T’was The Monday Before Easter…

T’was the Monday before Easter, and…  Ed’s off today, as required by his employer.  In addition to taking the recent cut in pay, employees are also required to take a vacation day every two weeks.  We got lucky, this week, because vacation days can’t always be taken on a Monday or Friday!

Ed’s never one to waste a day off, so he’s already outside working on the front of our house–at 7:30 in the morning.  The workmen left a few jobs for us to do, concerning the new porch, so Ed’s up and on it already!  Ed’s never happier than when he’s getting to ‘do it himself’!  The job includes using a new paint sprayer, for the first time,  so it might prove to be interesting.

The weekend was crazy busy, but it was a good one.  It included some family time, with all of our grown children and their families (except for one grandson, who was at a birthday celebration).  It also included some work around the house,  and it included granddaughter, Madison’s violin recital.  I’ll share more about that, in another post!

I’m behind in visiting many of my blogging friends, and I’m sorry!  I didn’t turn on my computer all weekend, except for Brett to remove something that I’d ‘gotten’ on my computer (thanks again, Brett!), and for  Brad to upgrade my computer to Windows 8.1.  (thanks again, Brad!)  I promise I’ll catch up with everyone as soon as I can.

Acting Balanced

As usual, on Mondays, I’m joining ‘The Monday Quiz’ over at Acting Balanced.  It’s become a Monday habit, that I don’t like to break.  Here are today’s questions:

 

1. Today is look up at the sky day – what does your piece of the sky look like today?

The sky, in our ‘neck of the woods’ looks cloudy.  In fact, it’s supposed to be cloudy all day!  Unfortunately, another dreaded cold front is headed our way, with a low of 43 degrees expected for tomorrow night!!!  What in the world is going on with the weather???  Today’s high is predicted to reach 82!

2. It’s also “organize your files week” – will you be participating?

No, there’s a very good chance I won’t be organizing any files, this week!  Too much other stuff is going on. 

3. It’s almost Easter – what are your Easter traditions?
First of all, I decorate for Easter–inside and out.  My outside decorations have taken a beating, this year, due to the porch construction.  They’ve been put up and taken down twice!   They may never be the same.  

All of the grandchildren will gather at our house, this coming weekend, to color eggs together.  That’s always fun–and messy 🙂  Then, the family will gather back here, after church on Sunday, for lunch and an egg hunt.  Our eggs hunts include the adults and children, and usually turn out to be quite entertaining!
4. What is a favorite recipe that you’ve dusted off for the holidays or just because it’s spring?

Our daughter-in-law, Christina, usually makes a Hershey Bar Cake that’s delicious.   It’s become a family favorite, and is her ‘signature dessert’.  Unfortunately, I don’t have her recipe, or I’d share it with you.

I’m sorry to have to cut post a little short, but it’s time to feed all of our animals, then get busy with Monday chores.  Have a great Monday!

Published in: on April 14, 2014 at 8:28 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/twas-the-monday-before-easter/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Have a great week and enjoy your children and grandchildren.

  2. The sky here is very cloudy … rain clouds. We’ve got rain in the forecast for today … snow tonight! Yikes! What is up with that???? Isn’t it supposed to be spring??

  3. Sounds like a good weekend and sounds like you’re going to be very busy this week. Hope it’s a great one!

    It’s supposed to get cold here too. They are even calling for snow overnight – no accumulation, but hellloooo? it’s been in the 80’s and now snow!?!

  4. Hmm…a paint sprayer! Let us know how that goes! 🙂 Sounds like you have wonderful Easter plans…good for you!

  5. I’m with Ed. It’s a great feeling when you’ve accomplished a do-it-yourself job. Only wish I had all the skills he has.

  6. Thank you for your comment in my blog.
    Your Easter traditions sound like fun.
    Happy Easter!

  7. Sounds like you had a nice weekend. I have had so much going on this month, I’m not getting around to read like I want to either. I think we can just do the best we can and catch up as we are able. I’m pretty sure most bloggers understand. Enjoy your day!

  8. What a full and enjoyable post, but it has left me coveting that Hershey cake recipe! The pay cut and “no-choice” vacation day schedule is tough. Keeping y’all in my thoughts and prayers.

  9. I love looking at the sky, one of my favorite pastimes. Have fun with the kids dying eggs and with your Easter egg hunt. Happy Easter!


Leave a Reply

