Can I Request A Do-Over?

Have you ever experienced a weekend, and at the end of it, you felt like you needed a ‘do-over’?  That’s how I feel about this past weekend!  I definitely could use a ‘do-over’!

The weekend got off to a great start, on Friday.  I made crock pot bar-b-que, and two [of our three] grown children, and their families joined us for supper.  The girls furnished some side dishes to go along with the bar-b-que.  I had hoped that our youngest son and family, who live out-of-town, would, also, join us for supper.  They decided to wait and come to town on Saturday instead.

On Saturday morning, Ed was hoping to be able to burn off the field in front of us, along with one of the piles of discarded pines from last summer’s tree cutting.  Saturday turned out to be windy and cold, so Ed’s plans had to be put on hold.  Instead, he settled for pruning the pear trees, removing a couple of dead trees, and meeting with the carpenter about building a cover for our front porch.

Meanwhile, I continued the dreaded task of cleaning, sorting, and getting ready for the future ‘estate sale’ at my late mother-in-law’s house.  It’s never a good day when I have to continue this task, since it always leaves me feeling a bit sad and over-whelmed.  Unfortunately, nobody else seems willing to do this job, except for Ed and me.

It didn’t help my day when ‘Trouble’, the cat, seemed to be unusually lonely, and tried to come home with me when I left my MIL’s house. Trouble hopped on the front seat, ready to ride, and was a bit indignant when I left her behind.  (I’ve taken her home with me, on numerous occasions, but she always refuses to stay because of my other cats.)  Trouble is what makes me saddest, and concerns me the most, concerning my MIL’s empty house.

Our youngest son and his family arrived, after lunch, on Saturday. Later, the rest of the family came over to visit with them.  The baby, Evan, wasn’t in a good mood, so his smiles were few and far in between, and he fussed a little more than usual.  Some of the other grandchildren were a bit ‘whiny’, as well.  The day just wasn’t going smoothly.  Then, to top it all off, a disagreement broke out between two grown siblings and one spouse.  Unfortunately, the disagreement escalated and I became quite distraught by the end of the visit.  Needless to say, the day ended on a bit of a sour note, and this mother spent a restless Saturday night.  Sigh.

After Saturday’s fiasco, Sunday should have been a better day, right?  Nope.  This time, Ed accompanied me to his mother’s house, and turned the water on so we could wash some dishes and wipe out the cabinets.  What we quickly discovered was a busted pipe under the house!  Probably the result of last week’s hard freeze.  There wasn’t a lot we could do about a busted water pipe, on Sunday, so we quickly turned the water back off.  We cleaned things, the best we could, using several gallon jugs of water brought from our house.    I couldn’t help but think- these are that times which try men’s souls…

I’m tired.  I’m stressed, and I tell you, I could really use a weekend ‘do over’, in the worst way, but there’s no use crying over spilled milk, so let’s move on to The Monday Quiz.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Acting Balanced

1. Happy Martin Luther King, Jr. Day from the US!  Do you have a favorite MLK quote?
No, I don’t.
2. Wayne told Heather to get the questions up early because we’d be exhausted from our trip… she didn’t listen to his good advice, so MQAM is late – when was the last time you didn’t listen to good advice?
Gee, there have been so many times…  The one thing that’s  foremost in my mind is not listening to Ed when he wanted to cover the front porch, when it was first built!  Now, six years later, I’ve lived to regret that decision.  Now that we have no trees, the porch is in the sun, all day.  At night, it’s covered with dew, and is wet and slippery.  In the morning, it’s frozen and slippery, and that’s why we’re having to add a cover!
 
3. Since we talked about Movies last week, lets talk TV this week – what show or shows do you wish was still on TV that ended or was cancelled?

Ed and I enjoyed watching Under the Dome, over the summer.  The show’s drama and suspense was pretty good.  Although it was a bit on the ‘trashy’ side, I enjoyed watching The Client List, too.
4. What is your personal anthem or theme song?
 This isn’t normally my personal anthem, but, following the weekend I just endured, a certain little jingle is running through my head today.



Published in: on January 20, 2014 at 10:17 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/can-i-request-a-do-over/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That was a very busy weekend for you. I feel sad about the cat and so sorry about the water pipe. Hoping you have a wonderful week with less stress.

  2. I am so sorry you and Ed are the only ones willing to do what needs to be done.

  3. So sorry your weekend went the way it did. Hopefully your week will be better.

  4. Sorry your weekend was not the best, but your video from HeeHaw gave me a laugh and a brief stroll down memory lane!

  5. I would give you a do -over if I could. Sibling squabbles are always a bummer.

  6. I hope the sibs patch things up. It does sound like a trying weekend. Hoping your week is better. Hugs!

  7. Oh my gosh! Was that Hee Haw? I used to love that show, though I don’t remember too much about now. 😦

    Sorry to hear about the conflict in your family this weekend. I hope it gets resolved quickly.

  8. Had to chuckle at your theme song! I know all the words! LOL So sorry you had such a bad weekend. There are many times I wish for a do-over. Hugs.

  9. I’m so sad that you had such a weekend … I would certainly give you a do-over if it were in my power … the family conflict is especially upsetting … hope they have had enough time to think things out and will make amends. Praying that your week will be much better than your weekend. {{hug}}


Leave a Reply

