‘May I’ Share My Hodgepodge?

Whew!  I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to participate in the Hodgepodge this week, but somehow I managed to work it in! Yesterday, I was off relaxing at Tybee Island with a friend instead of preparing my post, as usual.  Imagine that!  Beach time trumps blog time any day, but I managed to fit both in.

Today I’m off to the hair dresser for color and a cut, but I promise to make the rounds and visit all of you, as soon as I return!  As always, thanks to Joyce for hosting the Hodgepodge 🙂

Here are today’s questions and my answers:

1. Share something you appreciate (or something you appreciated as you were growing up) about your mother.

I appreciate that my mother worked hard to help earn extra income for our family.  When I was ten she took a job working in a sewing factory, which is very hard work.  She used some of the money she earned to help buy school clothes and other things for me, that I probably wouldn’t have had, otherwise.

2. A quote most commonly ascribed to Plato reads “Necessity is the mother of invention.” When did this last play out in your own experience?

This quote could very well have applied to Ed and me when we were [literally] building our house, seven years ago.  We designed and built the home ourselves, so we had to invent solutions for difficult situations often!  Needless to say, we have several ‘unique’ things in our home–but I wouldn’t want it any other way!

3. Share one of the earliest memories you have from childhood.

One of my earliest memories from childhood is the time I stuck a bobby pin in an electrical outlet under the car port!  What a ‘shocking’ experience that was!  Another early (but still vivid) childhood memory is the time my brother’s gun accidentally went off inside the car while we were all riding home from a hunting trip!  It caused  a hole in the car door, nearly scared us all to death, and caused my mother to cuss like a sailor!  Fortunately, nobody was hurt–but our ears rang for a while.

4. When did you last ‘hit the mother lode’? What was it?

The only thing that comes to mind is green beans!  For the past two years, Ed and I ‘hit the mother lode’ of green beans in the garden!  We canned SEVERAL QUARTS ( 30 or more) of beans for ourselves, plus shared with our children, as well.

5. What is/was your favorite dish mom made? Do you make that dish for your family/friends now that you’re all grown up?

My favorite dish that my mama used to make was egg custard pie.  I know how to make it, but I don’t make it very often, since I’m the only one in my family who likes it.   My egg custard pie doesn’t taste quite as good as mama’s did, but it sure brings back fond memories.

6. Mother May I? was at one time a popular children’s game. It required no equipment or parts to play. What was your favorite childhood game where you could just turn up and play-no gear needed?

I enjoyed playing Simon Says–still do!

7. Which TV mom (past or present) is your favorite, and why?

The first TV mom that comes to my mind is Ruth Martin (played by actress June Lockhart) who was Timmy’s mother on the show ‘Lassie’.  She impressed me because she was so loving and compassionate.

Random:

So, does anybody else out there watch the television show ‘Nashville’?  The show is just about to wrap up its second season.  I enjoy the story lines, but what really keeps me watching are the actors, musicians, and the music!  The show just released its fourth soundtrack yesterday!  Over seventy-five songs are available for purchase on iTunes, and I’ve purchased the majority of them.  There’s really not  a bad one in the bunch.

Two of my favorite actor/musicians on the show are Lennon and Maisy Stella, real life sisters, who play sisters on the show.  I just love to hear them harmonize!  So much talent at such a young age!  Here’s a peak at one of their performances at last year’s CMA Music Fest:

 

Published in: on May 7, 2014 at 7:14 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/07/may-i-share-my-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m a big fan of Nashville, and the sisters are amazing! Wow-that was quite a story about the hunting expedition. I imagine I might have thrown out a swear word too : ) Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. Yikes! What is it with kids and electrical outlets?? So glad you survived that experience. When one of our sons was little, he stuck a table knife in the outlet. That was one of the many times he did horridly dangerous things! Happy Mother’s Day.

  3. Do you know that I’ve never watched “Nashville”? That’s coming from someone who loves country music. I need to get on the bandwagon, I guess. Oh, I’ve been shocked a time or two by sticking things into an electrical socket. About a month ago, my hands were wet and I tried to plug in my hair dryer and got zapped. Lesson learned.

  4. I always enjoy reading everyone’s Hodgepodge!! I watched the first couple of Nashville shows, but couldn’t really get into it (I like country music!). Maybe I should have stuck with it awhile longer.

  5. Wow! Electric shock and nearly being shot! Enjoy your day at the hairdresser.

  6. Oh my! Did you get in trouble for sticking the pin in the outlet?

    I hope you can stop by and visit:

    http://collettaskitchensink.blogspot.com/2014/05/hodgepodge-mothers-day-special-5714.html

    Colletta

  7. My mother worked outside the home, too. If it weren’t for her doing this, then I wouldn’t have had some of the things I needed growing, too. She has always worked hard and continues to do so. I think she’s amazing. I have not watched the TV show, Nashville. Lennon and Maisy are good together. The youngest sister acts so mature for her years on stage. I am always surprised to see kids in show biz who seem more together for their years than other kids. Thanks for the introduction of this new-to-me music talent!

  8. Oh my, that was pretty scary with the gun going off in the car. Green Beans are my favorite, wish I lived closer 🙂 Simon Says was a fun game. Have a wonderful Mother’s Day.


Leave a Reply

