Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

I can’t believe another week has come and gone!  These days, it feels like someone has pressed the fast-forward button on life.  I wish things would slow down just a bit.

Since I’ve been MIA for most of the week,  I’ll attempt to ‘catch up’ through Friday Fragments.  I’m linking my fragments up with Mrs. 4-4-4-4 over at halfpastkissintime.

Valentine’s Day– What a day that turned out to be!  I made three trips to town before lunch, that day.  Each trip was fifteen miles round trip!  After the second trip, I proceeded into the kitchen, to bake Ed’s Valentine’s Day cake.  It was then I discovered that I was missing a main ingredient for the cake–after I’d just gotten home from the grocery store!  Believe it or not, I managed to make the third trip to town, and had the cake finished before Ed arrived home at four.

Valentine’s Day Cards- When Ed and I exchanged cards, this year, we discovered our cards carried similar messages.  I guess we’ve been living together so long, we’ve begun to have similar thought patterns.

Great Weather- I can’t begin to tell you how beautiful the weather has been, this week!  Warm temperatures (70’s) and lots of sunshine.  Unfortunately, it’s now coming to an end, but I must keep reminding myself it’s still winter.  It’s supposed to rain today, then turn cooler.

Gardening Fever- Nothing brings on ‘gardening fever’ faster than sunshine and 70 degree temperatures!   Ed and I actually planted some onions, Irish potatoes, carrots, and garden peas in our garden, this week.  I have tomatoes, cabbage, lettuce, and peppers growing in Styrofoam cups.  They’ll be transplanted after the danger of frost has passed.

Out-of-shape- Ed and I quickly realized how ‘sorry’ we’ve both gotten during the winter.  Our first day of yard work had both of us quickly searching for a place to rest.  Each day has gotten a little better, but we still have a way to go!  Who needs a gym?  Just grab a shovel, rake, or a hoe!  Hopefully, we’ll both be ‘fit as a fiddle’ in another month or so.

Spring Cleaning- Nothing gives me ‘spring cleaning fever’ quicker than sunshine and warm temperatures!  I spent one entire morning doing some spring cleaning, this week.  I sat on the floor and actually cleaned around the handles of the dresser with Q tips!  How crazy is that?!  It’s amazing how much dust I collected, but nobody will ever know, except me.

Fugitives- One of the two men who escaped from our county jail, a month ago, was captured this week, but the other still remains at large.  He’s the same guy who committed several robberies, and caused that massive man hunt, a year ago, in my neck of the woods.  I think we should start calling this guy ‘Houdini’!   Houdini’s buddy was caught in Texas, and we live in southeastern Georgia.  Now there’s a $2500 reward for information leading to the capture of ‘Houdini’.

Got eggs?- The spring-like temperatures and warmer days have spurred ‘the girls’ to increase their egg production again.  They’ve been on a winter hiatus, producing only one egg a day.  I actually had to buy eggs to make Ed’s Valentine’s Day cake!  I can’t complain though, since those five hens have produced almost 2000 eggs, in less than two years.  Our son, Brad, sent me this cartoon the other day:

1618559_580295292315_743384588_n

And I think I’ll end this session of Friday Fragments on that note!   Have a great weekend, everybody.  It’ll be Monday, again, before we know it…

Published in: on February 21, 2014 at 8:35 am  Comments (18)  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/friday-fragments-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yes, t has been nice here in GA this week and it sounds like you have taken advantage of it…good for you! Hubby has tomato and bean seeds in dirt cups, too. A fellow blogger, Kim, who lives in Calif says with the drought there, tomato prices will prob be high, so I hope ours do well. We do love our tomatoes! Love the egg/chicken cartoon. Our son who lives in Hawkinsville has chickens…I know it would make him laugh!!

  2. Hahaha, that’s funny. Go Henrietta, that’s the easy way 😉 Wow, I guess the county jail needs better security? Or this guy could be hired by the local law to show them how folks escape and bust other criminals?? Hollywood says that works 😉 It’s been warm in SC too. But since we are renting, there is no desire to deal with the garden here 😉

  3. Thank you for the laugh! We don’t eat eggs because of hubby’s allergies however we do like chicken.

  4. I’ve always said that gardening is HARD work… when I work on the landscape, my butt & back of my legs burn for DAYS!!!

  5. Love the hen joke! Too funny!!

    Man i need to do some major spring cleaning. We haven’t felt well this week and things have really slipped. You could probably write your name in the dust and then erase and write it again. haha

  6. Great joke – I’m going to pin it.
    Yes both the yard and cleaning work can register pains in old muscles, and joints. The dirt nobody will ever know – my wife has been known to take pictures of it. I find that weird.

  7. Lots of great updates. Have a wonderful weekend!

  8. I know! It’s crazy how the weekend flies by!

    That was a great comic!

    We’re having beautiful weather here too, and it’s supposed to last through Wednesday. Hopefully we can get the rain they are predicting for Thursday, though, because I don’t want to think of what summer will be like without more water in our area.

  9. Hmmm. That is one smart chicken in that cartoon. I hope your garden yields a great harvest. There’s nothing quite like growing your own food.

  10. Love that comic!

  11. You know how to hurt a gal, don’t you? temps in the 70’s! well at least I found a plus on my side. All the shoveling will keep me fit for gardening – if the snow cover ever melts!

  12. LOVE the cartoons…made me laugh.
    As for your baking the Valentine’s cake and the numerous trips to the store…this is SO me. But, thankfully, the closest store for me is only 2 miles away.

    Gardening…yes, can’t wait.

  13. I hear you about wishing life would just slow down a bit! I am glad, too, to have had spring-like weather; I am so much more productive when I can do things without freezing or bundling up! Frustrating about your multiple grocery trips in one morning, but kuddos on getting your cake finished!

  14. We have sunny skies and high 30’s right now, which is so nice. Just got my car washed! Course there’s snow in the forecast for Wednesday, and I remind myself that even the calendar won’t say spring for another month. We’re a long way from frost free : ) Have a great weekend!

  15. Good to catch up!! Love the giggle at the end!

  16. Multiple trips to town– I yiyi– I do stuff like that all the time and it drives me crazy! But I’m glad you got the Valentine’s cake done in time. I’m sure it was delicious.

    I laughed at your cleaning the handles no one will notice– But it’s so nice things are all tidy and neat.

    Stopping by from Friday Fragments. Happy weekend.

  17. That cartoon is adorable!

    I hate when I start a project and realize I am home without a necessary ingredient/item. I love that you still went back for it. And I love that you shared a similar message of love!

    Hope you have a great weekend!
    🙂
    Traci

  18. I came to NC a few weeks ago to be with my friend on Hospice and it has snowed 8 inches, iced was 70 degrees yesterday and now it is cold again and Joelle is still hanging on.
    I have dodged the 3 plus feet of snow in Philadelphia.
    I remember when you wrote about that fugitive. Creepy. I hope they catch him.
    Have a great week!


Leave a Reply

