A Simple Woman’s Daybook Post…

simple-woman-daybook-large
FOR TODAY
Outside my window…
It is dark , cloudy, and beginning to sprinkle rain (again!)  On one side of the house, I can see the Dogwood  and the Eastern Redbud trees that Ed planted, on Saturday.  On the other side of the house, I can see ‘my girls’ (aka the hens) busily scratching and searching for food.  Several cats are gathered beside the back door, as well.  The Japanese Magnolia is just beginning to bloom.
I am thinking…
about how everybody in our household is getting old–including our pets!  Both of our dogs will turn ten this year, as well as the majority of our twelve cats.  Our two oldest cats are ages  twelve and thirteen!  Throw in the parakeet who is nine, and we’re a household of ‘oldies but goodies’!
 
I am thankful…
for a wonderful husband and provider, three healthy children, (who’ve grown up to be loving spouses and parents), four healthy grandchildren, a warm/cool house to live in (that’s paid for), plenty of food to eat, and, that my chronic health issues have settled down, somewhat, at least for the moment.
 
In the kitchen…
the refrigerator is filled with left-overs from Sunday’s family lunch.  There’s roast beef, fried chicken, macaroni & cheese, green beans, and more.  I shouldn’t  have to cook again until Thursday!
I am wearing…
a blue flowered nightgown, which is too big for me.  I’ve dropped a size, but am still wearing many of my old things, for now.
I am creating…
nothing at the moment, but a few days ago,  I stained a couple of sun catchers (for Easter) to hang on my year ’round tree.
I am going…
to lose my mind if winter doesn’t hurry up and get over!  We are under a “winter weather watch” again because we may get some sleet tomorrow.  Yesterday the temperatures were in the 70’s.  Today the temperatures are in the 40’s.  Only in the south!
I am wondering…
if the summer is going to be extremely hot, since the winter has been unusually cold.
I am reading…
‘Service:  A Navy SEAL at War’ by Marcus Luttrell
and
The Duck Commander Family:  How Faith, Family, and Ducks Built a Dynasty by Willie and Korie Robertson
Both books are autobiographies, and are very good.  ‘Service’ is the follow up book to ‘Lone Survivor’, while ‘The Duck Commander Family’ is son, Willie’s, account of growing up in the Robertson family.
I am hoping…
to hear, soon, from the carpenter who’s supposed to be doing the renovations on our front porch!  I’m ready to get the project underway.
 
I am looking forward to…
getting some new baby chicks in the spring.  They’re so precious and cute.
I am learning
 to be a lot more patient than I used to be.  I suppose this comes with age, since we do things a lot slower, now!
Around the house…
a few things need to be put away, especially in the pool room.  The pool room is our ‘catch all’ room.  It’s the home for Ed’s pool table–and everything from canned vegetables (stored underneath the table) to grandchildren’s toys.  There’s also a computer, a treadmill, a stereo, a futon, a cedar chest, and a baby swing in there, too!  Yeah, it’s a bit crowded.
I am pondering…
what changes the year 2014 might bring.  Ed will turn 65, this year, and I’ll turn 60.  Milestone birthdays for us both.
A favorite quote for today…
(in honor of Valentine’s Day)
  “All you need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt.”  Charles Schulz  
One of my favorite things…
is planting seeds, and watching them grow.  I’m currently growing some seedlings that will be transplanted into our garden in about six weeks.
A few plans for the rest of the week:
I’m supposed to babysit grandson, Chase, on Thursday morning, while his mom attends brother, Caden’s Valentine’s Day party, then I plan to bake Ed’s Valentine’s Day cake on Friday.
A peek into my day…
I begin my day by feeding all of our animals.  First, come the chickens, then the cats and dogs.  It takes twenty minutes to get everybody fed, and the chicken house swept out.  Afterward, I’ll eat breakfast, then usually spend the next couple of hours blogging, after first putting some laundry on to wash.  Eventually,  I’ll do my household chores, and cook supper.
From my photo files…
100_3500
That’s  me, yesterday, holding one of our turnips from the garden!  
Thanks to Peggy for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook.
Published in: on February 11, 2014 at 9:00 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/a-simple-womans-daybook-post-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Love seeing some green! All we have here is white and it will be awhile before we see some green. You did remind me that I better get serious though and get some seedlings started. Have a great week!

  2. Now that’s a big turnip! I need to see if that Duck Dynasty book is on Kindle. I would like to read that. Have a great day.

  3. That is one HUGE turnip!! My goodness!! Nice to see you, and some of the chickens! Our cats would not like being fed after the livestock! LOL Have a good evening!

  4. Good grief, that’s a HUGE turnip! What are you feeding your vegetables?! haha
    I just downloaded 9 freebies on my Kindle; we’ll see if any of them are worth reading. I seem to discard well over half the freebies. At my age there is not enough time to read poorly written material, so if I’m not “into” a book by the end of chapter one, forget about it. But I have found some good ones too. Every once in a while an established author will make one of their books available for free, in hopes of hooking some new readers. I discovered Louise Penny that way, and have really enjoyed her books set in Canada. So I’m always hopeful!

  5. Wow…you have quite a menagerie!! I turned 60 in Sept…it’s not so bad! Glad you are feeling well and that you are getting a break from kitchen duty! Also, wanted to tell you…if I can redo furniture, you can!! I am not very good at painting and am not very patient. I did research and watched tutorials about chalk paint…that helped. I hope you decide to give it a try. Let me know if you do! 🙂

  6. What a lovely glimpse into your beautiful life.
    Hope the winter storm passes you by. We’re bracing for yet more now on Thursday. It’s one of those winters where the snow never melts so you run out of places to shovel it and end up living withing walls of snow!

  7. That is a huge turnip! Do you have to not pick eggs for awhile to allow chicks or are you selective about the ones you take? I love pics of little chicks. They are darling. I really enjoyed your daybook. BTW I popped over from SWD. Have a blessed month!

  8. Hello there :)Popping in from
    http://oursimplelife2015.blogspot.com/
    I found you through the Daybook.
    Lovely blog :).


Leave a Reply

