All Things Monday…

620a9-mondayquiz

It was a hot and busy weekend around our house, but it wasn’t all work and no play.  More about that later, but first I’m going to participate in the “Monday Quiz”.  Here are today’s questions, along with my answers:

1. What is your favorite ‘G Rated’ activity that you like to share with your SO or BFF?

I love it when we go shopping together or eat out, but my favorite activity to do with hubby is relaxing under a shade tree or an umbrella beside the ocean.

2. Do you buy summer clothes at the end of season clearance sales?

No, I usually buy my new clothes, on sale, at the beginning of the season, when the selection is best.

3. August 13th is national left-handers day.  How many left-handed people do you know?

I’ve known quite a few left-handers, in my day, in fact, I’m left-handed myself, thanks to an older cousin who is also a ‘lefty’.  (When I was a baby, he’d always switch the spoon to my left hand, so I’ve been told.)

I worked at school for many years, and, one particular year, about one-fourth of the class was left-handed!  On any given year, we always had at least a couple of left-handed students.

4. When you go swimming do you: a) jump into the pool; b) gently move into the pool; or c) dive in?

Whenever I go swimming, I gently move into the pool.  No jumping or diving for me, ’cause I like to keep my face and head dry!

My question for you:

Do you have a Kindle, and, if so, do you use it much? (I’m trying to decide if I’d enjoy using one.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Weekend Recap:  Boy!  The weekend went by in a blur of activity!

Late on Friday afternoon, our youngest son and his wife came for a visit.  The stayed next-door with our daughter and her family, so the entire family met up over there for Friday night pizza.  We don’t often all get a chance to get together like we used to, so it was nice.  After we ate pizza, the adults sat outside and watched the little ones swim around in the pool.  We had the fan blowing at one end of the deck, and the fire pit burning at the other–a strange combination!

On Saturday, Ed began the day by installing our new tv antenna.  About the time he got it attached to the roof, our daughter walked over and told us that CBS is now back on Dish Network.  What timing!  Ed asked me if I wanted him to finish installing the antenna, and I told him “Yes, so we’ll be ready in case this happens again!”  We plan to eventually discontinue with Dish Network, especially if their fees continue to rise.

Ed got a lot accomplished around the yard on Saturday afternoon.  I had a long “Honey Do” list, and he got most of those things done, including finishing our new walkway.  We ended the day by sitting by another fire, while the fan blew on us again, except this time we were burning trash in our back yard!  We may have started a new summer trend!

The rain held off throughout the weekend, and Geraldo, the concrete mason, came on Saturday and built the form for the concrete under our carport.  We had a bit of excitement when our daughter’s unruly dog, Jack, tried to slip around the corner and nip at Geraldo’s son, who was helping build the form! ( Jack quickly got sent back to his kennel! )

Geraldo’s supposed to come and pour the concrete this morning.  I hope the rain continues to hold off until the concrete dries, (even though I’m now having to run the water sprinklers on our newly planted lawn!)  Speaking of unruly dogs,  one of ours decided to dig a hole in the middle of the freshly prepared carport dirt on Saturday night!  Ed had to staple plastic around all open sides of the carport, to prevent this from occurring, again, before the concrete arrives.

Ed’s new lawn mower is supposed to be delivered around lunchtime today.  It’s one of those zero-turn mowers, so it should be interesting watching Ed learn how to maneuver the thing around the yard!  Thank goodness, we don’t have many flowers!  The delivery man called last night, to set up a delivery time, and he asked me if I was going to drive this mower!  I told him, “Nooo, that’s my husband’s baby, not mine!”

Finally, Ed and I took a much-needed trip back to St. Simon’s Island on Sunday.  After the past two weeks, we both needed some R&R!  As always, the time passed much too quickly, and all-too-soon it was time to pack up and head back home.  It was a hot day, but the sea breeze was cool, and it felt so good to just sit and relax for a change!   All work and no play is no fun!  Best of all, we didn’t experience any car problems on the trip either.

That’s it for me today. Have a great Monday!

Published in: on August 12, 2013 at 7:46 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/08/12/all-things-monday-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a busy weekend! Don’t work too hard for the rest of the week!

  2. I’m with you on #1 (no surprise, eh?) and #4.

    My hubby wants a zero-turn lawn mower, but I’m able to remind him that #1 our lawn isn’t really that big (at least not as long as we’re both physically able to get out there and mow – especially with our truly self-propelled personal pace mower) and #2 they’re too expensive for just a “toy” (see #1).

    I’m so glad you were able to get to SSI … and that it was an uneventful trip to/from.

  3. I don’t have a kindle. My smartphone is quite sufficient for whatever I need to do 🙂

  4. Yes, I have a Kindle and I really enjoy it. The best thing about it is changing the size of the font…..I’m wishing for a Kindle HD Fire for Christmas so I’ll have a computer on it to. my daughter has both, she says the small one is good for just taking a book to read but the Fire lets her take a computer tablet with her instead of the laptop….we generally swap our kindles and read book son each other’s device.

    I’m happy for you that the rain has slacked off and that you got to get away and enjoy the beach. We have had showers most days but they dry quickly and we were able to sit outside all weekend evenings……Oh, and i discovered a new fish. It amazes me how tiny they are at first and how they manage to stay out of the way of the bigger fish.
    Mama Bear

  5. I had an old school kindle for quite a while but when it died I just opted to put the kindle app on my iPad… I love reading online and that I can take hundreds of books with me wherever I go…

  6. Sounds like a very busy, but very good weekend. I love spending time with family. And the day at the beach would be awesome.

    I have 2 Kindles and absolutely love them. I will hardly read a book if it’s not on my Kindle. I just re-read the Hunger Games Trilogy on my Kindle and now have just started the Harry Potter books. I love being able to have so many books in one place and it’s great for packing for trips. We used to take a big box of books and now we just pack the Kindles. The reason I have 2 is because I bought one of the first ones and I love it, but it is not lit up so I can’t read at night without a light, however it is really good for reading out in the sunlight (like when you are at St. Simons). I also, have a Kindle Fire (the original one) and it is backlit and great for night reading and not disturbing hubby. Plus it also has internet access. However, it is a little heavier than the other Kindle and sometimes my hands get tired when holding it up. Hope this helps you out some. If you have any specific questions that maybe I could help answer, just let me know.

  7. My husband doesn’t shop with me. Only Costco because I can’t do all the loading and unloading. I gently go into the pool. I still like a book in my hands. I got excited when you said CBS was on your dish, I just checked our TW and it’s a big NO 😦

  8. What a nice weekend. Fun, family, and you got to check off quite a bit on your to-do list.

  9. You had such a busy weekend I’m surprised you had time to take a trip!

    Looks like you have rave reviews on the kindle but thought I’d chime it too. I got mine given to me as a gift because the other person upgraded. I thought that I really didn’t want it but that was before all the free books I found on Amazon. I haven’t bought a book in a while and I’ve found a lot of great new authors. However, so of the free books are kind of blah, so you really have to read the reviews to decide if it’s worth your time. Careful though, it can be addicting!

  10. I have a Nook Tablet and will be upgrading to a Nook HD soon. I LOVE my Nook. I don’t have the room for books to pile up.

  11. We have 2 Kindles, the basic and the Kindle Fire. I prefer actual print books, but we are able to have loads of books in less space that one print books takes by having the Kindle. There are loads of cool books that you can get for free to read on the Kindle, especially if you have Amazon Prime. Now, we can hoard books without needing to add on another room. 🙂


Leave a Reply

