One Hundred And Fifty Hodgepodges And I’m Still Having Fun…

If you’re reading this post, then I thank you for joining me for the 150th edition of the “Wednesday Hodgepodge”.  I’d, also, like to thank our hostess, Joyce, for providing the questions and hosting this fun meme each week!  Now, let’s get down to business, shall we?  Here are this week’s questions:

1. Describe a typical Sunday from your childhood.

I can’t remember much about Sundays from my earliest childhood, so I’ll concentrate on my t’ween years.  On most Sundays, my parents and I would attend church services, eat lunch, then, later in the afternoon, we’d usually go for a drive in the car.  We’d ride around on some of the country back roads, usually ending up at the cemetery where my granddaddy was buried.  If we happened to stop at the two vending machines, located under a shelter,  just down from the cemetery, it was a very good day 🙂   Our local Dairy Queen  wasn’t built until a few years later.  Once the DQ came to town, sometimes, we’d get ice cream on Sundays.

2. How comfortable are you with uncertainty? Explain.

I’m not comfortable, at all, with uncertainty!  I’m a creature of habit, and I don’t like it when life throws curve balls at me.  The year of 2013 has brought us more than our fair share of uncertainty, and, unfortunately, we’re still caught in the midst of some.

3. What have you accomplished recently that might be described as crafty, as in ‘arts and crafts’ crafty? If crafty doesn’t work for you, how about handy? Or both?

The only thing I’ve created, lately, are a couple of photo books at Shutterfly.com

4. Have you ever worked in a ‘food place’? What did you take away from the experience?

When I was a young teen, I worked a couple of days in my uncle’s restaurant/souvenir shop before I quit.  Following those two days, I realized I’d never have a future working in ‘a food place’!

5. Cold turkey, talk turkey, what a turkey…in recent days, which turkey phrase or idiom best applies to you and why? Click on the word turkey if you need to read more about the meaning behind each phrase.

Due to a certain ‘situation’, I’ve been doing a lot of ‘talking turkey’, lately.  The ‘situation’, which began two weeks ago, still hasn’t been completely resolved.  I’ve been aggravated and stressed, but not nearly as aggravated and stressed as my daughter and her family have been!  Fortunately, we’re a close family, and have our faith to help carry us through until this thing is resolved.

6. If you could have any one guest join your Thanksgiving dinner table, who would it be?

My mother-in-law passed away two months ago, so this will be our first Thanksgiving without her.  If I could, I’d chose to have my mother-in-law join us at our table again.

7. What is one thing you must accomplish today?

Today is a special day for someone in our family who LOVES German Chocolate cake.  Ed always looks forward to one of my cakes on his birthday, so I MUST bake a cake!

Random:

Today is a special day for two members of our family.

100_1918

Ed, who’s now the oldest member of our family, turns 64 today.

1395971_10202516894103028_1693155066_nEvan

Evan, who’s now the youngest member of our family,  turns 2 weeks old today.

Happy Birthday, guys!

Published in: on November 13, 2013 at 8:50 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/11/13/one-hundred-and-fifty-hodgepodges-and-im-still-having-fun/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Birthday to your husband! Your little grandson is adorable!

    I hope the stressful situation gets worked out very soon.

  2. DQ was our Sunday treat as well when we were visiting my grandparents…My grandpa always said, “maybe we will run into a blizzard on our way home from church…” in July that can only mean one thing – Dairy Queen 🙂

  3. I love Wednesdays too, I never get tired of Hodgepodge!!! Very nice memories of Sundays and we love Dairy Queen. I also enjoy making books at Shutterfly. We are talking turkey here to, things are a mess. So sweet that you would like your MIL at your dinner. ((HUGS)) Happy Birthday Ed!!! My husband will turn 62 on Monday. Loving baby Evan!

  4. Actually my husband wants a cake from Dairy Queen for his birthday!

  5. That cake certainly looks delicious!! We used to stop at an ice cream place on Saturday or Sunday drives. Hadn’t thought of that in awhile. Dad always got black walnut, Mom always got butter pecan, my brother always got raspberry, and my choice was and still is always chocolate!! My sister, Patti, wasn’t old enough for ice cream, and Tammy hadn’t joined us yet. 🙂

  6. Ed and I are kindred spirits in the birthday cake department : ) Happy Birthday to your hubs! I hope things work out soon, whatever the situation.


Leave a Reply

