Monday Madness…

620a9-mondayquiz

It’s a brand new week, and I’d like to believe that it’s going to be a good one!  The good news is, the tree trimmers are finished, so there won’t be any more destruction going on around our house–at least I sure hope not!

The bad news is, I’m starting out the week with another dentist appointment 😦 because I’m having more dental problems!  I just don’t understand what’s going on with my teeth.  My latest mishap happened while I was eating a pork chop!

To get my day off to a proper start, I’m participating in the Monday Quiz.  Here are today’s questions:

1. What is your favorite pair of shoes?
My favorite pair of shoes was my very first pair of Crocs.  I bought them back in 2006, and I wore them completely out! Sadly, I retired them to the trash can, just last week.  However, being the blogger that I am, I had to photograph them before I tossed them…  I have other Crocs, but my first pair will always be my favorite!
100_26642. Do you get embarrassed easily?
Yes, I sure do.  It doesn’t take much to make me blush.
3. What makes you cringe?
Crying or unruly children in restaurants or stores!  
4. July 29th is National Lasagna day… are you celebrating?  What kind of lasagna do you prefer?
No, I won’t be celebrating, but I do love Lasagna!  My favorite lasagna is made from a recipe that originally belonged to our former pastor’s wife, and it’s delicious.
My question for you is:
5.  When was the last time you saw a snake, and where was it?
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Weekend recap:

The last time I posted, I was feeling very frustrated and was looking for a ‘silver lining’ to the perpetual cloud that has been hanging over our house!  I’m happy to report that I think things are beginning to look up, somewhat :).

We’ve actually had a three-day reprieve from daily rain showers, and all trees have now been cleared away.  We won’t talk about how bad the yard looks, or the fact that our riding lawn mower is currently broken, thanks to Ed running over the protective netting on our blueberry bush!  We also won’t talk about how my cd player and my photo printer both died last week, or how Ed lost his cell phone the week before that!

After an exasperating day on Wednesday, the tree trimmers took Thursday and Friday off.  You may recall, on Wednesday, they busted our water line, cut the Dish Network cable, and bogged the Bobcat down in our yard.  The trimmers returned bright and early, on Saturday, ready to finish the job.  The day went smoothly–right up until they ran over Ed’s pitch fork and flattened the tire on their Bobcat!  Ed’s pitch fork didn’t fare too well either!

The trimmers worked non-stop, on Saturday, not even breaking for lunch.  I tell you, these men were determined to finish with us on Saturday!  Did I mention that it also started to rain again during the course of the day and their Bobcat almost bogged down again?  I don’t know who was more relieved when the job was finished, us or the workers!  Ed asked Tim, the boss, if he’d be willing to come back if we needed him again.  He said, “Yes, as long as it’s dry!”  I joked and said he’d probably ignore our call when he saw our number come up on his phone!

Unfortunately, we had to call the Dish Network people again, on Friday, because the technician neglected to bury the spliced cable back in the ground on Wednesday!  He merely spliced and taped the cable, then left, but we didn’t notice the cable still laying on top of the ground until Thursday, because our yard is a bit of a mess.  Another technician came out on Saturday and buried the cable for us.

As the Dish Network technician was leaving, on Saturday, he stopped just down the lane from our house and killed a rattlesnake as it was crossing the road!  This was quite interesting, because just two hours before, I ran over (with my car) another rattlesnake crossing the road–on that same little dirt lane!  Two rattlesnakes in one day is scary!  I couldn’t help but wonder if they were running away from the tree trimmers!

Speaking of snakes, our daughter nearly stepped on one last week, because it was stretched out in front of her door!  Fortunately, her snake was a non-poisonous one, but it nearly gave her heart failure!  Around here, the summer of 2013 seems to be the year of the snake.  There have been seven sightings/killings, in and around our yard this summer!

That’s it for me today.  I must get going to meet with my dentist–again.  This will make visit number four, since the end of May!  Ouch, that hurts–in more ways than one.  I’m trying to think positive, so thank goodness for dental insurance, it helps with the pain.

Published in: on July 29, 2013 at 7:05 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/monday-madness/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I can’t imagine living with rattle snakes. I freak out when I see a garter snake. You sure have had an event-filled summer. Things are bound to slow down eventually.

  2. There’s some good news there – your trees are down and you have dental insurance. 😉 What a summer you all have had – praying that you will have a problem-free August!

  3. Glad to hear that the tree-trimming is done. Now if only the rain would stop so you can dry out. Let’s hope August is a better month. As far as seeing a snake it was last spring and we saw a family of snakes actually being born. Awesome!

  4. You’re sounding better except for the tooth pain…….
    The last snake I saw was last year on the back porch….I wouldn’t have seen him except Smokey was in the window seat acting so excited…it was a very small Garter Snake and crawl across and off the porch….Honey Bear says he’s seen several Garden Snakes while out and about…..I’ve never seen a poisonous snake except once in the river when I was (thankfully) on the bank.
    Mama Bear

  5. I didn’t even know about Crocs in 2006. I agree, unruly children are the worst and especially when the parents are doing nothing to change it! I make a good lasagna but won’t be having any today.

  6. Thankfully it’s been a very long time since I last saw a snake…more than 9yrs now that I’m thinking about it. It was at my ex-MIL’s house. It was a baby king snake but it could have been a king cobra for all I cared. I wanted it out and wouldn’t move off the couch until it was gone. Yep, I have ophidiophobia bad!

  7. OH MY! What a story you have to share and I sure hope you are feeling better soon with all those dental issues. I hate snakes and thankfully we have NO Rattlesnakes up here!

  8. i saw a snake while swimming last week! http://growninsouthernground.wordpress.com/2013/07/29/monday-quiz-about-me-39/

  9. I missed the copper head while the A/C guys were replacing my A/C unit so the one prior to that was a garden snake that flung into my kitchen when I opened the back door to let the dogs out.


Leave a Reply

