Up To My Eyeballs In Christmas Decorations, But Trying To Catch Up…

It’s hard to believe it’s been five days since I’ve been here on the old blog!  I’ve missed it, and hated to stay away any longer.  I’m going to attempt to recap the past few days, before they slip my mind, in as few words as possible!

Last Wednesday was spent in the kitchen, of course, as well as, last Thursday, but I don’t know when I’ve enjoyed a Thanksgiving more.  Three things about this Thanksgiving stick out in my mind.  First of all, our granddaughter, Madison, asked to set the table, this year.  She recently learned the proper way to set a table, and wanted to show off her new skills.  She’s growing up!

100_3104

The next thing that sticks out in my mind is how our family read various scriptures concerning “thankfulness”, (which our daughter had printed on paper leaves) then went around and told one thing we were thankful for. There was some laughter and even a few tears. Great family memories!

Last of all, our first traditional family portrait, including  our newest family member, baby Evan, was taken. As our family has continued to grow, our portrait sessions have become more interesting. After several tries, we were finally successful!  By the time this picture was taken, Evan had lost his “turkey hat”, but Chase still had his green “frog lovey” 🙂

100_3120
Thanksgiving 2013

On Friday morning, with Thanksgiving safely behind us, Ed and I embarked on the beginning of our journey into the 2013 Christmas season.  We began by shampooing the living room carpet!  Unfortunately, my carpet shampooer decided not to cooperate, which made the task a lot more difficult than it should have been.  We had to spray the carpet shampoo solution on using a garden sprayer, then scrub and suck up the solution using the shampooer!  Fun times–not!  While the carpet dried, Ed and I decided to put up our outside decorations.  The weather was sunny and mild–perfect for decorating outside.  By the end of the day, the carpet was dry and the house and front yard was decorated and lit up!

100_3143

Outside Christmas decorations 2013

On Friday night we brought out that new artificial Christmas tree I had such a difficult time deciding upon.  Ed put it together and I began to shape the branches.  The tree came pre-lit with white lights, but I decided to add some colored lights, too, because Ed likes them.  (I do this from time to time.)  As I’m writing this, the tree still isn’t completely decorated.  So far, the new tree has lots of lights (550 white/200 colored), a tree topper, and some popcorn and candy garland on it!   I’ll get it finished…eventually.  When I do, I’ll share a picture.

On Saturday, Ed and I left our Christmas decorating behind and went to see “The Nutcracker”.  Nothing puts me in a holiday mood like watching “The Nutcracker”.  Our daughter and her family accompanied us to the show, and we had a very good time.  It was granddaughter, Madison’s, first time attending “The Nutcracker”.  When asked what she’d like for a souvenir of the show, she chose a tiara, and of course, we had to take a picture of her wearing it!  (She wore her tiara through the first half of the show.)

P1010146

 Madison (waiting for the show to begin)

In addition to shampooing the carpet, decorating outside, watching “The Nutcracker”, and getting the tree half decorated, Ed and I managed to finish up our Christmas shopping, this weekend!  We didn’t have much shopping left to do, but we finished on Sunday.  Now, if I can just get the gifts wrapped!

I still have lots of decorating to do, plus an out-of-town doctor’s appointment, this week.  I’ll blog and visit, whenever I can!  In the meantime, have a great week, everyone.

Published in: on December 2, 2013 at 11:53 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/12/02/up-to-my-eyeballs-in-christmas-decorations-but-trying-to-catch-up/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow. Busy, busy busy!

    I am, unfortunately, just starting my Christmas shopping. Online mostly, because I’m not a huge fan of all the crowds this time of year. But as the kids have already reminded me, more than once I might add, that it’s time for the annual trip to the mall to look at all the decorations, have lunch, and of course, do some shopping! 🙂

  2. I too was away from the world of blogs but since I only post once a week, it wasn’t noticeable. Regarding the carpet cleaner – It wouldn’t be a Kathy blog without a breakdown, would it?
    That’s a beautiful family portrait. everyone is focused on the camera and not one eye is closed!

  3. What wonderful memories for your family. I love the family portrait and your granddaughter in her tiara. I believe every girl (young or old) should have a tiara.

  4. The family portrait is so sweet and Maddie in her tiara and midnight blue is lovely and happy. Thanks for sharing the photo of your outside decorating. Our grands decorated our tree Friday after our Thanksgiving meal. We gather on Friday after our sons and families have Thursday Thanksgiving with their respective in-laws.

    Of course our tree won’t win home decorating awards, but it wins my heart. And thank goodness for Ruth’s comment. It is comforting to know I am not alone in just now starting my Christmas shopping. Actually this is earlier than usual for me!


Leave a Reply

