Buster, The Cookie Jar…

10-14-2011 3;22;59 PM20Christmas, 1970 – Ed’s family (and “Buster”) at my parents’ house

After Ed’s mom passed away, Ed asked me if there was anything in her house I would like to have.  Without hesitation, I answered, “Buster”.  Buster is only a cookie jar, but his family ties go way back.

It all began back in 1970, when Ed was in the army, and had been sent overseas for an eighteen month tour of duty.  I was still living at home, with my parents, finishing up my last two years of high school.  Ed and I had recently become engaged just before he left for Okinawa.

By the time Ed and I became engaged, our parents had already become good friends.  Christmas was coming, and my parents wanted to give Ed’s parents a gift.  Sort of as a joke, my parents settled on a cookie jar, in the shape of a semi-bald priest, who happened to be wearing a brown robe.  On the front of the semi-bald priest’s  brown robe were the words, “Thou Shalt Not Steal”!

Ed’s dad had a good sense of humor, and laughed when he opened the cookie jar!  Then Ed’s daddy proclaimed that the priest looked just like Buster Rogers, a member of their church!  From that day forward, the cookie jar became simply known as “Buster”.  (Note: The photo at the top of this post was taken, then sent to Ed, who was in Okinawa.  The large red dog in the photo was my Christmas gift from Ed’s parents, and I loved it!)

Buster quickly took up residence on the counter of Ed’s parent’s kitchen.  His place of honor was in the far-left corner, and for almost forty-three years, Buster never moved!  From his counter perch, Buster ‘watched’ many meals being prepared and served throughout the years.  My parents were present at many of those meals, too.  Each time my parents were present, without fail, somebody would look over at  Buster, sitting on the counter, and laugh about the Christmas when he joined the family!

One, little-known fact about “Buster” was that he never held any cookies inside of him!  Ed’s daddy used Buster for collecting pennies.  At the time of Ed’s daddy’s death,  Buster, the cookie jar, was over-flowing with pennies!  Twelve and one-half years later, those pennies were still inside of Buster on the day Ed brought him to live at our house.

Ed and I are the last remaining family members who lived through ‘the Buster era’.  All of our parents are gone now, and “Buster’s” namesake passed many years ago, as well.  Buster is still able to bring a smile to my face when I remember all of the good times he ‘saw’, but sometimes “Buster” makes me a bit sad, too.  It was very sad having to remove him from his former home.

“Buster’s” sort of like me.  He’s not young and vibrant like he once was.  His paint has become old and dark, over time.  He probably could use a real good scrubbing, but we don’t dare, out of fear of messing up his paint!  I love Buster anyway, and gave him a new place of honor, on the top of my curio cabinet.  There, he sits way up high, safe from any harm.

181

These days, Buster continues to watch over a new generation of family gatherings from his new perch.  He, also, continues to watch over most the ‘stash’ that Ed’s daddy put inside of him, so many years ago!  Because Buster was filled to overflowing, we had to remove some of the pennies, but we still have them.

Welcome to your new home, “Buster”!  I hope someone else in our family will give you a new home, one day,whenever the time comes, but I hope that won’t be for a long, long time.

Published in: on November 12, 2013 at 10:01 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/11/12/buster-the-cookie-jar/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I gave my mother a set of Friar salt and pepper shakers that would go right along with Buster. I have no idea what happened to them!

  2. What a cute memory and story – thanks for shairing.

  3. Awww, sweet memories.

  4. Oh, I so love to hear stories like this!! Thank you for sharing the love!


Leave a Reply

