Is It Friday Yet?

Half-Past Kissin' Time

Yes, it’s Friday, which means it’s time for a few ‘Friday Fragments’–you know, those bits and pieces of news, or thoughts, from the week.  As always, I’ll be linking my fragments with Mrs.4-4-4-4, over at Halfpastkissintime.

~~~~~

What a crazy week this has been–beginning with the time change!  My body still hasn’t adjusted to the change, and I’ve been feeling somewhat like a zombie all week.  I don’t know about everyone else, but it takes me a while to get back to normal after the time changes.

~~~~~

On Monday evening, my brother, David, and his wife, Kay, came for a quick, unplanned visit, due to the death of our cousin’s husband.  Ed was able to switch things around, at work, and get Tuesday off, so he could visit with us, too.  We all had a great time together, as always. Unfortunately, time passed way too quickly, and before we knew it, it was time for them to go back home.  We all treasure these visits, which don’t happen nearly enough, since we live so many miles apart.

~~~~~

Ed and I got a call, from our son, Brad, on Tuesday afternoon, telling us that their baby, Evan, was being admitted into the hospital.   On Wednesday, Ed got off work at lunch, and we made the trip to see Brad and his family at the hospital.  I don’t know who looked ‘worse for wear’, out of the family of three, but all were all a welcome sight for my eyes!  We hadn’t seen any of them in almost a month!  Evan had been sick for a while, then Brad had gotten sick, as well.  Jennifer had been trying to work, in addition to caring for Evan during her time at home.

~~~~~

Evan’s been sick, first with diarrhea, then later with fever.  Although Evan’s white count was 35,000, which is super high, the doctors couldn’t find any source of infection in his body.  They did numerous tests, and finally concluded, after the white count began to fall on its own, that Evan probably has had a virus.  We were all very relieved, especially since the dreaded word “leukemia” had been mentioned among the possibilities of what the problem could be.  Evan’s been released from the hospital, and is continuing to recover at home,.  Our son, Brad, is still sick (cold/flu) but is slowly improving.

~~~~~

It’s been a crazy week, here, and those groceries, from last weekend, are still on my kitchen table!  The china, from Ed’s mom’s house, is still sitting in the box on the floor.  Several other mementos from her house are, also, scattered about, and a stack of laundry is in the living room chair.  Hopefully, by next week, everyone will be well, I will have recovered from the time change, and life will be back to normal–at least, for a little while!

Have a great weekend!

Published in: on March 14, 2014 at 8:48 am  Comments (12)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/03/14/is-it-friday-yet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

12 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m so glad the baby is home, and it wasn’t anything more serious. I’m still coping with the time change too. I get up super early for boot camp, and normally wake before my alarm, but not this week! Have a nice weekend!

  2. Glad to hear that it was only a virus. This crazy weather as well as the time change is reeking havoc on everyone. Have a great weekend.

  3. So glad your grandson is getting better and is out of the hospital. Hope they will all be well soon.

    I think this time change has been a little harder on me than most. Hoping we all adjust soon.

  4. Ah…normal. Just what is that, anyway?! LOL So, so happy to hear Evan is okay and Brad is hopefully better! That had to be scary for everyone! Get some extra sleep this weekend, if you can. I think it takes all of us a couple of weeks to adjust to the time change.

  5. Glad Brad and Evan are better. I know that was a scary time for everyone. I planned to pack my snowmen up the last weekend in Feb…finally doing it today! So, you aren’t the only one who is a little behind! Funny how things wait for us!!:-)

  6. That is a lot to deal with! I’m glad Evan is okay and Brad is on the mend. Relax and Have a nice weekend.

  7. I’m with you on the time change thing. Ugh. I hope everyone is on the mend soon!!
    Have a great weekend.

  8. Good news about Evan. Hope more good news is in store for you as Evan recuperates, Brad fights the flu and mom is trying to work and take care of everybody.

  9. I have to say that one hour has never affected me when it comes to time change either way. Traveling and time change rarely bothers me either. Glad to hear that things are good with Evan and that your son is getting better too.

  10. So glad little Evan is okay; I’m sure everyone was stressed out over that one! Here’s hoping your next week is more settled 🙂

  11. Whew! No wonder the groceries are still on the counter! Y’all have had a crazy busy week!

  12. Oh my … what a scare that must have been! So glad that Evan is home and doing well … praying that Brad will be feeling better soon!


Leave a Reply

