It’s Time For The Hodgepodge, No Foolin’…

 

No foolin’, it’s the first Wednesday, in April, and it’s time for another Hodgepodge!  Hostess, Joyce, has graciously provided us with some ‘no real thinking required’ questions, this week, and my weary brain is grateful!   (See #7 and random for  explanation.)  Are you ready?  Here we go:

1. Since these questions are posting on the first day of April it seems only right to ask-when was the last time you did something foolish? If you can’t answer that one, try this one-when was the last time someone fooled you?

The last time I did something foolish was about two months ago, when I lost my eye glasses!  I ended up having to buy a new pair, because I still haven’t found my old ones.  One minute I had them, the next they were gone–and I was at home when they disappeared!

2. What’s the last biography or non-fiction book you’ve read? Was it any good?

I’m currently reading Just When I Thought I’d Dropped My Last Egg by Kathie Lee Gifford, and I’m enjoying it very much.  It’s a collection of short stories (or essays, as Kathie Lee calls them), about some of her life experiences.  It reminds me of reading a blog, and some of Kathie Lee’s stories are quite entertaining!  I haven’t read Kathie Lee’s first book, I Can’t Believe I Said That, but I’m planning to read it next.

3. Garlic-friend or foe? What’s your favorite dish made with garlic?

I don’t care much for garlic, but, occasionally, I’ll eat garlic bread sticks with spaghetti.

4. Several Spring flower festivals happen in the US during the month of April. Of those listed, which would you most like to see in person…The Skagit Tulip Festival in Skagit Washington, The Dogwood Arts Festival in Knoxville Tennessee, The North Carolina Azalea Festival in Wilmington North Carolina or the Daffodil Festival Weekend on Nantucket Island, Massachusetts?

I love tulips, so I’m going to say The Skagit Tulip Festival, in Skagit Washington.  We have dogwoods, azaleas, and daffodils, in Georgia, but no tulips where I live–except at the florist!

5. How do you choose which blogs to read? What is something that will make you stop and read every time? Something that makes you say, ‘eh, think I’ll skip this one and move on to the next’?

I usually find new blogs by participating in blog hops or memes.  I don’t really know how I choose which blogs to read and follow, but some people’s blogs just seem to ‘speak’ to me, while others don’t. Most of the blogs that I follow (but not all) are written by women who are fairly close to my age, and have similar interests.  I always enjoy someone who can tell a good story, someone who can make me laugh, and someone who writes from the heart.  I don’t really care for a lot of bragging, ranting, or product reviews.

6. April is National Mathematics Education Month so tell us, when did you last use math?

I used math, last Friday, when I filled out the bank deposit slip.  No wait!  On second thought,  we used math, yesterday, when figuring out how to plant our garden!  At one point, we were using a tape measure to space our tomato plants!

7. In honor of the A-Z challenge kicking off on April 1…choose one word beginning with the letter A to describe your yesterday.

Active would best describe my yesterday!  Ed had the day off from work, so he and I worked in our garden all day long!  We planted cucumbers, squash, green beans, butter beans, tomatoes, and peas.  Today, we have the tired, aching bodies to prove it, but we’re not finished planting yet!

Random:

The last time I posted, on Monday, three workmen had showed up to begin construction on the roof of our porch.  What a day that turned out to be!  All day long, I listened to their hammering and sawing, thinking, any minute, that something was going to fall off of the walls–and then came the dreaded knock on my door, about 3 p.m.   Rex, the foreman, says to me, “Do you want the good news or the bad news first?”  The good news was they successfully cut a hole in the front of our house (for a vent/crawl space entrance).  The bad news was, in the process, they cut through some of our electrical wiring in the attic!   One of the guys spliced the cut wires back together, but didn’t get the right ones hooked together.  Not realizing this, the men left for the day.

Ed came home from work, and found me at my wit’s end.  He, then, spent the next four hours crawling up and down the ladder, and running back and forth to our breaker box (which happens to be located in a difficult to reach space).   During all of this activity, I heard a loud noise on the porch, and wondered if Ed had let the ladder throw him.  It turns out, the ladder did slide out from under him, but, fortunately, Ed was able to catch himself on a rafter!   (Thank goodness Ed still has some of his quick reflexes left!)  Did I mention how the ladder barely missed hitting our glass door?

As if all of this activity wasn’t enough, during Ed’s trips to the breaker box, he left the ladder unattended.  Drake, one of our older cats, crawled up the ladder and started wandering around in our attic crawl space!  We didn’t know this– until we started hearing movement in the attic, and noticed the ceiling beginning to flex!

Eventually, Ed was able to get all of the wires hooked up correctly, and catch the ‘curious cat’, and safely put him back on the ground where he belonged!  To say Monday was a stressful afternoon would be an understatement!   Tuesday was relatively uneventful, thank goodness.

Published in: on April 2, 2014 at 6:52 am  Comments (13)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/its-time-for-the-hodgepodge-no-foolin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

13 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My goodness…that was a stressful Monday you had! Hope today goes more smoothly for you! I’m so envious that you’re planting a garden! Would love to live in an area to be able to have one…maybe someday!

  2. Quite the Monday you had. Glad Ed is so handy. I won’t let D H climb the ladders anymore because he might fall. My daughter’s cat was also curious and got into the cold air register one time. She was a white cat however she came out black.

  3. Blogs that have their main focus being product reviews don’t get a second visit from me.

  4. Oh no! That construction project story. I can picture it all too clearly! We once had a cast that managed to find a wee space between the two floors and she was impossible to coax out. Cats have a mind of their own. Hope you find the glasses soon. I once spent half a day hunting for a puzzle piece. When I gave up and started cleaning house, I picked up a rug to shake it and there was the puzzle piece! Grrr.

  5. Oh my, what a crazy day you had! Glad Tuesday was better.

  6. Your Random Thought brought back some of my own home repair nightmares. Tracing electrical circuits down is the worst but oh so important to get right. I’m glad your husband and your cat survived the experience. Have a great week!

  7. Oh my goodness, that electrical nightmare would stress me out! So glad you got it all sorted and without injury. Or rather glad Ed got it sorted : )

  8. You have the most crazy days and I love to read about them but would hate to live them. I sure hope the workers don’t make any more mistakes!

  9. Thanks for popping by my blog today! Sounds like you have had a crazy week, hopefully the rest of it is a breeze!

  10. Oh my … what an afternoon! Glad that you had an event-free Tuesday!

  11. My goodness…sorry for all the trouble.Glad no one got hurt.

  12. The book your reading sounds very interesting. I said tulips also because I love them but then reading some answers today I realized I would like to go to Nantucket! Nothing wrong with being active, that’s a good thing. I can’t believe your random and so glad that Ed didn’t get hurt!

  13. It is a good thing Ed is so handy. And bravo on the garden. We are getting a start on our veggie patch this year that could be called pitiful. Anyway, I had two outings planting that I enjoyed thoroughly. Something has made a number of our tomato seedlings disappear, though.

    Once again, I will be watching for your posts to get my gardening thrills via Internet!


Leave a Reply

