Monday, Monday…

620a9-mondayquiz

The weekends sure go by in a hurry, don’t they?  It seems like there’s never enough time, but I’m making time to participate in my favorite Monday meme, ” Monday Quiz About Me”.  It’s hosted by Heather and her hubby, Wayne, on Acting Balanced.  Here are today’s questions:

1. September is Better Breakfast month – if time, money, calories etc. were no object, what would you have for breakfast?

I’d choose to have an omelet because Ed makes really good ones, and, thanks to ‘the girls’, we always have plenty of farm fresh eggs!  Occasionally, Ed will make us omelets for supper, but he’s never made them for breakfast!

2. How often do you do a major clean out?

Not nearly often enough!  The last major clean out we did was seven years ago, just before we moved into our new house.  I did a minor clean out this past weekend, when I partially cleaned out the storage shed, and donated some stuff to Goodwill.  A post about this ‘walk down memory lane’ will be coming soon!

3. What makes you feel appreciated?

A few kind words, a visit, a phone call, or a random act of kindness, it doesn’t take much.  Fortunately, my family makes me feel appreciated quite often.  In fact, Ed and I felt very appreciated yesterday, when our grandchildren presented us with some sweet gifts for Grandparents’ Day!

4. If you had the choice, would you employ someone to help around your home/life? Maid, Nanny, Cook, Butler or some other form of help?

I’d choose a maid who also cooks because I don’t especially enjoy cooking anymore, but some cleaning chores (cleaning windows, mopping/waxing, and cleaning in high places) are gradually becoming more of a challenge for me, too.

Which reminds me, have you met the adorable ninety-year-old couple who are featured on the Swiffer commercials?  I just love Leigh and Morty!  Here’s a clip about them:

My question for you:

 5.  Are you sentimental when it comes to getting rid of your children’s things or household items?  I sure am!  That explains why I have a storage room in my home, a storage shed outside, plus an attic filled with ‘treasures’. 

Weekend wrap up:

On Friday evening, two of our kids and their families met at our house for supper.  We’d all bought spaghetti dinners from church, to help raise money for a mission trip, so we ate our dinners together.  It was a nice way to kick off the weekend.

A ‘not-so-nice’ way to kick off the weekend was having Ed’s mom admitted to the hospital on Friday morning.  Unfortunately, she had a rough weekend, and still isn’t doing well.  Throughout the weekend, Ed spent a lot of time running back and forth to see about her.

I cleaned out the storage shed on Saturday, while Ed did a little construction work around the house.  We spent the most of the day outside, and boy, was it was hot!  Where is fall?  Speaking of fall–I put my fall decorations outside.  It’s a bit early, but I couldn’t stand to wait two more weeks. Besides, the leaves are already falling off the trees!

On Sunday afternoon, Ed finally determined the problem with my old washing machine.   Unfortunately, it’s going to be a difficult problem to repair, so we decided to move forward with purchasing a new one.  To put it mildly, our shopping experience was a bit bizarre– which I shall post tomorrow!

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on September 8, 2013 at 11:50 pm  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/09/08/monday-monday-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I hope Ed’s Mom gets well soon! I don’t look forward to shopping for a new washer. they have chamged so much.

  2. Praying that Ed’s mom will be well soon. I hate shopping for those big appliances. Why can’t they last 25 years like they use to??

  3. You’re lucky with the heat. I wish it was hot here. 57 degrees in the city, 50 up here where Iive. Brr

  4. Praying that Ed’s mom will be well soon.

    I’d like to hire a maid, too. But I fear that I would have to tidy up enough before she came that it would defeat the purpose.

  5. I’m extremely sentimental about my kids’ stuff. We’re doing a big decluttering now but I just find it so hard to throw their toys and beloved items out so we’re keeping most of them LOL.

  6. The omelet sounds good! I don’t do that major cleaning often enough either. I would love to have someone clean my house but I don’t trust strangers in my home so I haven’t hired one yet. Yes that Swifter commercial is sweet. Me too, can’t toss the things my children made.

  7. Sorry to hear about Ed’s mom, will keep her in my prayers.

    I’m semi sentimental. I love to put the drawings my grandkids give us on the fridge. We also still have all our children’s awards etc. from when they were in school. And I still have my mother’s first wedding set and some other jewelry she gave me before she died, plus some she had that belonged to my grandmother.

  8. I hope Ed’s mom recovers quickly. I am sentimental about things that my boys created for me, but things like toys, clothes (except their first bibs and the hospital shirts they wore), etc…not so much.

  9. Eating dinners together truly is a good thing. I hope Ed’s mom feels better soon. Isn’t she lucky to have him close by. I don’t clear out my kid’s stuff well either.


Leave a Reply

