Beginning The Week With A Quiz…

Acting Balanced

Hello there!   As usual, I’m beginning my week with ‘The Monday Quiz’, over at Acting Balanced. Who doesn’t love a quiz, first thing on Monday morning, right?  At least we should know the correct answers to this quiz, since this quiz is all about us!

1. Happy February! It’s Canned Food Month… who knew? Do you can your own foods? Do you eat canned foods?

So far, I’ve learned how to ‘can’ tomatoes, green beans, potatoes, pears, and beef stew in Mason jars, and I enjoy doing it.  For now, I usually put the rest of our ‘canned’ vegetables in our freezer.  Since we began growing our own garden, again, I’ve been doing some ‘canning’ during the summers.  We do have some actual cans of food in the pantry, as well.  Pork & beans, tuna, mixed vegetables, and fruit cocktail are a few of the canned foods I buy and use on a regular basis.

2. February 3rd is also the day the music died – Buddy Holly, Richie Valens and the Big Bopper died in a plane crash in 1959. – what other great musicians would you like to honor today?

Well, if we’re talking great musicians who have passed away, I’d add Roy Orbison to my list, and, of course, Elvis.  I liked Jim Croce, as well.  All three men had a unique sound.

3. Do you listen to the radio? Internet radio?

Occasionally, I’ll listen to the radio in my car, along with all of the commercials and talking, but when I’m at home, I listen to satellite music via Dish Network because it’s nice not to have to listen to all of the talking!

4. Both Wiarton Willie (Canada) and Puxotawny Phil (US) saw their shadows and predict six more weeks of winter – do you agree?

Of course, I agree!  Who am I to disagree with Puxotawny Phil?  I don’t know how everyone else feels, but spring can’t get here soon enough, this year!

The weekend recap:

Friday morning began as another cold and cloudy day, but by lunchtime, the sun found its way through the clouds and the afternoon warmed up nicely.  I spent part of the afternoon at the dentist, getting my teeth cleaned, but, thankfully, I didn’t have any dental problems!  Ed came home from work and jumped on his tractor.  We thought we were over the cold, gloomy weather for a while.

Imagine our surprise, when we woke up to rain on Saturday!  For the third weekend in a row, Ed didn’t get to burn the field off.  He wasn’t a happy camper!

Our Saturday got even more gloomy when we received a call telling us that Micah, the son of Ed’s former co-worker, had lost his battle with lymphoma.  A little over a year ago, Angie, had given up her position as a Nuclear Medicine tech, to devote all of her time to her son, after learning that son, Micah, had a rare, and aggressive form of lymphoma.  Cancer is always bad, and death is always sad, but it’s always the worst whenever it involves a child.  Micah recently celebrated only his seventh birthday. Our hearts go out to Micah’s family.

On Sunday, Ed and I decided to venture into the city to see our son, Brad, who was home babysitting Evan while Jennifer pulled a weekend shift at work.  It had been two weeks since we’d seen Evan, and boy had he grown and changed a lot during that time!   It took Evan a few minutes to warm up to us, but once he did, he cooed and smiled a lot, and of course, I enjoyed every minute of it!

100_3490

Go Team Bacon!

I am so proud of Brad.  He’s a ‘hands on’ dad, who can bathe, feed, and diaper little Evan like a pro!  (Brad reminds me so much of the way Ed was, when our babies were small.)  Evan’s a lucky little fellow, to have Brad for his dad.  I’ve discovered that one of the best rewards of growing older (besides grandchildren) is getting to watch my three children grow up and become good parents.  Ed and I have been triple blessed!

Ed and I stopped by Wal-mart, Home Depot, Little Caesar’s, and the Dollar Store, on the way home from Brad’s house.  Wal-mart was absolutely CRAZY, and we couldn’t out of there fast enough!  Enough said about that.

We noticed Home Depot had just gotten in a new shipment of trees, so we decided to stop and check them out.  I found an Eastern Red bud tree, so Ed bought it for me, to replace ours, which died late last summer.  Ed said the tree could be my early Valentine’s Day gift, and I suppose that’s appropriate since its leaves are heart-shaped!  It was a rather large tree, and just barely fit into my car, which made for an interesting ride home!  There’s nothing quite like riding home with the top of a tree stuck in between the front bucket seats!

After we got back home, Ed planted the ‘Valentine’s Day tree’, then we ended the weekend by dusting ‘the girls’ (aka the hens) for mites again, along with eating pizza and watching the Superbowl game. Unfortunately, we enjoyed the game about as much as ‘the girls’ enjoyed being dusted for mites 😦    

The Superbowl game was definitely not an enjoyable one!   The commercials were only ‘so-so’ and I think they saved most of the best ones for last.  My favorites were Budweiser’s ‘Best Buds’ commercial (the puppy and the Clydesdales), and the Doritos commercial (with the little cowgirl riding the dog).  I liked nothing about the game, especially the score.

Well, that’s my weekend.  So how was yours?

Published in: on February 3, 2014 at 9:32 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/03/beginning-the-week-with-a-quiz/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Evan is such a cutie!

  2. My weekend was busy and I agree with you about the football game, and the commercials!

  3. I always enjoy my visits here…..loved hearing about Brad and Evan.
    Mama Bear

  4. Yep. The Super Bowl was awful, but loved the Clydesdale commercial!

  5. I have never canned anything! I do eat a few canned things but not anywhere as may as we use to. I seldom listen to the radio except for during the Holiday’s when they play the non-stop Christmas music. How awesome that you got to see little Evan. I agree, the game was a bit of a disappointment but had a nice time with my family.

  6. Thought the game was awesome!! Could not have been a better outcome! Loved the Clydesdale commercial too!

  7. Brad sure looks like a great dad. His wife is sooo lucky 🙂

  8. I’m not a football fan, so the outcome of the game was no big deal for me. I thought the ads with the dogs were the best … the Doritos, the Budweiser, and the Audi ones were my favorites … the rest were so-so.

  9. We watched the game but it was no fun, I did like the ads however. So glad you are getting better weather, we are having more snow up here and I am so NOT happy about it at all.

  10. The Denver upset was disheartening. I felt so bad for Peyton, but there was only so much he could do with no runners and blockers. Let’s keep our fingers cross that Peyton has a good 2014 season. He is a phenomenal quarterback and an over-all good guy!

  11. Evan is precious. I quit watching superbowl well before halftime. It was too painful. You and Ed are indeed blessed with your kids and grands. This comes with a prayer for Micah’s family.


Leave a Reply

