A Peaceful Hodgepodge…

1. What’s the best thing about growing older?

Growing wiser, and being able to gain new perspective on things.  I’m definitely not the same person I was twenty years ago.  It’s also nice to be free from child rearing responsibilities, and be able to enjoy our children as adults.  Last but not least, growing older brings grandchildren.  They don’t call them ‘grand’ children for nothing!

2. When did you first feel like a grown up?

The day I married Ed and moved out of my parents house.  We moved sixty miles away, and only knew two people in the entire town.

3. Chocolate cake with white icing or white cake with chocolate icing?

Chocolate cake with white icing.

4. What’s the nicest thing a stranger has ever done for you?

I’m drawing a blank on this question.

5. What’s something you learned from your grandparents?

Unconditional love.  I’d love to elaborate, but don’t have the time or energy to do so today.

6. Wednesday marks a sad day in the history of planet earth-9/11…what’s something you do (or can do) to bring peace to your little corner of the world?

Pray.

7. Share a favorite quote, scripture, or song containing the word peace.

Oh well, I’m tired and so weary
But I must go alone
Till the lord comes and calls, calls me away, oh yes
Well the morning’s so bright
And the lamp is alight
And the night, night is as black as the sea, oh yes

There will be peace in the valley for me, some day
There will be peace in the valley for me, oh Lord I pray
There’ll be no sadness, no sorrow
No trouble, trouble I see
There will be peace in the valley for me, for me

Well the bear will be gentle
And the wolves will be tame
And the lion shall lay down by the lamb, oh yes
And the beasts from the wild
Shall be lit by a child
And I’ll be changed, changed from this creature that I am, oh yes

There will be peace in the valley for me, some day
There will be peace in the valley for me, oh Lord I pray
There’ll be no sadness, no sorrow
No trouble, trouble I see
There will be peace in the valley for me, for me

Random:

I chose the lyrics from “Peace in the Valley” for a reason.  My dear, sweet, mother-in-law found her peace in the valley at 3:00 yesterday morning, when she passed away.  The past few days have been a struggle for her, and it’s a relief to know that she’s finally at rest.  Vivian was more than a mother-in-law to me, she has been like a second mother for the past 44 years, and I will miss her greatly.

Due to the circumstances, I’ll be taking a bit of a blogging break, but will be back in a few days to catch up with everyone.

As always, thanks to Joyce for hosting the Hodgepodge.

Published in: on September 11, 2013 at 7:05 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/09/11/a-peaceful-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My sympathy to you and your family at the lass of your mother-in-law. Yes, remember she is through with her struggles.. How dedicated you are to stop and blog! I will miss receiving your words each day. Peace.

  2. Oh, Kathy, I’m so sorry to hear about your MIL. I pray that you and Ed will find peace in knowing that she’s found her peace and from the memories you have. {{hug}}

  3. I love enjoying my children as adults! I am so sorry to hear about your MIL. My prayers are with you, Ed and your family. ((HUGS))

  4. I’m so sorry for your loss Kathy. I know she was a special lady who meant a lot to you. Thinking of you today!

  5. I am sorry for your loss Kathy, my condolences to you and especially your husband. May your MIL rest in peace.

  6. Sending you and your family prayers and good thoughts for comfort and healing. Grieve now, then cherish the good memories. {{hugs}}

  7. I’m sorry to hear about your MIL. I had a feeling the time was drawing near. Please know you and Ed and your children are in my prayers.


Leave a Reply

