The Wednesday Hodgepodge…

Hello again Hodgepodge!  I’m so glad I was able to participate this week.  It’s busy around here, with the vegetables getting ready in the garden, so I’m burning the midnight oil to get everything done!  Thanks so much to our hostess, Joyce, who’s been burning a bit of her own midnight oil, lately, but still managed to put some great questions together!

Let’s get right to the questions, shall we?

1. I’ve read several posts and status updates recently describing end of year school field trips. Do you remember taking school field trips as a kid? Where did you go and do you recall a favorite? For any parents responding today, have you ever chaperoned a school field trip, and if so where?

I don’t remember taking any school field trips as a kid.  While I was in high school, once a year, during the month of May, our high school would sponsor a field trip to the beach.  Any student could sign up, and pay a fee to ride the bus to Jekyll Island, located about 90 miles away.  I went on one of those field trips, with my friend, Diane, and we had a blast!  Would you believe that we both made the bathing suits that we wore on the beach trip!  Those were the days 🙂

As for chaperoning a field trip, I did plenty of chaperoning during the fourteen years, I worked as a paraprofessional.  I always preferred being in the classroom over a field trip.

2. What’s something you’re tired of seeing online?

That’s easy–pop ups!  I hate it when I’m looking at one thing, and something else pops up in front of it–even a person offering to help me!

3. June is the month for roses. Which of the following expressions would you say has most recently applied to your life-‘everything’s coming up roses’, ‘there’s no rose without a thorn’, ‘came out smelling like a rose’, or ‘wearing rose-colored glasses’?

I’m going to say ‘there’s no rose without a thorn’ because Ed and I recently had some car trouble on our way home from a delightful day at St. Simon’s Island.  We ended up broken down on the side of the road, which sort of put a damper on the fun day we’d just had!

4. When grilling outdoors do you prefer gas or charcoal? Who does the grilling at your house? What’s the last thing you ate that was cooked on a grill?

When grilling, I prefer the taste of food that’s been cooked over charcoal.  However, in the interest of saving time, sometimes we use gas.  Ed always does the grilling, but I do know how to grill. ( I learned how to grill during our many camping trips.)  Ed grilled hamburgers and hot dogs for supper on Monday night–grilled over charcoal!

5. Are you afraid of the dark?

No, I’m not afraid of the dark, but I don’t like walking outside in the dark.  I’m afraid I’ll step on a snake!

6. Share a favorite song with a number in its title.

I love the song ‘One More Day’ by Diamond Rio.  It’s a beautiful song, that perfectly expresses how most of us feel about our loved ones, especially after they’ve gone.  Sometimes I find myself trying to imagine what life might be like without Ed, and this song always comes to mind.

I found a beautiful video of ‘One More Day’, matched up with a beautiful poem, entitled ‘The Last Time’. The video is well worth watching, and will certainly make you stop and think.

7. “Everything that irritates us about others can lead us to an understanding of ourselves.”(C.G. Jung). Do you agree? Why or why not?

I’m not sure I totally agree.  When someone irritates me I find myself wondering why people can’t just do what they’re supposed to do!  It’s usually people who always arrive late, break in line, talk on their cell phones while shopping or dining, or let their children run wild, who bother me the most.  I don’t do those things, and can’t understand why others do.

Random:

The row of flowers that I planted in the garden has begun to bloom.  The zinnias are in full bloom, while the sunflowers are just beginning to open.  I’ll try to post a picture soon.  In the meantime, here’s a picture of the first bouquet of zinnias that I cut, last week.  They still remind me of my grandmother because she always grew zinnias in her garden, too.  You can’t see it in the picture, but the flowers are in my late mother-in-law’s milk glass vase, which makes me think of her, as well.

100_3862

Also, here’s a picture of one of the bowls of fresh blackberries that I picked off of our two thorn-less blackberry bushes. The bushes are so tall, I don’t even have to bend down to pick, and, best of all, they have no thorns!  It’s hard to tell from this photo, but the berries are the size of my thumb, or larger.
100_3873

Published in: on June 4, 2014 at 6:47 am  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/06/04/the-wednesday-hodgepodge-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Those berries look delicious! The flowers are so colorful, they almost look artificial. Really lovely, and I can just imagine how pretty they look outside, too! Great hodgepodge!!

  2. I love that song by Diamond Rio. Those berries look delicious.

  3. Oh my … my mouth is watering just looking at those blackberries … they are my favorite berry! And yes, those pop-ups are SO annoying!

  4. Beautiful berries and beautiful flowers! So bright and cheery. The lead singer of Diamond Rio graduated from the same school I did. Also, his parents’ home is just around the corner from us, however, I don’t know if they still live there or not.

  5. Blackberries are my favorite and those look wonderful! I love that song by Diamonf Rio. I agree with you on the Pop-ups.

  6. I know what you mean about walking around in the dark. We have raccoons living in the sewers and they come out frequently at night, I’m always afraid I’m going to run into one of those. They’re quite large and very creepy.

  7. I don’t get many pop-up anymore but they were always irritating. Fresh blackberries, how awesome is that!!!

  8. Yeah, I much prefer charcoal too! And how I’d love a bowl of fresh blackberries about now. Never have understood Peter Rabbit. And we have so few snakes up here that it would be a miracle to step on one. Which is a good thing. 🙂

  9. And I meant to say, thank you for your nice comment re. the photo of Bridger and my dad. 🙂

  10. I agree with your answer to #2. Your bouquet looks wonderful and the blackberries are mouth watering. Nice blog!

  11. Pretty zinnias…and berries!! 🙂

  12. I’m jealous of your cut flowers. I don’t cut mine because I like to admire them in my yard but I did like to buy small bouquets and have them in the bathroom when I was having company. It took him about 6 years but Marcel has discovered he likes to eat flowers – and throw them up!

  13. I enjoyed reading your Hodgepodge answers. We had a few in common.

    Our blackberries are just starting to grow. I guess we are a bit behind you here. I can’t wait to pick them and make blackberry crumble.

  14. What great answers. Those flowers are lovely! Now, I have blackberry envy. 😉 Blessings, Valerie

  15. Flowers are so pretty and I can just taste those blackberries. Yum!

  16. I love zinnias too. They remind me of my mom’s garden growing up. My mom still has such a green thumb. I love the Diamond Rio song…thanks for posting! Trying to catch up on last week’s HPs : )


Leave a Reply

