Miscellaneous Monday…

Didn’t I tell you to enjoy your weekend, because Monday would be here before we knew it?  Well, it’s here!!!  Ed’s gone to work, and the house is cool and quiet.  It’s shaping up to be a beautiful day.  The temperature is already 65 degrees, and it isn’t even 9 o’clock yet!

It was a pretty nice weekend, here in our neck of the woods.  It was quiet and slow-paced.  We had some rain, and we had some sunshine–the best of both worlds.  We didn’t have much family time, this weekend, though.  Although the slow pace was nice, I found myself missing the ‘hustle bustle’ of our children and grandchildren.

Believe it or not, Ed was finally able to burn off the field in front of our house!  It rained on Friday, but Saturday morning dawned sunny, with very little breeze blowing.  Perfect conditions for burning!   In case you’re wondering why we burn, it’s to help keep down weeds and undergrowth.

Ed set the fire shortly after lunch, with the help of our son-in-law, Clint.  Meanwhile, I burned some leaves in our backyard, and visited with my daughter.   By the way, it’s legal to burn here, as long as you get a burn permit.  I’m not sure how much our neighbors, to the south, enjoyed the smoke from our efforts though.

In addition to burning off the field, Ed attempted to burn two of the [three] piles of trees that we had cut down last summer.  At first, the trees went up in a blaze of glory, but didn’t come anywhere near close to burning up.  I guess we’ll be having a few more bonfires in our future.

I came close to bringing home some baby chicks, on Saturday morning.  I didn’t realize they’d have chicks in Tractor Supply this early, so it caught me a bit off-guard.  When I finally decided to buy some, I discovered the best of the chicks had already been sold, and only the runts were left.  My soft heart almost made me want to bring home the runts because I felt sorry for them–but I didn’t.  To tell you the truth, I’m a bit torn about getting new chicks.  It’s a bit like deciding whether or not to have another baby!

This weekend, I, also, spent a little time continuing to clean and sort out ‘stuff’ at Ed’s mom’s house.  I have a difficult time making myself go up there, because it really makes me sad to go through her things.  Every time I go, I find some kind of memento that makes me miss my MIL even more. While I was sorting and cleaning, inside, Ed was crawling under the house, in an attempt to fix the previously busted water line.  He found the problem, but didn’t have what he needed to repair it.  Ed later shared with me that he lost his pocket knife while under the house, and had to make a second trip to retrieve it–nearly getting stuck under there!

On that note, I’ll switch gears a bit, and join ‘The Monday Quiz’ over at ActingBalanced.  Thanks to Heather and her husband, Wayne, for hosting this fun meme.

Acting Balanced

1. February 24th is National Tortilla Chip Day – do you like them? What do you pair with Tortilla Chips?

Man, we sure do have some crazy ‘National Days’!  I do like tortilla chips, and I pair them with salsa, taco soup, or, sometimes, with chili.

2. February 26th is Carnival Day (and also Judy from Retired Not Tired’s birthday- coincidence???) What is your favorite carnival ride, game or food?

First of all, Happy Birthday, Judy!

Now, if you’d asked me this question 40 years ago, my answers would have been quite different!  Back then, I would’ve said my favorite ride was the roller coaster, or something equally as wild and crazy.  These days, my favorite ride would be the Ferris Wheel, or something equally tame.  As for my favorite carnival food, I’ve always loved candy apples, but I don’t eat them anymore, since it’s not worth breaking a tooth over.  Pick Up the Ducks is my favorite carnival game.

3. Nascar has started for another year… albeit in a wet way… are you a fan?

Since I have two sons, I’ve watched several races, over the years, but I’ve never really been a big fan of NASCAR.

4. Other than your blog, do you actively participate in social media?

Yes.  I have Facebook and Twitter accounts.

Have a great Monday!

Published in: on February 24, 2014 at 9:57 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/02/24/miscellaneous-monday-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I like candy apples from the carnival as well. Ferris wheels would be my second choice however roller coasters are definitely off the list.

  2. Sounds like a very productive weekend. I love the Tilt-A-Whirl……

  3. Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. Hoping the memories that are coming up while cleaning your MIL’s are all happy ones. May God bless you in your efforts.

  4. It is always good to catch up on your news. I need to get to the Monday Quiz!!

  5. Miscellaneous questions & comments from the city mouse: Very interesting about the burning process.
    If you got chicks, would the girls be jealous and peck at them, if not while chicks, when they grew up to be other “girls”
    and this may surprise you, but t his ol’ city slicker is a NASCAR fan!

  6. I thought you said it was a slow paced weekend….sounds pretty busy to me! It’s sweet that you were close to your MIL. I can imagine that would be an emotional job. And I’m with you on the ferris wheel! 🙂

  7. This is the second reference to Carnival Day that I’ve seen online. I’ve never heard of Carnival Day before … I don’t know what it is … guess I’d better go visit Google and find out.

  8. What a great weekend you had, and I love the temps you are having. We are back in the 20’s and still have lots of snow everywhere.


Leave a Reply

