This ‘N That On Monday…

It’s another new week, and here I am!  It’s been a bit crazy around here, and this is the first chance I’ve had to get on my computer in several days.  This week is already shaping up to be a bit crazy, too.

It’s barely eight in the morning, and my yard is already filled with trucks, and several workmen.  After three long months of waiting for the remodeling crew to get to us, they’ve finally come to build a cover over our front porch.  Yay!  As I’m writing this, the men are literally sawing the banisters off of the porch.  Oh my!  It’s going to be an interesting day.  Hopefully, by the end of the week, we’ll be able to sit on our porch again–and actually stay dry when it rains!

For the second time in a month, my brother and sister-in-law came to Georgia to attend a funeral.  They spent Friday afternoon and evening with us, and we had another good visit.  It’s just unfortunate that our visits came about under those circumstances. I hope the next time we get together will be for a relaxing visit at the beach.  I’m so ready for that!

Our oldest son’s hot water heater needed replacing, over the weekend, so Ed spent most of Saturday helping him.  Now, our oldest son is not a ‘do-it-yourself’ kind of guy, but Ed and I convinced him he could handle this task, with a little help.  It took the guys most of the afternoon, but they were successful, in the end.  The worst part of the deal was the two [60 mile] trips to Lowe’s that the job required–our price, for living in the country. Of course, one of those trips to Lowe’s wasn’t just for the hot water heater, since I rode along and picked up a few plants for the yard!

Ed and I have been doing some ‘spring cleaning’ around the yards, lately.  We’ve added a few trees, plants, and some new edging.  We also uncovered the fountain, and fertilized the grass.  Our next stop will be the vegetable garden!  Speaking of the vegetable garden, Ed’s taking tomorrow off from work, and we’ll be doing some planting.  Look out aching backs!

Our youngest son called us yesterday afternoon, and said that his family had been plagued by the stomach virus, most of the week.  Baby Evan caught it first, then it quickly spread to everyone else!  This family just hasn’t been able to catch a break during the entire month of March!  I do hope April will be kinder to them.  Of course, Brad did mention that he had a summons to report for jury duty on April 1!

The only unpleasant part of the weekend was the time Ed and I spent working in his parents’ house.  We continued to sort and clean out a few more of his late parents’ things.  This task always leaves me feeling heavy-hearted.  ‘Trouble’, the cat, who’s lived at the house, alone, for the past 16 months didn’t help my somber mood, either, but I don’t think we’ll have to worry about that much longer.

‘Trouble’ has become ill.  She’s over thirteen years old, and age is finally taking its toll on her.  She doesn’t eat much anymore, and has begun to lose weight.  Her breathing is labored, and she doesn’t  have much energy, these days.  Yesterday, ‘Trouble’ wanted to walk through the inside of the house, so we let her.  One more time–and probably the last time–she checked everything out.  I couldn’t help but wonder what she must have been thinking.

Speaking of Ed’s parents, tomorrow would have been my father-in-law’s birthday.  He was born on April Fool’s Day, and used to joke that he was “an April Fool”!  Ed’s parent’s wedding anniversary would have been March 28.

I suppose I should end this post before I get all sappy about things I can’t change.  I’d best get up and go find some laundry to do–or something equally as thrilling.  Perhaps I should find something to do in the opposite end of the house, since the living room is pretty noisy, at the moment.  The men are literally taking the end of our house apart!

Have a great Monday, everyone!

 

 

Published in: on March 31, 2014 at 10:19 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/03/31/this-n-that-on-monday-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It was a rough weekend. Hugs for you, Kathy. It is so much to deal with – the house, the birthday and anniversary, and now the old cat. Hoping the porch comes along nicely and you will be able to enjoy a more carefree April sitting comfortably under cover!

  2. A covered porch…you will love it! Hope it doesn’t take too many days!

  3. Congrats on the imminent porch. And so sorry about Trouble. You’ve had a long history together.

  4. I love the roof we put on our deck … nice to be able to sit outside even when it’s raining (as long as it’s not raining too hard). I’m sure you’ll enjoy your porch with the new roof.

    I’m so sorry to hear about Brad’s family … they just can’t seem to catch a break at all, can they? Hope they’ll get over it quickly!

    Hoping April a more pleasant month for you and the rest of your family.


Leave a Reply

