Another August Hodgepodge…

As I’m winding my way through the wet and sultry month of August, suddenly I’ve found myself in the middle of another week !  It’s time for “The Wednesday Hodgepodge” again!  As always, here are Joyce’s questions, along with my answers:

1. What’s your worst food memory? How about one of your best?

My worst food memories are from my past days of working at our local elementary school!  Picture a warm, smelly cafeteria filled with hundreds of noisy kids eating…  I’ve witnessed more than my fair share of  children vomiting–sometimes while I was trying to eat my lunch, too!  

My best food memories have always been our family dinners, when the entire family is together.  It doesn’t matter what we’re eating, it’s always better when we’re all together!

2. Do you appreciate people telling it like it is, or would you rather a speaker temper his/her words and maybe beat around the bush a little? How about when you’re the one communicating…which type are you?

That would depend on the situation.  Sometimes I prefer hearing the cold, hard truth, other times not so much.  As for me, I’m often guilty of calling things the way I see them.  Sometimes that’s a good thing, sometimes it’s not.  With age, I’ve been trying to learn when to temper my speech.

3. What’s your favorite place to hang out?

There’s no place like home, but the beach comes in a close second:)

4. When do you most feel like you’re a slave to time?

I used to feel like a slave to time whenever I worked (especially while raising our children!).  I lived by the clock, and there was never enough time to get everything done!  After I quit working, I stopped feeling like a slave–to the job and to the clock.  It’s a great feeling, and now it doesn’t matter so much if everything gets done!

5. What was the last concert you attended? Who’d you go with? Was it any good?

It’s been close to twenty years since I attended any kind of concert.  Ed took me to see Alan Jackson in the mid-nineties.  We had second row, center seats, and the show was great!

6. Reality TV…harmful or harmless? What’s your guilty pleasure when it comes to reality TV?

I don’t know the answer to this question.  I guess whether ‘reality tv’ is harmful depends on the show and who’s watching it.  I’ve seen previews for some really ‘trashy-looking’  reality shows, and I definitely wouldn’t want my grandchildren watching those!  Some send out awful messages to young people.   Ed and I are currently watching this season of “Big Brother”.  I guess that’s my guilty pleasure, this summer, but even it’s not appropriate for children.

7. What’s something you think is overrated?

Smart phones!  I know I’m in the minority on this one, but for the life of me, I can’t understand everyone’s fascination with smart phones.

Random:

Tomorrow is the highly anticipated day!  Ed will be having the first of his cataract surgeries in the morning.  Your prayers (for both of us) would be very much appreciated!  I’ll bet Ed’s stomach will be tied up in knots, and I know mine will be.

Published in: on August 21, 2013 at 7:15 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/08/21/another-august-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. No surprise on your answer to #3! 😉

    Praying for the two of you! {{hug}}

  2. Well, I do love my smart phone : ) We left the gps at home the other day, but I had my trusty smart phone with me, so we figured out how to get where we needed to go. Praying all goes smoothly with your hubs surgery tomorrow!

  3. Praying for both of you for the surgery. I do love my smart phone however. I can do my blog on it!!!

  4. Will pray. My dad is 85 and just had that surgery earlier this year and he did awesome! Said there was nothing to it and he can see so much better!!

  5. I don’t have a smart phone and for the past three years not even a cell phone. I wouldn’t mind having one though someday.

  6. That is so sweet about the family dinners, doesn’t matter what your eating!!!! There is no place like home….that’s for sure. I mentioned seeing Steely Dan but now I’m thinking I’ve seen Barry Manilow since then. You know BB is my guilty pleasure 🙂 I think some of the reality shows that my daughter has watched are very trashy. Everyone sleeping with everyone. I’m even getting a little tired of Amanda and McCrae. I do enjoy my phone. Everything I do on my computer is available on the phone and I like that when I travel. Don’t really use it around the house. Praying for Ed’s surgery.

  7. This comes with prayer for Ed’s cataract surgery.

    Like you, I am not enamored with smartphones. That may be in part because post-stroke i continue to be limited mostly to using one hand. But Hubby and I are also super frugal (i don’t want to use the word cheap, but if the shoe fits), and I hate to give up the inexpensive rate and reliable service I have had for years plus the old phone that i can hold easily with my good hand while using the same hand to operate the phone functions.

  8. Sending prayers to Ed. My husband had the same surgery and raves about it! It was really pretty simple for him and now he sees soooo much better. Wishing the same for Ed.
    jj


Leave a Reply

