Taking Time For The Hodgepodge…

It’s still busy, busy, busy around here, but everything will just have to wait because it’s time for The Wednesday Hodgepodge!  As always, many thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for another great set of questions.  Speaking of questions, here they are:

1. According to Oxford Dictionaries, the 2013 word of the year is ‘selfie’. Your thoughts? When did you last take a selfie? Do you post them online somewhere? Do you prefer to be in front of the camera or behind the lens?

My thoughts are that I don’t particularly care for the word ‘selfie’ and I don’t particularly care for ‘selfie’ portraits either.  I’ve only taken one ‘selfie’, and it was for a joke.  I gave a framed ‘selfie’ to my son-in-law, for Christmas, a few years ago 🙂  Everyone got a huge laugh when he opened it!  (FYI: my selfie’ is so horrible I would never post it anywhere!)  I’ve always hated having my picture taken, so I’d definitely prefer to be behind the lens–and I usually am!

2. Will you send out Christmas cards this year? If so, are they ready to go? If not, are you glad or sad about leaving that tradition behind?

I plan to send out about 20 Christmas to our closest family and friends.  Every year, I consider not sending cards anymore, but, so far, I haven’t missed a year.  I will be sad when I finally decide to leave the tradition behind.

3. Do you trust easily?

Yes, I trust easily.  I’m a naive person, and sometimes I get ‘fooled’ or taken advantage of.  However, once my trust is broken, it’s very hard for a person to gain it back.

4. Pine-cinnamon-peppermint-vanilla (as in sugar cookie)…of those listed, which one is your favorite December scent?

My favorite December scent is pine, or to be more specific, Bath & Bodyworks’ Fresh Balsam.  I love the smell of a fresh cut Christmas tree, and Fresh Balsam is the closest thing to a fresh cut tree, that I’ve found.

5. Did you do more talking or more listening yesterday? Was that by choice or necessity?

I did more listening yesterday.  It was ‘one of those days’ for Ed, at work.  When he got home, he needed to talk, so I listened.

6. What’s the last song that got stuck in your head? Sorry if it’s back there now : )

The new Christmas song “Hairy Christmas” by Willie Robertson (of Duck Dynasty fame) and Luke Bryan has been stuck in my head ever since I bought the CD entitled Duck the Halls.  

The Robertson family CD is a really good one!  Who knew the Duck Dynasty clan could sing?!  Willie even  co-wrote the song “Hairy Christmas.  Here’s a clip below of Willie and Luke singing “Hairy Christmas”:

7. Which world explorer (in the whole history of the world) would you most like to have traveled with, and why?

I’m sorry, but since I don’t enjoy traveling very much, I wouldn’t want to have traveled or explored with anyone!

Random:

I’m still stuck in Christmas decorating mode, but I’m slowly making progress!  I have one Christmas tree that’s finished–and it’s in the kitchen!   This tree is decorated with pretend Gingerbread and candy.  The sign on the front of the tree says, “Gingerbread brings love to the holidays”.  I’ve had this tree for a long time, and will be sad when I have to retire it.  I dread the hunt for a replacement tree!P1010148

I’ll finish the main tree (in the living room) next, but it looks like decorating will just have to wait until Thursday.  Wouldn’t you know, today, I have to travel to the city for a doctor’s appointment?!  It’s time for my yearly gynecologist appointment.  Yay!  Ed’s taken the day off from work to go along with me, so we’ll probably make a day of it.  I’ll try to visit as many of you as I can, tonight, after I get back home.

Published in: on December 4, 2013 at 7:56 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2013/12/04/taking-time-for-the-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love, love, love the Duck Dynasty video. Thank you so much for sharing it. Too fun! I love your Gingerbread tree too. So pretty. Hope all goes well at your appointment and that you and hubby have a great day together.

  2. What a cute tree! I’ve always wanted a kitchen tree. Maybe my next house : ) Have fun today-ha! Glad you’ll have company, and it does always feel good to have that appt checked off the list!

  3. I watched that Christmas special the other night when Willie and Luke Bryan sang. Willie has a great voice…who would have ever thought? They had me smiling the whole time! Love your tree!

  4. Thanks for intro to the Duck Dynasty contribution to Christmas music. Got a hoot out of the video. Hope doc visit goes well and you and Ed have a great “day of it!”

  5. I love your Christmas tree in the kitchen. I think I have the same curtains 🙂 Hope your doctor’s appointment went well today.

  6. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers!! I also love the snow on your page! Fun (and the only kind of snow I want to see!!).

  7. We have just about the same answer for #3. I do like to travel but not by plane, I’ll drive thanks.

  8. If you have a Walmart close by, they have a wonderful fresh pine scent indoor spray [small silver aerosol can] back in their Christmas decor section. It’s very good and very close to the ‘real’ stuff.

    ,,,and I stopped sending out cards,,,dozens of them long ago before I figured most don’t even really care these days. So, I send out only 3 and I don’t miss the big hassle of getting them to the post office, buying stamps, etc. etc.

  9. My selfies are all jokes! I send out about 60 cards and hopefully they will get out next week sometime. Love your little tree.


Leave a Reply

