Hello Hodgepodge…

Hello Wednesday, and hello Hodgepodge!  The time has come for us to jump into another though-provoking, informative set of questions, provided by our gracious Hodgepodge Hostess, Joyce, so let’s get to it, shall we?

1. Are you a force to be reckoned with? In what way?

Most of the time I don’t think I’m much of a force, but I certainly can be a force to be reckoned with whenever it’s necessary.  For instance, I can become as fierce as a tiger, when it comes to my children.  (I once went toe-to-toe with a doctor, concerning my daughter’s prenatal care.  I told him I’d, personally, hold him responsible if anything happened to her, because he was trying to send my daughter home, even though she’d been sent over to the hospital for an emergency c-section!)

There have, also, been times in my life when I’ve had to take a stand for what’s right–or should I say, because of something that wasn’t right?! (I left a job I loved, because of a classroom ‘situation’ beyond my control, but I didn’t leave without taking a stand!)

2. What are two things you love about the wintertime? Or, if love feels like too strong a word, what are two things you ‘like’ about winter?

I love not having to deal with bugs (flies, gnats and mosquitoes), and I love Christmas!

3. Pomegranate, kumquat, persimmon, kiwi, and guava are all fruits said to have health benefits, particularly during the winter months. Do you have a favorite on the list? Are there any on the list you haven’t tried?

I love kiwi, but don’t care for kumquat, persimmon, or pomegranate.  I’ve never tried guava.

4. I passed a local church yesterday and noticed they had this on their outdoor sign- ‘When all else fails, do the right thing.’ Your thoughts?

My thoughts are ‘do the right thing’ in the first place, not after everything else fails– and what kind of church would put such a thing on their sign, anyway?!   (I think not one I’d want to attend)

5. Do you ski? According to one list I’ve seen, the top 5 ski destinations for 2014 are-St. Anton Austria, Whistler Canada, Cortina Italy, Tahoe USA, and Zermatt Switzerland. Of the five listed, which would you most like to visit? We can make skiing optional if that helps the non-skiers with their answer.

I’ve never skied, nor have I ever wanted to.  Of the five destinations listed, I’d choose Tahoe USA–because it’s the closest destination, and I don’t particularly enjoy traveling.  Once I got there, I’d be a spectator, not a skier, and I’d be perfectly content to drink hot cocoa and watch.

6. What’s the last thing you looked for online? (Besides my blog!)

I’ve been looking at some infrared heaters.

7. What saying, slogan, quote, or motto have you seen lately that inspires you for the new year?

999136_721867081156712_1147850920_n

Random:

I found the above quote on Facebook, last night, and it ‘spoke’ to me.  So many things are ‘up in the air’ for our family, at the moment.  Ed is struggling with the decision of what to do with his parents’ home place, as well as his mother’s car (her most prized possession).  The problem is, the home place sits right in the middle of the old family farm, where most of our family lives, so we don’t want just anyone living there, but nobody in the family is interested in buying it, at this time.  I hope before the end of 2014, all of these situations will have been resolved and we can move forward.

There’s also another situation facing our family, in 2014.  Our son-in-law has now been out of work for about a month.  He did contract work at a nearby military base, but his company’s contract ran out in mid-December.  Fortunately, our SIL had enough leave accumulated to provide his family with a pay check through Christmas.  He had to apply for unemployment assistance, this week.

We all know what the situation of the government is, concerning money, so I don’t know when, or if, he’ll get his old job back.  I’m praying for him to be able to find work  soon.  We’re going to have faith that God will provide, and things will work out how they’re supposed to, but prayers sure would be appreciated for these tough situations facing our family.

Published in: on January 15, 2014 at 9:08 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/01/15/hello-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s such a hard thing to be out of work when you desperately want to be working. I will pray something works out for your brother in law.

  2. Definitely praying for your family. I love that saying, too … it gives me hope.

  3. I’ll be praying for your family. Great answer to the winter question. I’m really enjoying a lack of bugs since we moved to Michigan! : )

  4. I’ll pray for your son-in-law’s job situation. My husband just started a new job last week and we are grateful knowing there are not many jobs out there. Keep the faith that God will provide. He is so good!

  5. Just prayed for your son’s job. That’s a great quote and one I need to remember.

  6. I love Christmas too, best thing about Winter! I’m surprised how many people haven’t tried those fruits including me on a few of them. I agree, do the right thing first. Love your quote. Praying that your SIL will find work soon.

  7. Prayers lifted for your concerns. It was an interesting Hodgepodge this week and I enjoyed reading yours! I have no desire to ski, ever again, and really don’t want to ever see snow again!

  8. Your quote speaks to me. I hope your BIL’s situation works out quickly.

  9. I love your quote. Maybe you could rent the house to someone and your SIL can keep it maintained. Everything works out in the end.

  10. 1st of all… guava is nasty! Okay, maybe it’s not quite that bad, but I have texture issues and the inside squishy part sends me over the top!

    Not trying to scare you with the chickens. If you already have part of the area able to be partitioned off it might be easy. Easier still though if you could get fertilized eggs and let a brooding hen just hatch them out. She’d protect them and help them integrate into the group.

    Or you could just let a brooding hen set for a few weeks on non-fertilized eggs (just don’t forget to properly dispose of those eggs when you are done), buy some baby chicks and slip them under her in the dark. Since she has no experience hatching eggs, generally they take them and raise them as their own. My dad did this with baby ducklings once and it worked well! Except the poor hen nearly had a heart attack when the baby ducks climbed into the dog’s water and was running around them clucking like a “mad hen” to get them to come back to her!

    Have fun any way you decide to do it!

  11. Will be praying.


Leave a Reply

