A Few Friday Fragments…

Half-Past Kissin' Time

This old blog is probably feeling a bit neglected this week, but then again, so is my house.  Lately, I seem to be spinning my wheels and not getting a whole lot accomplished.  It could have something to do with me not feeling well…  Perhaps, next week will be better!  Anyway, I’m ending the week with a few fragments of what’s been going on around here, and linking up with Mrs. 4-4-4-4.

~~~~~

100_3712

Ed and I picked our garden peas on Monday.  I put three packages of them in the freezer, and we’re saving the rest for seed.  I’m not much of a fan of garden peas, but these are so good!  We’ll have some fresh squash to eat by next week, and should have some green beans in a couple more weeks.  The sweet onions are almost ready, too!  I love having garden-fresh vegetables to eat!

~~~~~

I’ve begun letting my remaining four hens ‘free range’ a little bit.  Sometimes, in the afternoons, I’ve been letting them out of the coop for short periods of time.  They enjoy roaming, very much, but if let unattended, they always find their way to places they don’t need to be–like my flower beds and such!  Chickens are much like children, they always want to play where they shouldn’t 🙂

~~~~~

We finally got over two inches of rain, this week.  We didn’t see any leaks from the roof, so I think it’s safe to say Ed has our leak fixed, once again.  It rained almost all day yesterday, and our grass and our garden is grateful!  I guess Ed will do some grass cutting and hoeing time this weekend.  I may do some hoeing, as well, but I don’t mow grass!

~~~~~

Ed and I ended up going to St. Simon’s Island on his mandatory day off on Wednesday.  It was our first beach trip of the season, together (I’ve been twice without him).  The island wasn’t crowded at all, but by 1:30 we had to pack up and leave because it started raining!  It was okay, though, we spent the rest of the afternoon shopping in Brunswick, another favorite past-time of mine.

~~~~~

1461211_10151735288271428_1589334018_n Caden

Our oldest grandson, Caden, will be finishing up Pre-K today.  Ed and I will be attending his closing program, this evening.  It seems like just yesterday when he was born,  and now he’s getting ready to enter Kindergarten!  Our grandbabies are growing up too fast.  Sniff, sniff…

~~~~~

There’s a lot of truth to the Kenny Chesney song, Don’t Blink, don’t you think?  We need to savor every moment of life that we can! Go out and make it a great weekend 🙂  See ya’ back here on Monday.

Published in: on May 16, 2014 at 7:41 am  Comments (9)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/16/a-few-friday-fragments-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. My Hubby is jealous that you are already harvesting from your garden! His has only been planted a couple of weeks. He grew up in Brunswick so we went there often until is parents passed away. We still pass thru going to Jekyll every summer.Last year, on our way home from the beach, we drove down”memory lane”…looked at his old neighborhood, school, etc. Then ate lunch at JenRIght….great seafood! Have you ever eaten there? I’m a little jealous that you have already been to the beach 3 times!! It’s great that you live that close!

  2. The peas look great. My youngest would love them.

  3. It would be amazing to be able to say “100 years goes faster than you think.” Time does go by faster and faster as you get older except when you are in a hospital waiting room.

  4. Green beans already? We had green beans just sprouting when we left. Hard telling what they’ll look like when we get back … Lots of rain the first 4 days we were gone.

  5. Glad you got to the beach. I am s-o-o-o-o-o looking forward to seeing some beach time!

  6. Don’t blink is so true. Caden is gorgeous. What a handsome guy! The peas look wonderful, and I agree with you about home-grown being so delicious! Nice that the girls get to roam free for awhile each day!

  7. You are harvesting and we haven’t planted our seedlings yet. I love garden peas fresh from the garden. Yummy!

  8. We have garden envy here too. We will finally be planting next weekend. It rained here all week. I am happy to be seeing the sun today even if I do have to work out of the house for 6 hours.
    How adorable is that little guy. I agree it goes by too fast.
    Don’t Blink is one of mine and John’s favorite songs. Of course, Kenny’s What would you be today just tears me up too.
    Our nieces husband works for Kenny. Once and only once did he treat us to front row and back stage. It was amazing! We have a giant family so we have to be fair:)
    Have a blessed weekend!

  9. Yum…..would love to have so many awesome veggies to eat! That’s good news on the roof. Sounds like you had a nice getaway for the day. Enjoy your weekend.


Leave a Reply

