Good-bye May, Hello Hodgepodge…

We’re about to bid the month of May adieu, but before that happens let’s take time for one more Hodgepodge.  The questions really make me stop and think about things, and in the process, sometimes, I learn a few things about myself that I didn’t know!  As always, thanks to our hostess, Joyce, for continuing to host the Hodgepodge 🙂

Here are this week’s questions:

1. What news story are you following right now?

I’m not currently following any news stories.  Sometimes the news can get to be a bit overwhelming to me, so I’ve stepped back and taken a break from it for the past month.  It’s actually been kind of nice, for a change!

2. What’s the last thing you wanted but didn’t get?

The last thing I really wanted, but haven’t gotten (so far), is for somebody in the family to buy Ed’s parents’ home place.  At the moment, the house sits empty and forlorn, right smack in the middle of the family farm–and nobody in the family wants to live there. Sigh.

3. May 28th is National Hamburger Day…when did you last have a hamburger? Other than your own kitchen or BBQ grill, where is your favorite place to go for a hamburger? And for all you non-meat eaters out there…when you’re invited to a cookout what is the one side dish you hope is on the menu?

Ed grilled burgers for lunch, on Sunday, while Brad and Jennifer were visiting.

My favorite place to go out for a  hamburger is one particular Burger King, located in Vidalia, Georgia.  They make great burgers! (this isn’t true of all Burger Kings)

4. How have your priorities changed over time?

My priorities have changed, according to whatever phase of life I happened to be in.  At first, my priority was to graduate from high school, then get married to Ed.  As a young newlywed, my priority was learning to be a good wife, while making a home for us. Then I played the role of a working wife for a while. Once children began entering our lives, for many years, my main priority was raising our family.  These days, since the family nest has been empty for several years,  I’m focused on getting our affairs in order for the ‘golden years’.

5. What’s a favorite memory with your grandparents?

Actually, I have two favorite memories.  The first is playing with my maternal grandmother’s button jar.  Grandma used to cut the buttons off of old clothing, and store the buttons in a jar, for future reuse.  I remember sitting at her dining room table and playing with all of those pretty colored buttons.  I’d slip the buttons onto toothpicks to make ‘button dolls’.  One button on the bottom would make the doll stand, another button around the middle of the toothpick would make a tutu.

My second favorite memory is of playing ‘house’, outside, in grandma’s backyard.  Grandma would give me empty snuff cans and lids from old coffee cans to use for my glasses and plates.  I’d use sticks and leaves for my pretend food.  I spent many happy hours playing ‘house’ at grandmas.

6. On a scale of 1-10 (with 10 being fantastic!), how good are you at multitasking? Share an example.

I’d give myself about a 5 because multitasking has never been one of my strong points.  However, I’m a pretty decent cook, and cooking requires a few multitasking skills, don’t you think?

7. How would you summarize your highs and lows for the month of May?

For me, the month of May has been filled with highs and lows, temperature-wise, as well as emotional-wise.  Our May temperatures have ranged from the 40’s up to the 90’s, which certainly has kept things interesting! Crazy weather!

We celebrated Mother’s Day, and it was our daughter-in-law, Jennifer’s, first Mother’s Day. ( Oh, happy day!) It was also our first Mother’s Day without Ed’s mom, which was not so happy.

May is the birth month of my mama, as well as Ed’s mom.  It’s sad not having them around to celebrate their birthdays anymore, but our oldest son turned 32, on May 10, and we were able to celebrate with him!

Last, but not least, after ten years with us, our old hound, Ethan, passed away this month, too. He’s sorely missed.

Random:

Ed continues to deal with his mom’s estate.  This past weekend, his two younger brothers made a second trip through the old home place to see what other things they might like to have before we begin to sell some of the stuff.  Neither chose several things we were sure they might like to have.  Among the things not chosen, the American flags presented at their parents’ military funerals, and a large, framed photograph of the home place, taken from an airplane, over thirty years ago.  It’s funny, you just never know what’s important to people–but that’s a post for tomorrow!  No need to worry, the flags and photograph of the farm found a home with us!

Published in: on May 28, 2014 at 9:06 am  Comments (10)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/05/28/goodbye-may-hello-hodgepodge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sorry for the loss of your dear pet.

  2. The Hodgepodge certainly does help us learn more about ourselves, doesn’t it? I’d forgotten about the button collection my grandma had. In a metal tin which I was given. My grandkids loved playing with the buttons, but they always wanted to play with them when they were too small to play with tiny buttons unsupervised.

  3. I never did like Burger King [funny…only ’cause the commercial with that insipid “King”] Homemade burgers are the best.

    Why doesn’t anyone want to live on the farm? That’s sad. I’d be there at the drop of the hat.

  4. First, a note about your ‘random.’ Perhaps one day those things may become important to them. I can’t imagine them not wanting the flags!

    And I so enjoyed reading your #4 and #5 answers especially. I agree that our priorities shift with stage of life. And interesting how we kids could entertain ourselves BC (before computers.)

  5. I have one of those aerial shots of the farm we lived on. No one else seemed to want it, so I have. Love it.

  6. I think the aerial shot would be a keepsake. I’m glad it found a new home : ) May seems like a mixture of highs and lows for most of us. I guess when I really think about it most months are. Enjoy your day!

  7. We have an aerial shot of the farm my dad grew up on, and it means so much to have it. I hope some of the grandkids/nieces/nephews will grow up and take an interest in those things you are so lovingly caring for. It was another good Hodgepodge today.

  8. Sometimes the happenings in my own life are enough to handle so I stay away from the news. Those are sweet memories you have from your grandparents. My aunt and uncle had no children. When my dad and I cleaned out their house it was so sad to be throwing away their photo albums but we didn’t want them.

  9. I remember being happy with such simple play things,too! I’m not sure many kids would be. Our two year old Little E does have a button jar that she likes to dump out and refill! Yes, it is interesting what is important to some and no to others. Guess some of us are more sentimental!

  10. oops…meant to say “not sure many kids would be TODAY!”


Leave a Reply

