Another May Hodgepodge…

These weeks sure roll by in a hurry, don’t they?  Actually, the months roll by pretty fast, too.  Can you believe we’re already in mid-May?  Mid-week during mid-May can only mean one thing–Another May Hodgepodge!  Time’s wasting, so let’s get right to the questions!  As always, thanks to our delightful hostess, Joyce, for furnishing the questions and hosting each week 🙂

1. It’s still May, right? When were you last in the middle of something that might be described as mayhem?

The only thing that comes to mind was, last summer, when we had 43 trees cut down from around our house.  Our yard looked (and sounded) like a battle zone for several days.  Did I mention it rained for several days in the midst of the cutting?  As a result, we ended up with lots of mud and muck!  Here’s a little of what the mayhem looked like:

100_2711

Our front yard, during the tree cutting experience

2. When did you last feel dismayed?

I’ve been feeling somewhat dismayed for the past couple of months, while I wait for Ed to get on with the business of  dealing with his mom’s estate.  (He’s such a procrastinator.)

3. What’s a food combination you like, but other people may find strange?

I like Heinz 57 sauce with my pork chops.  That’s all I can think of at the moment.

4. “It is never too late to be what you might have been.” Do you think that’s true? Why or why not?

I don’t think it’s true in every situation because everyone’s circumstances are different.  For instance, I realized, sort of late in life, that I would’ve made a great teacher.  I spent 14 1/2 years working as a paraprofessional and loved (almost) every minute of it.  I had a way with children, and I absolutely loved helping them learn.  Of course, by the time I realized all of this, I was nearly 50 years old and already dealing with a host of health issues. For me, it was too late, but I have no regrets.  I had a great time being a parapro!

5. US News and World Report listed the best historic destinations in the US as follows-Washington D.C, Philadelphia PA, Williamsburg VA, Charleston SC, Boston MA, Richmnd VA, Savannah, GA, Santa Fe NM, Yellowstone, San Antonio TX, San Francisco CA, New Orleans LA, and Charlottesville VA.

Of those listed how many have you seen in person? Which two sites on the list would you most like to see in person?

I’ve visited Charleston, SC twice, and used to live in Savannah, GA.  I loved Charleston, but I can take or leave Savannah.  Of the other sites on the list, I think I might like to visit Yellowstone, San Francisco, or Santa Fe.  (I know that’s three, but who’s counting?)

6. May is National Physical Fitness and Sports Month. If you had to participate in a single fitness activity for the next half hour, which activity would you choose?

I’d choose walking.  That’s probably about the only form of exercise my body could tolerate right now.

7. What did you like best about the city, town, or neighborhood where you grew up?

I like the fact that I grew up in a small town, where everybody knew everybody.  You knew which people to hang out with, and which ones to steer clear of.   As youngsters, we thought nothing of riding our bikes all over town or going trick-or-treating in groups, without our parents.  The streets were safe back then, but not so much, these days.  Our little town actually had its first drive-by shooting, just last week, at our local McDonald’s!  (Thankfully, the bullet missed hitting anybody)

Random:

Ed’s off from work again today (another mandatory day off), so I may be a bit late in visiting all of you.  If you stop by, please leave a comment, and I’ll visit you tonight or tomorrow.  Meanwhile, I’m going to spend some quality time with my honey!  A mandatory day off from work is a terrible thing to waste, don’t ya’ think?

 

Published in: on May 14, 2014 at 7:10 am  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/14/another-may-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m actually going to Charleston tomorrow : ) Can’t wait! You definitely had some mayhem happening with the muddy mess. I’m sure you’re happy it’s behind you! Enjoy your day and time with your honey : )

  2. Wow, 43 trees cut down is a lot and definitely considered to be mayhem. I don’t know why, but I think I’d choose Savannah over Charleston, though both are such beautiful cities. Enjoy time with your honey!

  3. I think I took #4 on more of a personal note. Probably because I’m working on myself right now. LOL I remember eating Heinz 57 on my pork chops when I was growing up!

  4. Oh yes, definitely those trees were mayhem for you. I imagine the Heinz 57 would be good on pork chops. Will have to try that someday. Hope you get to visit those places someday. Walking is excellent exercise. We use to be out playing all the time too and our parents never had to worry. Sorry about that drive by shooting 😦 Enjoy your day with Ed.

  5. It is an interesting Hodgepodge this week. Many weeks, we all seem to answer the same way. This week brought up some interesting twists and turns! Hope you enjoyed you mandatory day with your sweetie!! 🙂

  6. 43 trees…wow! that was a big project! hope you enjoyed your day with Ed!!


Leave a Reply

