A Simple Woman’s Daybook Post…

simple-woman-daybook-large

FOR TODAY-
Monday, March 10, 2014
Outside my window…
It is still dark!  This time change really sucks.  The weather is predicted to be warm and sunny, though.  We had two glorious warm and sunny days over the weekend, thank goodness!
I am thinking...
I’m not ready for the weekend to be over, yet.  Yesterday seemed like a really short day.
I am thankful…
for many things, but, today, I’m especially thankful we’re almost debt-free (we still owe a bit for Ed’s eye surgery), because beginning today, we’ll be living on less income.  Ed’s reduction in pay kicks in today.
In the kitchen...
I have a mess.  The kitchen table is covered with groceries that need to be put away, then there’s the box of china sitting on the kitchen floor, waiting for me to find a place to put it!  As for food, I’m going to have to cook ‘from scratch’, today, because Ed and I ate the last of the ‘left-overs’ for supper, last night.
I am wearing…
my night-gown, a house coat, and some socks.  It’s a bit cool in the house, this morning.
I am creating…
more clutter in our house every time I bring something home from my MIL’s house!   It’s so hard for me to let go of things, sometimes.  There are over sixty years worth of memories in that house, and were having a really hard time deciding what to keep and what to let go of.  Hence, the box of china sitting on the kitchen floor, as well as a shoe box full of ‘treasures’ sitting in the living room.
I am going…
to do some serious house cleaning today.  When the weather is warm and sunny, I become inspired to do ‘spring cleaning’!
I am wondering...
when my cousin’s husband’s funeral is going to be.  Charles passed away early yesterday morning.  My heart is heavy for his wife of fifty-something years.
I am reading...
I Got a Name, the biography of singer, Jim Croce.  It’s quite an interesting story, so far.  So much talent, gone much too soon!  I think the saddest part of Jim’s story, other than his untimely death,  is how he never really reaped any of the financial benefits of his amazing talents before he died.
I am hoping…
my son’s household gets well soon!  Brad, called last evening to say that he is still sick, and, now, baby Evan, is sick with congestion and fever, too.  It seems to be a never-ending cycle at their house, lately.
I am looking forward to…
having some family time, again.  Our family once spent so much time together, but lately, everyone has been busy doing other things.  You could say, life’s been getting in the way of getting together.
I am learning…
how amazing it is to have ‘Google’ at my fingertips!  Anything I ever need to know can be found through Google, such as–how to fertilize pecan trees!
Around the house…
everything looks nice.  Ed mowed all of the grass, for the first time in 2014, on Saturday.  Let springtime begin!
I am pondering…
how time managed to slip away so quickly.  It seems like, just yesterday, when Ed and I were newlyweds.  We’ll celebrate our 42nd wedding anniversary, in June.
A favorite quote for today…
“But there never seems to be enough time to do the things you want to do, once you find them” (from the song Time in a Bottle by Jim Croce)
One of my favorite things…is listening to good music, and reading a good book.  I know that’s two, but who’s counting?
A few plans for the rest of the week…
planning to do a little ‘deep cleaning’ inside of the house, but, also, plan to enjoy the sunshine and warm weather outside, while it lasts.  I’ll spent the week trying to get my body adjusted to the time change, as well.
A peek into my day…
it’s almost time for the sun to make its appearance for the day.  After that, it will be time to go outside and feed the five chickens, our twelve cats, and two dogs. Let the day begin!
From my photo files:
The video, below, isn’t from my photo files, but it’s worth sharing.  While reading ‘I’ve Got a Name’, I discovered a video made shortly before Jim Croce was  killed. (Jim’s wife mentions it in her book)  It features Jim, along with his wife, Ingrid, and son, Adrian James, and was filmed at their home.  Jim’s wife says he wrote ‘Time in a Bottle’ for their son.  It was almost as if he knew he’d be leaving this world soon…
 
Thanks to Peggy Hostetler for hosting The Simple Woman’s Daybook.
Published in: on March 10, 2014 at 8:29 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/03/10/a-simple-womans-daybook-post-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love reading your Simple Woman’s Daybook post. It’s interesting finding out what’s going on in my blogging friends’ lives. Hope you have a great spring-like week.

  2. I have to tell you that I bought that book for my husband, Joe. He really like Jim Croce (I do too), especially since Jim went to Villanova. The Daybook posts are always interesting!

  3. …that is “likes” Jim Croce. Gosh, I wish we could edit comments!!

  4. Hope your son’s family gets well soon…we have some of the same going on. I understand about wanting to hold on to those treasures. I have things from my mom that I have had to find room for , too. The weather has been nice here in Ga these past few days, hasn’t it? But I am sure we will have another cold snap before Easter. We always do, don’t we? 🙂

  5. 12 cats! Bless you. I didn’t realize you had that many! By the way, did you read my last blog about surveys? I’d be interested on your take.

  6. I always love the Daybook and have been thinking about doing one of my own one of these days.

    I am having a little trouble getting used to it being dark when I get up in the morning, but I really enjoy it being light after dinner. All in all, I like DST.

  7. Jim Croce’s music makes me nostalgic. Your emptying your late MIL’s home does, too. I have boxes and boxes of my late mother’s “treasures.” Best wishes in that effort. May sunny days brighten your work.


Leave a Reply

