Just Me On Monday…

For two long weeks, following my MIL’s illness and passing, my life has basically been in limbo.  Things are still not back to normal, but every day gets a little better than the day before it.  Dealing with death, and its aftermath, is hard, but we’re trying to get back to normal.

Normal, for me, on Monday, is participating in the ‘Monday Quiz’ about me.  Below you will find Heather and Wayne’s questions, along with my answers.

620a9-mondayquiz

1. Next Saturday is “Ask a Stupid Question Day”… in preparation for it, please share a stupid question you’ve been asked or would like an answer to…

Someone once asked me if my little granddaughter was my baby.  I was flattered, but really?  I was 52 when she was born!

2. Do you believe that workplace dressing has become too casual?

Yes, I do believe workplace dressing has become too casual.  There’s a time and a place for flip-flops, jeans, t-shirts, or tank tops–the workplace isn’t it.  I once had a principal who required us to “dress like we worked in a bank”.  While this request seemed a bit extreme for working with children, I must admit, the staff looked a lot more professional.

3. What technology is on your wishlist? Is there a technology that hasn’t been invented yet that you want to see happen?

I’m technologically challenged, so there will be no new technology on my wish list!  Heck, I’m still trying to figure out Windows 8, and my new Kindle Fire.

4. September is Honey Month – are you a fan of honey? how do you use it?

No, I’m not a fan of honey, so I don’t use it for anything.

Weekend wrap-up:

Our weekend began on Friday evening, when our daughter and oldest son joined us for dinner, along with their families.  Everyone brought their own food, and we ate together. ( I felt a bit guilty, though, since Ed and I ate grilled steaks, while the others had pizza.)  I love how everyone usually gathers on Fridays.  It’s a nice way to begin the weekend!

Saturday wasn’t a fun day.  Ed, our son-in-law, and Ed’s brothers all went to the personal care home to remove the rest of Ed’s mom’s things, and bring them home.  I removed most of her personal belongings on Monday, but the men had to move her furniture on Saturday.  For some reason, Saturday was a sad and difficult day for me.

On Sunday, Ed had actually planned to take me to the beach.  Since I’ve been having a difficult time lately, Ed thought I could use a ‘beach get-away’.  Unfortunately, it was raining when we woke up, so, instead, we spent most of the day moving and rearranging some of the furniture in our house.  We needed to make room for Ed’s cedar chest from his mom’s house, as well as a bedroom suit.   It’s so sad moving things out of his mom’s house, and I have many mixed feelings about this.

However, Sunday afternoon brought a pleasant surprise when Brad and Jennifer came for a short, but sweet, visit.  It was late when they arrived, and they didn’t have long to stay, but  it was so good to see them!  Not a day goes by that we don’t miss them.   Our entire family agrees, the family circle just isn’t complete without Brad and Jennifer here!

That’s it for me today.  I’ll be making my way around to catch up with everyone this week, and I’m looking forward to it!  See you soon.

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on September 23, 2013 at 7:00 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/09/23/just-me-on-monday-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so sorry about the loss of Ed’s mama. You’re all in my prayers. I know it isn’t easy.

    About the person thinking that your granddaughter was your baby. Hey, that’s a compliment. You must look much younger than you are. 🙂

  2. I am sorry to hear about your loss. We lost an uncle on the weekend after he suffered a massive stroke. Losing a loved one is never easy however we hope they are in a better place.

  3. Sorry about your rained-out getaway. But don’t you have a thoughtful husband! Glad things are calming down a bit. We, too, are in that aftermath of dealing with MIL’s possessions and her house.


Leave a Reply

