This-n-That On Monday…

I always worry that nobody cares about what I’ve been doing, whenever I write this kind of ‘catch-up post’, but, the truth is, I write mostly for me, so I can record what’s been happening with my family.  As time goes by, I tend to forget much more than I can remember!  By Monday, I have to struggle to remember what happened on Friday, but here goes…

Our neck of the woods was filled with a whirl of activities the entire weekend!  Our little granddaughter, Madison, was one of the flower girls in her Aunt Sarah’s wedding.  This made Madison’s fourth time being a flower girl!  This is what happens when you’re the only little girl in both sides of the family 🙂

I didn’t attend the wedding, but I asked my daughter to take a picture for me.  Seeing how ‘grown’ Madison looks makes my heart a little bit sad.  All too soon, she’ll be the bride instead of the flower girl!

022

Ed and I had lots of visitors throughout the weekend, beginning on Friday night,  when our oldest son and his family came for a visit. They brought me a new addition for my portrait shelf, too.  I love it!  I love family portraits, and seeing this one brought back lots of memories…

Twenty-five years ago, this could have been Ed and me! Those were some fun times dressing up the little ones for church directory portraits–not!    I think my daughter-in-law, Christina, handles family portraits better than I did, though.  Before this portrait was taken, Brett and his family had spent the majority of the day, outside, at Madison’s 7th (carnival-themed) birthday party!  In fact, Christina, even arrived two hours before the party, to help Brandy decorate!  You’d never guess all that by looking at this family portrait, would you?  You’d never guess that they attended another fall festival after this portrait was taken, either, would you?!

64239_10101176517182261_1009122225_n

On Saturday, Ed and I had more visitors, when  the newest member of our family came for his first visit to “Mimi” and “E’s” house!  It had been a week since we’d seen the little guy, and of course, he’d already grown some.

Baby Evan and his parents spent Saturday night and most of Sunday with us, while the rest of our family trickled in and out, to visit, whenever they could.  We didn’t take a lot of pictures, but one of the best ones that we took was this picture of our oldest grandchild, Madison,holding our youngest grandchild, Evan.  (Evan’s wrapped in Madison’s old baby blanket!)

100_3078 (2)

It was great to have Brad and Jennifer back in ‘Gooseneck’ again, since it had been a while since they’d been able to visit. Ed and I had been to their house for the past 3 weekends!

Evan spent most of the time in somebody’s arms, since people were always dying to hold him.  We may have him a bit spoiled, soon!  As always, the hours passed quickly, and all too soon, it was time for little Evan and his family to go home.  Sigh.  Evan was a bit fussy, as they were leaving.  Hope their trip home was okay!

On a happier note, everyone will be back, this coming weekend, to celebrate Ed’s birthday, which happens to be coming up, later this week!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Of course, it wouldn’t be Monday, unless I participated in the ‘Monday Quiz’, so I will.  Thanks to ActingBalanced for hosting this Monday meme!  Here are the questions, along with my answers:

620a9-mondayquiz

1. It is Veteran’s Day in the US and Remembrance Day in Canada – are you participating in any special events or doing anything to honor those who served?

No, I won’t be participating in any special events, but I do honor those who served.  I have several veterans among the members of my family:  my brother, my mother-in-law, my father-in-law, my nephew, and of course, Ed.  I’m proud of each one of them, and I am thankful for the service they provided for our country.  I’m only sorry that Ed has never had Veteran’s Day off!  He never gets to enjoy a holiday that’s held in his honor.  Sigh.

2. How far are you willing to drive before it becomes better to fly?

I prefer to limit my car trips to six or eight hours, but I’ve never flown.  Can you tell I don’t travel far from home very much?

3. Fresh cranberries are back in stores – Wayne is happy because I’m making crisps again, do you cook/bake with fresh cranberries? Recipes?

Nope, I’m not a real fan of cranberries, although, I’ve eaten cranberry bread before, and liked it okay.

4. We turned on our heat for the first time this week here in SC… how long has the heat been on at your house? What temperature do you set your furnace at?

We’ve had our furnace on since about mid-October.  During the day it gets hot, but sometimes the nights tend to get a little cold.  Ed and I could’ve toughed the nights out, but we have a parakeet who’s very old, so I turned the heat on, at night,  for “Tweety Bird”.

We keep our thermostat set on 75 degrees, during the day, and 71 degrees, at night.

My question:

5.  What’s your favorite thing about cold weather?

Published in: on November 11, 2013 at 11:13 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/11/11/this-n-that-on-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Madison is a lovely young lady!! What a wonderful family-filled time you have had (and more coming!)!! I love hearing about my blogging friends’ lives, and that’s what I write about, too. It really is more about journaling for me. Wishing you a wonderful week and birthday celebration for Ed!!

  2. Great pictures! I love cold weather more than hot weather. You don’t feel ugly when it’s 100 degrees outside and you might get snow, I like snow!

  3. There’s nothing I like about cold weather. ha! We don’t fly … but that doesn’t stop us from traveling further away (and all our favorite places — ie the beach — are at least 12 hours away) so we break our longer trips into 8-11 hour segments. 😉

  4. I write for me too so if no one reads it that is okay 🙂 Madison looks so cute! Love the family portrait. How wonderful to have the baby over. What a blessing for everyone and how awesome that they will be back! We haven’t turned our furnace on yet but some nights I’m getting close. Have a nice week.

  5. I can totally relate to writing for yourself. I often do that and no one comments. It would be nice if people commented but that’s completely out of my control. The thing I like about cold weather is that it’s less sunny, cooler and therefore more cozy.

  6. Favorite thing about cold weather? Curling up in the warm house with a blanket and a good book or a movie with my family.

    Madison looks so big in that flower girl dress! And yes, that family photo is amazing for everything that had to get done that day. I’ll bet there will be another family picture very soon for Brad’s family, one that includes the new little one?

  7. We’ve had our heat on since early October as wel. We have it set to come on about 4am and get the house up to 71. By 8am it allows the house temp to drop to 65 since I’m at work and Hubby likes it cooler. It comes up again to 71 at 2pm and stays there until about 8pm when it once again drops to 65. I like that we also have a pellet stove so if we want that extra heat we can have it. Madison is getting so big! Such a pretty girl.


Leave a Reply

