In And Around The Garden…

Let’s take a little tour of what’s going on in and around the garden of 2014.  Ready?  Here we go!  I’ll begin with an over-all view of the entire garden.  I’m sorry about the quality of the picture, but the sun was going down whenever I took it!

We have potatoes, carrots, onions, peppers, cabbage, lettuce, cucumbers, squash, green beans, tomatoes, three kinds of peas, three kinds of butter beans, okra, corn, and a row of sunflowers/zinnias growing in our garden.  Our 2014 garden is somewhat smaller than last year’s garden though.  We decided to downsize and make it easier on ourselves!

100_3794

Our sweet onions and squash are now ready! We’ll probably pull the onions up this weekend (to dry), and I’ve picked seven squash, so far.  I’ll be preparing some squash for the freezer soon.

100_3795

100_3800

We’ve been picking lettuce for quite a while.  Soon, the weather in southeast Georgia will be too warm for lettuce to grow anymore. (Expecting to reach 94 degrees today) This is an iceberg lettuce plant. It looks quite different from what we buy in the store, doesn’t it?  Our plants never form an actual ‘head’ of lettuce.  I don’t know why.

100_3801

These are some of our carrots. These are actually planted too thick!  I didn’t worry about thinning the plants because I use them as food for our hens.  They love the carrot tops as much as they love the actual carrots. The actual carrots are about the size of my finger, at the moment.  The weather will soon be too warm for carrots, as well.

100_3802

This is a green bean plant. If you look closely, you can see the tiny green beans. In just a few more days, Ed and I will be picking and canning green beans.  I’ll do most of the picking and preparing, but Ed will help me with the actual canning part because I’m intimidated by the pressure canner!

It will be about another month before the rest of our garden is ready for harvest.  Peas, beans, and corn are usually ready for picking during the last of June.

At one end of our garden, we planted a row of fruit trees and berry bushes.  We have apple trees, plum trees, peach trees, pear trees, blueberry bushes, and blackberry bushes.

This is the first year our fruit trees have grown any actual fruit (except for our older pear trees), so we’re excited!  We have a few apples growing on our apple trees, see?

100_3807

100_3811

We have peaches, too, but our peach trees look sort of bare. Something caused a lot of the leaves to fall off! We think it may have been the spray Ed used to protect the fruit from bugs and worms, but we’re not sure. Anyway, new leaves are growing back now.

100_3808

We have blackberries, too! I’m so excited about this because I love blackberries! We just planted these bushes last year, and now they are already six feet tall, and covered with berries!  Best of all, these blackberries have no thorns!  The berries are red now, but will soon be turning black.  In fact, I’m already finding a black one, occasionally.

100_3812

We have blueberries, growing on our bushes, too! You’ll notice we have nets over our berry bushes because the birds love our berries as much as we do!  We don’t mind sharing, but we’ve discovered that birds can be quite greedy.

That’s it for today’s tour around our garden of 2014.  Gardening is a lot of hard work, but it’s also enjoyable, and we sure do like eating the rewards 🙂    Fruit cobbler, anyone?

 

Published in: on May 23, 2014 at 7:59 am  Comments (9)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/23/in-and-around-the-garden/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is wonderful Kathy. I felt like i was actually there with you in your garden. You should be so proud of what youve built there for yourselves. I think its wonderful. Enjoy Gods bounty!
    Katie

  2. Reblogged this on New Leaf.

  3. You never cease to amaze me with your garden. It is so awesome. Enjoy the fruits (veggies) of your labor!

  4. You have such a beautiful garden again this year. Love to see the pictures and hear about it.

    Have a great Memorial Day weekend.

  5. Some days I wish I had a garden… others I’m very thankful I don’t because I probably would mess it up!

    But someone gave us tomato plants so we put them in a couple of planters and are hoping for the best!

    In answer to your comment about the rooster, I do believe someone took him home. He had 1 1/2 spurs that are now clipped, so someone definitely had him. There is a horse stable across the street and up the road a bit from the church and they have chickens. I think maybe someone took him over there thinking he may have escaped from them. If he was theirs to begin with, he’s escaped for a second time.

    He’s very friendly and has been the whole time he’s been with us so he had to have been hand raised.

    He’s absolutely crazy though and I have a few stories to share about him on my 365 as I’m getting it all caught up. Although at this rate it may be a few weeks until I get it posted, LOL…

  6. I had to smile when I read you down-sized this year. As the young folks would say, Dude! You’re self-sufficient! Here at the House of mars, I have 3 garlic bulbs and out of control blackberry bushes. I’m jealous. Can you believe the city mouse just wrote that?

  7. What a beautiful garden you have! We have only harvested a few green onions from our garden … Our neighbor reports that we have a lot of red lettuce ready so I suppose we’ll be having a lot of salads when we get home. I took a photo of our green beams before we left … it will be interesting to see what they look like when we get home. We did have some blossoms on one of our tomatoes, too.

  8. Wow! Now that’s what I call a GARDEN!! Impressive! And what a treat to have your own fruit trees and bushes! We don’t get enough sun to have much of a garden or to grow fruit. Hubby planted a small little plot with tomatoes, peppers and green beans. We will be happy if it does well. We have a berry farm close by where we pick our blueberries. And, yes, I will be happy to come have cobbler anytime!! 🙂

  9. How impressive and I can smell the delicious cobblers baking in the oven this summer. I have never had a garden but I’m sure it has great rewards. My husband grows tomatoes every year and has more fun.
    Enjoyable post! Happy weekend!


Leave a Reply

