‘Marching’ Into Another Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Can you believe this is the 165th edition of the Wednesday Hodgepodge?  Me either!  Our hostess, Joyce, continues to out-do herself each week!  I really enjoyed her post, on Tuesday, explaining how she comes up with the questions, along with how she tries to visit everyone who participates.  I’ll say this for Joyce, when she does something, she really does it well–and I can’t say “thank you” enough for that!  So, once again, thank you, Joyce, for hosting the Hodgepodge!  (You can join in by clicking on the button at the top of this post.)

Here are Joyce’s questions for this week:

1. The expression ‘mad as a March hare’ originated with a fictional character who is distracted and frantic. When were you last ‘mad as a March hare’ and what was it that made you that way?

It’s been a while since I’ve been distracted or frantic, but I’m pretty sure the last time was during a family disagreement.  I really dislike any kind of discord between family members, but, sometimes, it happens.

2. Mardi Gras this year falls on Tuesday, March 4th. Have you ever been to Mardi Gras, and if so what did you think? If not, do you have any interest in going? Purple, green, and gold are the colors of Mardi Gras. Which one is most prevalent in your wardrobe? How about in your home?

No, I haven’t been to Mardi Gras, nor do I have any desire to go, simply because I don’t like crowds or intoxicated people.  I have always avoided Savannah’s annual St. Patrick’s Day Parade for the same reasons.

None of the colors mentioned are among my favorites, so I’m afraid you won’t find much of them in my wardrobe, but I do have a few gold accents sprinkled throughout my home–mostly in the form of picture frames.

3. Are you old-fashioned?

Yes, I”m very old-fashioned, and I’m proud of it!  I miss the slower, simpler, more modest times of yesteryear.  Not very much about today’s modern world appeals to me.

4. Do you carefully plan your vacations, or do you prefer the days to be more spontaneous?

I always carefully planned our family vacations, well in advance, because  I’ve never been comfortable with being spontaneous.  These days, I actually prefer day trips to vacations, because I get homesick rather quickly.

5. March is National Sauce Month…what’s your favorite sauce, and what do you most often top with this sauce?

Bar-b-Que sauce is my favorite sauce, and I enjoy eating it on top of pork or chicken.

6. What’s something that easily brings a tear to your eye?

Every single time I finish making a video montage, and watch it, I always end up shedding a few tears.  My montages are always filled with pictures from the past, so my tears are  bittersweet–for times gone by.  I miss our loved ones who are no longer with us, I miss the sweet care-free days of youth,  and I miss my little babies who are now all grown up, with babies of their own.   The montage below brings tears every single time I watch it, and I’ve watched it a lot.  Ed’s parents and family, as well as mine, are featured in the video, along with us.  Many of the pictures were taken in or around Ed’s parents’ home–the family home that now stands empty and forlorn…

7. If you could own any sports team, which one would it be and why?

I’m not much of a sports fan, so I really have no desire to own a sports team, but if I have to choose one, I’ll choose our own Georgia Bulldogs…  ‘Go Dawgs’!

Random:

Last week, my husband, Ed, shared this video montage entitled, Interview With God.  I was touched by its beauty, and by the truth in the words…  It’s well worth watching.

Published in: on March 5, 2014 at 9:24 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/03/05/marching-into-another-wednesday-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I enjoyed your post. I think we feel the same way about spontaneity (sp?) and I really like the subtitle of your blog!

  2. I’ve seen that last video before…I just stand in awe of God’s creation. The video montage you shared got me all choked up…and I don’t even know those people! 🙂

  3. I enjoyed both videos! Even not knowing who the people are in your family, it was so easy to see the love!!

  4. Home is my favorite place in the world, but I do enjoy a nice vacation.

  5. I always love your videos. We have several we’ve made and I enjoy watching them over and over. Nostalgia for a simpler time does bring a tear to the eye!

  6. I enjoy your videos and that song too!

  7. I agree, family discord is the worst. I was thinking about old fashioned in the sense of fashion so I answered wrong. I’m definitely old fashioned when it comes to many things. You made such a lovely video, beautiful memories.

  8. Oh Kathy, nostalgia is and most certainly CAN be tearful and bittersweet.

    As for Mardi Gras and New Orleans, you’re really not missing anything. I too abhor drunkards and loud obnoxious crowds and they really get that way there. Heck you don’t have to be there for Mardi Gras even.

  9. I enjoyed both of the videos. Thanks for sharing them.

  10. Your montage was sweet and I can understand how it would make you cry! Ed’s video was beautiful!

  11. If I lived as close to the beach as you do, I’d be quite content with day trips, too! 😉

    That montage was touching … no wonder it brings a tear to your eye.


Leave a Reply

