Wading Into The Hodgepodge…

It’s still very wet here, so I’m wading into everything these days–even the Hodgepodge.  I’m thankful for this brief distraction from the stresses and issues of my daily life, especially this week!  Thank you, Joyce, for providing another set of great questions.

1. July 24th is Amelia Earhart Day. Earhart was the first female to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean. What’s something you’ve recently accomplished solo?

Canning enough home-grown vegetables to last the entire winter. In fairness, Ed helped a little, but most of the task fell onto my shoulders.

2. What’s one product you use that never ever fails?

My hairspray.  In spite of our somewhat ‘damp’ (what an understatement!) weather, it continues to hold my hair into place.

3. Have you found your place in the world? Where is it?

Yes, I’ve found my place in the world.  It’s staying home and enjoying being a wife, mother, and grandmother.  I’m content.

4. Worst movie you ever saw?

The worst movie I ever paid to see was Vanilla Sky, starring Tom Cruise.  What a stupid movie!

5. What’s the last fun thing you did?

A few weeks ago, Ed and I met my brother and sister-in-law at St. Simon’s Island for the day.  We had a great time, and hope to do it again soon!

6. The month of July is named for Roman Emperor Julius Caesar…ever been to Rome? What’s your favorite Italian dish?

Nope, I’ve never been to Rome–not even Rome, Georgia!  My favorite Italian dish is pizza.

7. What is one piece of advice you’d offer new mom Kate Middleton?

Spend every moment you can with your baby, because babies grow up quickly!

Random:

It’s a stressful time, here in our neck of the woods.  We’re dealing with too much rainfall, plus having tall trees being taken down, within a few feet of our house…  This was the view outside of my house yesterday:

100_2731

how small everything looks compared to those 65′ pine trees

We’re now entering day four of the tree cutting!  The wind really wreaked havoc with the tree trimmers yesterday. Two trees didn’t fall exactly where they were supposed to, thanks to an unexpected breeze, but thankfully, the damage done was insignificant, and nobody got hurt.  I thought I was going to have heart failure though!  Four large pines still have to be cut, all within a few feet of the back of our house.

Also, the ground has become so wet, the Bobcat, a machine used to remove the cut-down trees, is tearing up our yard something awful.  What a mess to deal with!  There’s just no easy way out.

100_2737

Just look at how those trees were leaning in toward our house!  I’m happy to say, all of these have been safely taken down.  However, lots of cut trees are still waiting to be removed with the Bobcat–and we had more rain last night.  Did I mention that there’s rain in our forecast for the rest of the week?  Sigh.

Published in: on July 24, 2013 at 7:04 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/07/24/wading-into-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad the trees are down with no significant mishaps. I can’t believe you’re STILL getting rain! Praying that it will dry out there soon!

  2. Those trees so close to your house must make you feel as if you’re camping out in the woods in a hobbit house! They are very tall….

  3. We walked our neighborhood after the rain last Friday night. Many trees have come down including 150 year old Maple tree that had a song written about it. I hope your weather improves soon.

  4. Yikes Kathy those trees were SO close to your house. I’m sure you will feel much safer with them gone.
    Are the chickens scared? I just realized how that sounds.:)
    What kind of hairspray do you use? I’ve been looking for one for months. The one I just tried made my head SO itchy and did not hold my hair at all.
    We have had some sort of rain or thunder storm every day or night for as long as I can remember. I am so sick of it too.

  5. We have had so much rain that many areas have flooded. I’m thankful that I’m not having to pay to water my lawn, but watching the water creep into my porch is unnerving!!

  6. I know you’ll be glad when that job is done! Probably especially smart to do it now, since who knows what all this rain is doing to the ground they’re in. I forgot about Vanilla Sky-it was truly awful!

  7. I would have been stressed and nervous too with trees having to be cut so near to the house!

  8. I would love to have a pantry filled with homemade canned items. Way to go! Of course I am with you on the pizza. Glad the trees are down 🙂 and you can have some peace of mind.

  9. My mother’s house looks the same with all the pine trees she has. She really needs to get some of them down. We’ve been getting all that rain here as well. And it’s been really bad for my bestie. Apparently, it’s caused their house to start sinking. They’re pretty much up to $100,000 in damage. So far. It sure makes it hard for me to appreciate the rain this year. Knowing their troubles. It’s a combo between the rain and the builder not doing something right with the foundation.

  10. Canning.. I miss doing it! I LOVE doing it, and take pride in it, but it just got too expensive. To buy a bushel of anything cost an arm and a leg.. And I don’t have the property to grow things myself.. Wish I did!.. Loved your answer for #3!… Have a great week! ~tina

  11. Wow, to be surrounded by all those pine trees. Glad you are taking down the ones that could have wreaked some havoc there. All that canning is very impressive. Wish we could have some of your rain here in Texas.

  12. Wow. That is a lot of rain. Been there, done that, more than once… just not in the middle of summer!

    I may have told you this before but my grandparents had a large juniper tree in their front yard and one day 75 mph winds wipped through their area and knocked that tree down. Thankfully the tree only took out a very small part of the roof and gutter and laid perfectly between their house and the neighbors so no one was hurt. There were over 100 rings counted on the tree when my uncle, step dad and grandpa were cutting it up to haul away so you can imagine just how big it was!

  13. I was just wondering: Why are you having the trees removed?


Leave a Reply

