Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

This has been a crazy week!  I’ve spent the entire week nursing the sick hen.  You know how it is when someone has no appetite, and you rack your brain trying to think of something they’ll eat?  That’s what I’ve spent much of the week doing!  I thought the old hen had turned the corner, on Tuesday, but, on Wednesday, she took another down turn, and stopped eating again.  She’s still with us, but I’m sure it won’t be for much longer.  I’ve offered her everything under the sun, to eat, but she’s just not interested.

Speaking of a crazy week, my daughter has been having one, too.  During the wee hours of Monday morning, our granddaughter came down with the stomach virus.  She threw up every hour for most of the day.  Not a good way to start the week!  To make matters even worse their dish washer and air conditioner tore up, this week, too!  (and I thought I was having a crazy week!)  The air conditioner was an easy fix, but the dish washer remains broken.

A bright spot in the week [of nursing the sick hen] came on Thursday, when grandson, Chase, came to spend the morning with me.  He’s such a funny little guy, he makes me smile.  He’s a bit stubborn and very opinionated, about what he likes and wants to do, but that’s Chase’s personality.  He’s so fun to have a conversation with, these days!  We played in the floor (for short periods at the time), but every time I’d get up to rest my back, he’d say “Play with me!”

Thankfully, all of the bad weather I’ve been hearing about on television, missed our neck of the woods.  We didn’t even get much rain, but that is okay since we don’t need any more right now.   It didn’t even rain enough to figure out if the roof still leaks, but, hopefully, it rained enough to wash the fertilizer into the garden.

Ed’s off again today, after being required to take another vacation day.  We have no plans, at this time, other than I have to be at the Board of Education Office at 8:30 to file retirement papers.  Sounds like fun, doesn’t it?  I think I’d rather be at the beach…

That’s it for this edition of Friday Fragments.  I’m linking up with Mrs. 4-4-4-4, as usual.  Her Fraggin’ Fantastic Tercentennial Celebration is still going on.  You should go check it out!

fftccom200x200_zps70bcba96

Have a great weekend, everyone!

 

 

 

Published in: on May 2, 2014 at 7:20 am  Comments (7)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/friday-fragments-13/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’d rather be at the beach than doing just about anything. 😉

    It does sound like your daughter has had an awful week … hopefully your granddaughter is recovered and there’s a fix (repairs or replacement?) for the dishwasher.

  2. Your daughter seems to be having the same problems as my daughter. It has been an expensive winter for her. Hope you hen gets well soon.

  3. Sorry about your hen 😦 Also sorry that your granddaughter got sick. Glad you got to have Chase over, that was fun! Hope things went well at the Board of Education office. Enjoy your weekend.

  4. Busy and crazy – both you and your daughter. Prayers lifted on all counts, and please let us know how things are going.

  5. Hope all went well with the pension paperwork. Have a wonderful, restful (ha! You & Ed don’t do restful) weekend!

  6. Poor Maddie and poor mom! if good care alone could make your little hen well, she would be on the mend. You are a good nurse. And i am so impressed that you can get on the floor with Chase.

  7. Sorry to hear about your hen. I get very concerned about animals when they’re sick because I hate that they can’t tell you what’s wrong. So sorry to hear about your sick grandchild too. That’s the worst when they’re throwing up. I remember once I had to take my son in for an IV because he got so dehydrated from throwing up. I sure hope this week is better for both you and your daughter!


Leave a Reply

