology recently mentioned the results of a survey identifying the ten most hated foods as-liver, lima beans, mayonnaise, mushrooms, eggs, okra, beets, brussel sprouts, tuna, and gelatin. Of those foods, how many do you actually hate? Anything you’d add to the list?

While I’m not overly fond of some of the foods listed, the only food on the list that I actually hate is beets.  I’d like to add sauerkraut to the list.

7. What’s your favorite book or movie set in a beach or lake town?

The first favorite that comes to my mind is Nicholas Sparks’ book, The Last Song, which was made into a movie, too, and filmed at nearby Tybee Island.  The movie was good, but the book was much better!

Random:  When it rains it pours…

We’re continuing to be plagued by daily showers of rain!  I think it’s only missed two days raining, out of the past three weeks!  What a stark contrast to the summer when we siphoned the bath water out of the house through a garden hose, in an effort to keep our dying grass alive!

Published in: on July 10, 2013 at 9:13 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/the-helpful-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We had rain again today. I was hoping for a nice dry, warm spell to try to perk up our garden. Thankfully it didn’t rain too much (so far) so it might actually be good for our garden. Now if the sun would just come back out.

    I should have clarified my answer to #4 like you did. If I’m going to swim, then I want a pool. But since I rarely swim, just give me the ocean. The breezes coming in off the ocean can make even a hot day more enjoyable.

  2. We’ve had a couple of days break from the rain, but it’s suppose to start back up this afternoon.

  3. Crazy rain here too. I’m usually full of energy in the summer, but this weather makes me sleepy. So many beet haters in the Hodgepodge today : )

  4. I don’t know how to swim so a pool is out for me. A lake is nice.

  5. I don’t swim so a pool is out. Tough love is one of the hardest things a parent has to do.

  6. We’ve had nothing but rain for 5 days now, before that we had temps in the 90’s for 3 days! I loved the heet but this rain is just terrible. I would like a lake or pool!

  7. Not to be the bearer of bad tidings but I heard the current tropical storm may be dropping more rain on your neck of the woods but then you probably know that already.

  8. That food question gave me a chuckle. Same answer for me . Eating beets, although their color is beautiful, is something I will not do, except maybe if I were starving. I have never tasted sauerkraut.

  9. Wow to all of you with too much rain. Here in Texas we are all excited about the possibility of getting some rain in the middle of July.


Leave a Reply

