The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

I’m running a day behind, this week, due to Monday’s holiday, but it’s Wednesday, whether it seems like it or not!  Wednesday means it’s time for The Hodgepodge, so why don’t we get right to it, shall we?  Here are Joyce’s great questions, along with my answers:

1. What was your biggest worry five years ago?  Is it still a worry?

Five years ago, our ‘retirement fund’ was probably our biggest worry.  Like everyone else, in 2008, we lost some of our retirement account, and we have been trying to recover ever since.

Unfortunately, we are still worried about our ‘retirement fund’! Thanks to a week economy, the government dipping into social security funds, and the increasing national debt,  we don’t feel secure at all about retirement anymore.

2. Yesterday (October 15th) was National Grouch Day…what makes you grouchy? What cheers you up when you’re feeling grouchy?

These days, watching the news makes me grouchy!  I hate the direction our country is headed in. We’re a train wreck waiting to happen!  However, when I find myself getting too grouchy or depressed, I take a break from watching the news, or better yet, when possible, I take a trip to St. Simon’s Island, and sit under my favorite oak tree.  Sitting under that oak tree makes me forget all of my troubles, at least for a while.

3.  In one word, how does it feel to be photographed?

Awkward (and it shows in my pictures!)

4. Besides your parents, who would you say had the greatest influence on you in choosing your life path?  Explain.

My maternal grandmother had the greatest influence on me, as a child.  She was a wonderful wife, mother, and that’s all I ever really wanted to be.  Once Ed and I became husband and wife, his parents had the greatest influence on me.  My in-laws set a wonderful example of marriage for us to follow.

5. The crisp days of autumn are here …what’s something you like to eat, but only if it’s crisp?

Fried squash.  There’s nothing worse than soggy fried squash!

6. What’s the most useless object you own?

Probably my collection of dolls.  I love my dolls, but they’re not really good for anything except to bring me joy and collect dust!  Below is my ‘Chatty Cathy’ doll collection.  Most of these dolls are over fifty years old.  A few of them still talk, but most do not.

Chatty Cathy collection

Chatty Cathy collection

7.  Share a favorite fall memory.

Ed and I have hosted three Halloween parties during our forty-one years of marriage.  Those Halloween parties are among my all-time favorite fall memories!  First of all, I love decorating for Halloween.  Of course, it’s fun to see what kind of costumes everyone will come dressed in, too!  We always have lots of food to eat, then we play some interesting games, afterward.  Fun family times  make the best memories!

My Family...Halloween 2011

Halloween – 2011

Random:  “B” is for baby shower and beach time!

Last Saturday, our entire family attended a baby shower for Jennifer.   The shower was held  where Brad and Jennifer live,  so getting there involved a little traveling.  It was sort of strange to have all of our family gathered in a place other than ‘Gooseneck’!  I threw caution to the wind and enjoyed the (sweet) refreshments at Jennifer’s shower, then watched as she opened many pretty baby gifts for Evan.  Ed and I gave Evan a baby swing, which I had a very difficult time wrapping!

On Sunday, Ed and I hit the road again, for another long-awaited trip to St. Simon’s Island!  My brother and his wife (who celebrated 50 years of marriage, on Saturday) met us for a day under our favorite oak tree! (They came from one direction, while we came from another!)  We ate bar-b-que sandwiches under the tree, and talked about everything under the sun.  My sister-in-law and I even managed to do a little browsing in the local shops, as well as at the local arts/crafts festival that was going on!  Fun times, great memories.  Unfortunately, that will probably be the last beach trip for 2013, but I still have a new grand baby to look forward to!

Published in: on October 16, 2013 at 7:44 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. The baby shower sounds like fun. A new grandbaby is the best.

  2. A new grandbaby will be fun. The day at the beach sounds wonderful to me. I love your Chatty Cathy collection. I have one Chatty Cathy and I had one as a little girl (but it got run over because I left it on the ground. 😦

  3. I always feel awkward in front of a camera too! I would much rather be the person taking the pictures.

  4. Showers are so much fun-such happy events! Glad you squeezed in one more beach trip!

  5. Love your dolls. They looke familiar although I was a tom boy and not really a doll child. I kept receiving them for Christmas but they all ended up in my doll baby carriage along with my baseball bat!
    As for your last beach trip, I’m month’s ahead of you there!

  6. I didn’t worry about retirement 5 years ago but I definitely worry now! It didn’t hit me until I turned 60. I know I am very uninformed but I never watch the news. Your doll collection is lovely. Sounds like you had a nice weekend.

  7. A new baby to look forward to…how great is that!!

    You have a great doll collection! Fun.

  8. That is one reason we stopped our cable TV ….the news. First the news coverage and media is so biased any more…which it shouldn’t be…but that’s not the case. I agree with you that it can make anyone grouchy!!
    Loved your photo shares.
    And, I must admit, I’ve never had fried squash. Is it good?


Leave a Reply

