The 161st Wednesday Hodgepodge…

It seems like just yesterday, when I was participating in the Hodgepodge…  Now it’s a brand new week,  a brand new month, and I’m participating in a brand new Hodgepodge–the 161st one!  Wow!  Once again, our hostess, Joyce, has provided us with some great new questions, so I can’t wait to get started!  Thank you,  Joyce!

1. Are we always responsible for our actions? Are there any exceptions?

Sometimes, certain circumstances might play a role in our actions, but, ultimately, I believe we are responsible for our actions.

2. Has anyone from your home town become famous?

Yes, believe it or not, a few famous people actually hail from our little neck of the woods, with a population of 5,173!

Shannon Sharpe, 2011 Pro Football Hall of Fame Member, and his brother Sterling Sharpe ( former Bronco and Raven NFL player) grew up in my home town.

Miss Georgia, 1999, Osjha Anderson Domenicone, grew up here, as well.

Entertainment Tonight’s correspondent, Brooke Anderson,  lived and grew up in the neighboring town (population 2,276), seven miles away from our house.  Brooke and our children attended the same Christian school.

Another soon-to-be famous person, who lived here as a child, is country singer, Cole Swindell.  Cole is currently on tour with country music singer, Luke Bryan, and has a popular song on country radio, called ‘Chillin’ It’.

3. January was National Slow Cooker month. Do you own a slow cooker/crock pot? Did you use it last month? What’s a favorite dish you make using a slow cooker or crock pot?

Actually, I own several crock pots, in various sizes.  I used one of them, last month, to make ‘Crock Pot Pulled Pork’, which, also, happens to be my favorite dish, made in a crock pot.  All you need is a Boston Butt, a bottle of bar-b-que sauce, and a couple of slices of onion.  Salt and pepper the Boston Butt, place it in the crock, add the sliced onion, and cover the Boston Butt with the entire bottle of bar-b-que sauce.  Cook all day, until done.  Remove the cooked Boston Butt from the sauce, when it’s done, and shred the meat, using two forks.

4. How do you feel about private companies collecting data about you?

I don’t like it!  These days, I’m afraid,  our privacy is being seriously compromised. It seems like someone is always ‘looking over our shoulder’!

I absolutely hate it when I’ve looked at an item on-line, then get an email trying to sell me an item similar to those I’ve been looking at, or while I’m shopping, when that little message comes up on the screen wanting to know if I need any help.  Give me some privacy, please!

5. The Games of the 2014 Winter Olympics kick off with their opening ceremony this coming Friday….will you be watching? Which Winter Olympic event would you most like to see in person? Have you ever been to Russia? Any desire to go, Olympics or otherwise?

I don’t know if I’ll watch the Opening Ceremony, but I plan to watch some of the events.  I’d love to watch Figure Skating, in person, especially the Pairs competition.  I’ve never been to Russia, nor do I have any desire to go!

6. Share a good or bad sports related memory from your childhood or teen years.

My worst sports memory, ever, didn’t involve me, but took place during one of our oldest son’s high school basketball games.  Even though both schools were private Christian schools, the other school had a reputation for ‘playing dirty’.  Sure enough, about mid-way through the game, one of their players plowed into one of our best players, and knocked him down to the floor, obviously on purpose.  Our player landed face-first, and I watched, in horror, as several of his teeth went flying across the basketball court.  I believe his jaw was broken in the fall, too.

7. What’s a must have song for you on a work out play list? If you don’t work out, run, swim, bike, walk, or anything else that could be construed as ‘exercise’, then what’s a song that motivates you to at least get up off the couch?

OK, promise you won’t laugh?!

Years ago, when I would walk on my treadmill, on a regular basis, ‘Everybody’ by the Backstreet Boys was one of my favorite songs to walk  to.  Even now, when I feel like walking, I like to play the Backstreet Boys’ CD.  I still love their music!  It has a great beat.

Random:

I recorded my conversation with grandson, Evan, during our recent visit to his house.  You’ll have to overlook the way our conversation ends.  After all, babies will be babies 🙂

Published in: on February 5, 2014 at 8:44 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/05/the-161st-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I know who Cole Swindell is…I’m a big country music fan! In fact, I plan to see Luke Bryan on tour…so will also see Cole. And, I am going to the CMA Festival in Nashville in June, and I bet Cole will be performing there too.

  2. I loved the video of you and Evan. It made me laugh at the end. I love starting the day with a good laugh.

    Have a great day.

  3. I don’t like that so much of what I do on line is tracked either. Just leave me along all ready!!!!!!!

  4. Love me some Backstreet Boys! No shame there : )

  5. I’m back!!!!! Yay!

  6. Your little grandson is TOO CUTE! Gimme some Backstreet Boys, any time, any day!

  7. Hi! Thanks for visiting me. I live in Georgia, too…Warner Robins. Are you close by? Your grandson is precious. How old is he? Our newest one was born Dec 21. We have another one due in May. Happy to meet you! 🙂

  8. That video of Mimi and Evan is the best!!! So cute. You’re right. Babies will be babies, even when they’re at their most adorable.

  9. Oh my goodness, Evan is so adorable!! The rest of your post can go away – the video is all that matters! How cute!! I actually enjoyed your Hodgepodge answers. Joyce gave us yet another great group of questions!

  10. Your crockpot recipe sounds delicious and wonderfully easy! You are not doing my efforts to shed a couple more Christmas pounds any good. Now I am craving a pulled pork sandwich!

  11. Yes there is way too much information out there about us and the Target situation got me thinking about it a lot! That video with Evan is just so adorable and I love hearing your voice too…..

  12. #4…yes indeed. Privacy is certainly seriously compromised!! And I don’t like it one bit.

    Ohhhhhhh, me being a Bronco Fan, I LOVED Shannon Sharpe!!

  13. HA! HA! I expected that’s what he might do!

    It was good to hear your voice! Love the southern accent! I’m sure if you were to hear my talk I’d probably have an accent too, since I’m from the Western side of the states. 🙂


Leave a Reply

