Steppin’ Into The Hodgepodge…

There’s no better way to ‘step into’ a brand new month than by participating in a little mid-week fun aka “The Hodgepodge”.  Each week, our hostess, Joyce, provides the questions.  All we have to do is provide our answers, visit each other, and have fun!  A full list of participants can be found by clicking Joyce’s button at the top of this post.

1. What’s something you’re never too young or too old to enjoy?

The first thing that popped into my head was ice cream.  The second thing was cake!  Did you figure out that I recently celebrated a birthday?  Yes, I indulged in cake and ice cream, and yes, I’m now paying the price for doing so, but it was worth it.   I’ll be stuck wearing house-dresses for a while…

2. Share one happy memory from your high school years.

After serving overseas for 20 1/2 months, Ed made it home just in time (3 days before) to watch me graduate and receive my high school diploma.  I was so thrilled to finally have Ed back home, especially to share such a special moment in my life!  We got married three weeks later.

3. A nationwide strike of fast food employees took place in the U. S. last week…they’re calling for higher wages and the right to unionize? Your thoughts?

When I heard this, last week, I thought it was absolutely ridiculous.  I still do.

4. September is National Honey Month…what’s a favorite dish you make or eat that calls for honey?

The only thing I can think of is Honey Nut Cheerios cereal.  I’m not a huge fan of honey.

5. If you notice someone with a tag sticking out, a button unbuttoned, a shirt on inside-out, or some leftover lunch stuck between their teeth do you say something or do you keep quiet?

It depends on how well I know the person.  I’d be more likely to tuck a tag in for someone than to tell them they have something stuck in between their teeth though!

6. What movie always makes you cry? Or at least makes you feel like crying?

Any movie concerning [dying or abused] animals!  War Horse is the last ‘tear jerker’ movie I’ve seen.  It was a good movie, but was very painful for me to watch.

7. ‘Mary Had a Little Lamb’ was written in May of 1830, and published in Juvenile Miscellany in September of that same year. Now for the fun part…create your own four line rhyme using that same tune.

Kathy had five little red hens

Who often loved to beg

She gave them food and treats each day

And they blessed her with many eggs!  (1671 eggs–and counting!)

Random:

Look who started to school, for the first time, yesterday!  It’s our oldest grandson, Caden!   Where did time go?

He looked so sweet wearing his first-day-of-school clothes and new back pack.  I hope he has a wonderful year!

1255475_10151580422061428_1933256449_n

Published in: on September 4, 2013 at 8:03 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/09/04/steppin-into-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Glad you sent the Wednesday hodgepodge. It reminded me this is not Tuesday. This four day weekend has me all mixed up.

  2. Did I miss your birthday? Happy Birthday! I haven’t been online a lot this summer, and feel behind. I figure I’ll catch up someday : ) Hope your grandboy had a great first day!

  3. Wow! You were a young bride! But, I guess it’s safe to say the marriage has worked! So, that’s good. Your grandson is adorable! I love the “first day of school” pics!

  4. Hope Caden has a splendid year ahead. And you too, with lots more of HodgePodges and sharing many such beautiful memories with us! I loved your sharing the bit about your graduation. That was beautiful!

  5. Honey Cherrios yes! forgot about those. Like me you married young and have enjoyed a long married life. Good for you.

  6. Yes we had the same answer with ice cream and I liked Joyce’s today on Disneyland/World! Ed being around was certainly a happy thing for you graduation. Yes War Horse was a tear jerker for sure 😦 Like your poem and the sweet pictures of your grandson.

  7. He’s a cutie, your grandson. And happy belated birthday 🙂

  8. Can’t believe Caden is in pre-K. It has been fun watching him grow through this and your other blog.


Leave a Reply

