The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

It doesn’t matter if you are stuck in our part of the country, being plagued by daily downpours of rain, or in another part of the country, suffering from extreme temperatures and drought, the Wednesday Hodgepodge is the perfect ‘escape’ for you!  Turn off the television, with all of its post-trial discussions and protests, and join in our fun!  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce 🙂

Here are today’s questions:

1. Picture postcards were first printed back in the mid-1800’s and deltiology is the official name for postcard collecting. When did you last send a postcard? Receive one? Do you save postcards sent to you? Do you collect and/or send postcards when you travel?

It’s been years since I sent or received a post card!  Once upon a time, I used to collect post cards while on vacation, but it’s been years since I’ve done that, too.  I still enjoy looking on the post card racks at souvenir shops though!

2. What treat do you most like to indulge in while on vacation?

One of my favorite places to visit, while on vacation, used to be the candy shops.  I love chocolate fudge!  Sadly, fudge is not on my diet anymore.  Sigh.  I need to find a new favorite place to visit–and a new favorite treat!

3. Are you good at hiding your feelings?

No, not at all!  Unfortunately, my face is quite transparent.

4. Does your town/city/county still deliver telephone books to your home? Do you check the yellow pages when searching for a local business number or has the internet replaced the phone book in your home?

Yes, we still get phone books delivered every year.  In fact, we get several phone books every year!  Ed and I are still a bit old-fashioned, and most of the time we still depend on our phone book–and our land line, at least for now.

5. Would you rather be first or last?

I’d rather be last, almost always.  I hate being first for anything!

6. July is National Park and Recreation Month (in America, but everyone can still play along)…where and when were you last in a park? Did you participate in any recreational activities while you were there?

In May, I went to our local recreational park to watch our grandson play t-ball.  Does that count?  Other than that, I guess the last time I went to a park was in 2010, while visiting Helen, GA.

7. What was one of your worst ideas?

Rescuing so many animals from our local animal shelter, but I don’t regret it.  My heart was in the right place, I just didn’t use my head!  So many hungry mouths to feed–and pet food has become ridiculously expensive over the past nine years!  During 2004/2005, I adopted 21 cats, 5 dogs, a rabbit, and a parakeet–and paid to have every cat and dog spayed and neutered!  It’s now nine years later, and we’re still buying food for 12 cats, 2 dogs, and the parakeet!  That’s not counting the four cats that we feed at my MIL’s house!

Random:

I’m praying that today will be a dry and sunny day!  We haven’t had one of those in QUITE A WHILE!  (Yesterday we stayed dry until about 4:30)  I’m also praying that these tall pine trees, especially those leaning in toward our house, do not decide to fall over.  The ground is so saturated, any kind of stiff winds could be disastrous for us.  We’re also buying our drinking water, and I can’t wash clothes either.  Fun times!

Published in: on July 17, 2013 at 7:16 am  Comments (17)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/07/17/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. At least your worst idea includes a heart in the RIGHT place! That’s good. Happy Hodgepodge…

  2. Goodness, your weather is really something. We’re having a bit of a heat wave, but it finally feels like summer to me. I hope those trees stay in the ground! I know the feeling as we back up to woods with huge tall trees. I was amazed to see how far they can bend without breaking during the hurricane last fall.

  3. Wow…that’s a lot of animals to take on, but it just goes to show how caring you are. That’s something to be proud of! Chocolate fudge is a weakness of mine, too…Savannah, Ga. has some of the best, in case you’re wondering! 😉

  4. ,,,but you did such a good thing with all the rescues!!! I commend your efforts. You should be proud of the fact. I know you are.

  5. Oh my word! I thought with my four dogs, I was a little nuts. I think you have a soft heart, and how fortunate for those sweet fur babies that you’ve taken them into your home!!!

  6. That is a lot of pets! I always feel so sorry for animals that need a home. So far we haven’t had to adopt, but it seems people know if they dump them off by our farm most of them get to stay.

  7. Maybe the water in the well will settle down soon. I know we have had a lot of rain but this time last year we had a deficit so i”m not complaining. I remember when I was a child and we had well water, it was either too low to pump because of drought or muddy from too much rain.
    Mama Bear

  8. I hope you get some dry warm weather soon. Even with our heat wave we have rain risks every day as the humidity rises.

  9. Oooh- fudge, that is a good one. You sure did rescue a lot of animals! Hope the sun shines where you are today 🙂

  10. Beware of those pine trees. An few additional hours of rain or just time for further saturation can make a catastrophic difference. After Hurricane Georges here on MS Gulf Coast more than a decade ago, Hubby and I drove down a street that was heavily forested with tall pines.

    We were on our way to check the impact on the 20 buildings at the marine research lab where I had started working a few months earlier.

    We saw no pines down on our way. The lab campus had mostly hardwoods and little damage.

    The next day, even though the torrents of rain and the winds had passed, the pines had uprooted and crashed, severely wrecking homes, cars and totally blocking that street we had traveled the afternoon before.

    Be safe, my friend.

  11. I am always intrigued by the post card racks and enjoy looking at all the pictures. I don’t use our phone book often but I told my husband that as long as land lines are available we will have one. I do not like talking on my cell phone. I applaud you for what you did for those animals!

  12. I thought I was a bad one for rescuing animals…I’ll have to remind my husband that I am not the only one!

    I hope those pines stay in their places…we have a bull pine that leans a bit toward our bedroom, and it worries me whenever we have bad weather. Not the sturdiest trees in the world.

  13. Your heart was in the right place, that’s important! Why can’t you wash clothes? Is you well water bad from the all the rain? We have been having mostly hot, hazey and humid up here, want to trade?

  14. Yeah, I’m guilty of having too many pets too, although you still win the prize in that area! We have two dogs, three cats, two guinea pigs, one cockatiel & three fish.

  15. I love to collect post cards from vacations because they have the best pictures of the place you visited! I’m sad for you that fudge is not in your diet anymore…and a land line…I think it’s been 7 years since I’ve had one! I just use my cell phone now. Have a wonderful rest of your week!

  16. I hope you and your house remain safe. I know that fear. I too have tall tall trees all around “The House of Mars.” Our bad times are during hurricanes and heavy snow storms. i also know about adopting animals when it doesn’t “make “.

  17. Wow! That’s a lot of rain. Hope everything at your house stays safe and that you’ll have drinking water and water for washing soon.


Leave a Reply

