And A Happy New Year’s Hodgepodge To You…

1. Times Square is the setting for the infamous ball drop signaling a brand new year….when did you last ‘drop the ball’ on something?

The first thing that comes to mind is an incident that happened just two days before Christmas.  I hadn’t made Christmas candy in two years, and apparently chocolate chips are [now] different from how they used to be.  I couldn’t get the chocolate chips to melt and become thin (for dipping) like they used to do!  I added the same amount of paraffin, as usual, but the chips were still thick and clumpy.  I wasn’t sure what to do about this, so I finally added a small amount of water to the melted chips.  This turned out to be a big NO NO because the chocolate wouldn’t stick to the balls after I added the water!  I later learned that I needed to add vegetable oil or shortening to thin the melted chocolate chips, which I did for the second batch.

2. What is one thing you resolved to do in 2013 that you actually did?

Eat less sugar!

3. Jack London is quoted as saying, “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.” Agree or disagree? Why?

It’s hard for me to do much of anything without waiting for a little inspiration, so I’m going to  disagree.  My inspiration comes from lots of places, but I don’t recall ever going out and searching for it, at least, not on purpose.

4. What was the best thing you ate in 2013?

The DQ banana split that my daughter surprised me with during the summer!  She bought it and brought it home to me, and I wasn’t about to let it go to waste!  It had been around 7 or 8 months since I’d had a banana split (due to sugar restrictions), but I ate the whole thing–and enjoyed every bite 🙂  Absence really does make the heart grow fonder!

5. Share an anti-resolution…that is, something you plan to keep on doing in the new year.

From this day forward, I plan to try  “living for the moment”.  I’m notorious for worrying about tomorrow, or looking back at yesterday.  I’m going to try my best to break those old habits, and simply enjoy today.

6. The Pantone color of the year for 2014 is radiant orchid. Like or no like? Would I find this color anywhere in your home or wardrobe? Will you add something in this shade to either?

Radiant orchid is a pretty color, but it’s not really one of my favorites.  I definitely wouldn’t add this color to my home, since it would clash with our decor, but I wouldn’t  completely rule out wearing it.

7. In three words or less sum up your 2013.

Filled with surprises.

Random:

Happy New Year, everyone!

Ed and I spent a quiet New Year’s Eve at home.  Actually, we spent a quiet New Year’s Eve at our ‘former home’, which is now our daughter’s home.  We joined our daughter and her family for a little impromptu New Year’s Eve Party which consisted of opening a bag every hour to discover what activity they were supposed to do for the next hour.  We made New Years Eve Party hats, then modeled them for the camera, watched a movie [Despicable Me], ate ice cream sundaes (at 9 p.m!), and played some Wii bowling.  What a simple, but fun evening!  Ed and I left the party about 10:30, so I’m not sure what other activities we missed!  We were both sound asleep well before midnight!  Kudos to our daughter, Brandy, for finding a  fun way to celebrate New Years Eve, in a family way, at home!

Published in: on January 1, 2014 at 9:41 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/and-a-happy-new-years-hodgepodge-to-you/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a fun way to ring in the New Year! I’m going to remember that for my own house in the future. Happy 2014!

  2. Love the idea of doing something every hour especially if everyone makes a choice. Must try it with the grandchildren. Have a healthy 2014.

  3. Me too, I ate less sugar…… its such a delicious poison! So happy you enjoyed your banana split. I had a root beer float last night, it was very good. I love your plan for living in the moment, I too worry all the time. Sounds like a perfect New Years Eve….all things wonderful to you in 2014!

  4. I like those party ideas. We haven’t gone to, or hosted, a NYE party in a long time. Guess we’re boring! I do share your take on inspiration, for sure. Have a great 2014.

  5. That sounded like a great way to spend New Year’s Eve. I hope you do learn to live in the moment and then maybe you can tell me how.

    Happy New Year.

  6. I enjoyed your Hodgepodge!! I also enjoyed hearing about your new year’s eve! It sounds perfect!!! Happy 201!!

  7. Happy 2014!

  8. #4…I say: “It never hurts to indulge once in a while”. My motto is to enjoy everything in moderation, even moderation.

  9. You and your daughter are so creative about planning “events” that give people a spirit of fun and belonging. Don’t forget to give us periodic updates on how you are keeping your “living in the moment” resolution. I admire that ability. I need to develop it, too.


Leave a Reply

