Reflecting And Being Thankful…

P1010098 (3)

The year of 2013 got off to a rough start.  Our youngest son, Brad, and his wife, Jennifer, had just bought a new house and moved away.  I missed them terribly, and my heart was broken!  Jennifer had just been through another ‘cancer scare’, and it, also, didn’t look as if children would be a part of her and Brad’s future.  Thankfully, I finally adjusted to having a ‘long distance relationship’ with one of my children, Jennifer’s cancer scare was a false alarm, and in March, Jennifer and Brad found out they were ‘expecting’!  Life was good again.

Joy quickly turned to worry when it was discovered that both Jennifer and Brad are carriers of the disease, Cystic Fibrosis.  Weeks later, worry finally turned back into joy when it was discovered that their baby didn’t have this dreaded disease!  In fact, the baby wouldn’t be a carrier either! 🙂  Thank you, God, for double miracles.

Ed and I were able to pay off the last of our debts, this year.  Yay!  What a wonderful feeling it has been, to be debt-free, at last!  Thanks to God, for providing us with the income to do this.  As a result of becoming debt-free, Ed and I were able to do a few things around the house–like having those scary pine trees cut down from around our home,  having some concrete poured under our car shelter, and buying a new lawn mower.  Praise the Lord for home improvements!

2013 has been a year of ‘medical procedures’ for Ed.  He had a root canal, had his first colonoscopy, and had cataract surgery performed on both eyes.  Thank God, all procedures went well, and Ed has 20/20 vision, once more!  As far as we know, he’s a healthy man.

We lost Ed’s mom, this year, but we are thankful for the 91 years that we had her with us!  We are, also, thankful, when the end came, she didn’t suffer for very long.  We find comfort in knowing she’s finally been reunited with the love of her life, as well as the two small children she lost early in her life.  Thank you, God, for happy reunions in Heaven!

The fall of 2013 brought the birth of our ‘miracle grandchild’.  Evan William arrived into this world, and into our family, on October 30.  He was healthy, beautiful, and looked just like his daddy!  Thank God for miracles, and for a little boy who will carry on his daddy’s family name.

The day of baby Evan’s birth, also, brought a ‘very trying situation’ concerning another one of my grandchildren.  In fact, I got the call just moments after Evan’s birth!  Because of an incompetent pediatrician’s office, there was a mix up with some lab results for this grandchild.  This mix up caused great  alarm and stress for the child, and the parents of the child, not to mention the rest of us!  It’s unbelievable what this family has had to endure because of this inexcusable  mix up–three weeks of pure hell!  Thank God for happy endings, including finding a new pediatrician.  The case is finally closed!

As 2013 draws near a close, I’ve found that I’m not the woman I used to be.  I’ve become a smaller, healthier version of the woman I used to be.  It’s a blessing when good things happen as the result of bad things–like having to give up sugar!   It’s also a blessing when second mammogram screenings turn out to be ‘normal’. 🙂  Most recently, I’m thankful for the dentist receptionist, who always fits me in, and for the dentist, who’s willing to think outside of the box, and patch up another broken tooth.

In addition to becoming smaller and healthier, I’ve also become older and wiser in 2013.  We learn and grow through life experiences, and I’ve certainly had plenty of those, this year!  One of the best parts about becoming older and wiser, is watching my children growing older and wiser, along with me.  I take great pleasure (and a little pride) in watching my off-spring become the spouses, parents, and people I’d always hoped and prayed they would be!  Thank you God, for answering this mother’s prayers.

Last, but not least, I’m thankful for this blog.  It’s been a learning experience for me.  Four and one-half years ago, I began blogging, as a way to record my thoughts and stories.  Whenever I go back and read some of my earlier stories, I’m amazed at how much my writing has improved!  Of course, I never dreamed I’d make so many wonderful blogging friends along the way, too!  Thanks to each one of you for your visits and comments. I treasure each one of them!  With all of that being said, I’ll close and say…

Blessings to each one of you!  Have a Happy Thanksgiving

Published in: on November 26, 2013 at 9:39 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/11/26/reflecting-and-being-thankful/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Kathy. Im so looking forward to reading more of your blog. Im so glad for your families good news. Miracles are all around us! Have a great day.
    Katie

  2. A moving recap of your year. If your character was to dwell solely on on the painful things you would not be able to savor the blessings. Your generosity, perseverance and moral compass for valuing, choosing and doing what is right and good is a comfort and inspiration to me. Every blessing, my friend!

  3. You have had quite a year, filled with highs and lows. Your post got me thinking about my year too…Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  4. Blessings to you and yours!! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!


Leave a Reply

