It’s Monday…

It seems like I’ve been away from this computer forever, but, in reality, it’s only been four days.  Ed was off on Friday (another mandatory vacation day), so we had a long weekend together.  I’m beginning to like, and look forward to, those ‘mandatory vacation days’, so when Ed’s off, the computer gets a rest.  In fact, it collects a lot of dust.

To make a long story short,  the past three days,  Ed and I spent another day on St. Simon’s Island (without car trouble), worked in the garden (a lot), canned more vegetables, and spent time with each other and with our family.  Life has been good in our neck of the woods!  All good things must come to an end, so Ed had to go back to work today.

The house is a wreck, my hair needs washing, and the laundry pile is out of sight, so I’ll blog more about what’s been going on around here…later!  I’ll be catching up on blog visits, as I can.

Since it’s Monday, I’m joining Heather and Wayne’s ‘About Me Quiz’ again.  It’s a fun way to kick off a new week!

Acting Balanced

1. It’s email week – do you still use email for communication? How do you keep in touch with most people?

Yes, I still use email for communication. I prefer email over phone conversations because email gives me more time to think about what I want to say. Email and phone calls are the primary ways that I keep ‘in touch’ with people.

2. Today is Donald Duck Day – in his honor, we’re asking what makes you Quackers?

Children who disrespect their parents, and refuse to obey their rules  makes me go ‘Quackers’!   The last time I remember going ‘Quackers’ was about 13 years ago.  Our oldest son, who was being very disrespectful and hard to live with at the time, called me ‘the B word’.  Something in me just snapped!  I grabbed the broom, and chased him out of the house!  It’s a good thing he out-ran me, because I may have inflicted bodily harm on him, with that broom, if I’d been able to catch him!  I was so mad, I actually tore a muscle in my leg, while running down the steps, and I didn’t even notice the pain!  I hobbled around, afterward, for over three weeks.

3. Tomorrow is Iced Tea Day – sweet or unsweet? flavored? lemon? not at all?

I’m a southern girl, so I really like sweetened iced tea!  My favorite brand is Luzianne.  These days, due to dietary restrictions, I only drink iced tea, occasionally, as a rare treat, and I usually drink it without lemon.

4. How is your garden growing?

Our garden is growing great!  (Unfortunately, the grass and weeds are growing great, too.)

Here’s some of the bounty we gathered on Saturday morning:

100_3874

Here’s a picture of what our garden looks like, at the moment:

(corn, sunflowers, butter beans, peas,  and more butter beans)

The white dot in the picture is Ed

100_3901

Published in: on June 9, 2014 at 10:44 am  Comments (10)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/06/09/its-monday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I don’t blame you. I would’ve chased him down for that too! lol

    Your garden and the bounty of it is beautiful!

  2. Wow that is some garden! I think I chased my son with a broom at one time as well.

  3. That is a HUGE garden!! I think I’ve said that before, though. Oh my….but the bounty will be wonderful.

    Glad you had some quality time this weekend, and no car trouble. Our son and DIL are moving to Brunswick, GA. We may need to plan a visit on St. Simons when we get up that way to see their new house. They don’t move until July, but we are excited to have the closer to us!

  4. Your garden is wonderful, and the vegetables you have harvested look great!
    Have a wonderful week!

  5. WOW your garden is huge! I can see why the laundry is piling up, you are blessed for sure.

  6. What a fabulous garden! It makes ours look so puny!

    I prefer to communicate via email for the very same reasons you listed.

    Glad you had some time on SSI.

  7. Wow! Your garden look like it’s on steroids. It seems to have doubled in height since last you posted a picture of it. You certainly have a green thumb!

  8. Glad you had a nice weekend and your garden looks wonderful! Loking forward to our first tomatoes!

  9. Love your garden. You and Ed are definitely masters at gardening.

    Isn’t it a joy, and sometimes a bit of a surprise, at how an ornery, disrespectful teenaged male offspring can turn into a responsible, caring adult!


Leave a Reply

