This-N-That On Tuesday…

Since I was in a bit of a hurry when I blogged yesterday, I thought I’d take this chance to unwind a bit, and talk about what’s been going on around here, lately.  I’ll begin by showing off my newest bouquet from the garden–in one of Ed’s mom’s vases, of course.

100_3906

On Thursday, Ed and I ‘adopted’ another item from his mom’s house.  This time it was the buffet to her old dining room suit.  I don’t know how old it is, but I’m thinking it’s about as old as Ed, and he’ll soon be 65.  I didn’t plan to ‘adopt’ the buffet, but didn’t want to let it get out of the family either.  Our daughter-in-law, Christina, mentioned she’d love to refinish the buffet, but has no place to keep it, at this time, so I decided to hang onto it.  For now, it makes a great place to store things!  If Christina wants to give it a home, someday, it’ll be hers.  (Funny thought here:  Isn’t it funny how one’s home sort of ‘morphs’ into a mixture of their parents’ things, along with your own–or is it just us?)

100_3564

the old buffet, before we moved it

As I mentioned, Ed and I made another trek to St. Simon’s Island, on Friday.  We almost called our trip off because it rained all night Thursday night.  We finally decided to go ahead, and take a chance–rain or shine.  The day was a bit overcast, but we don’t care much for being in the sun anyway.  Fortunately, we didn’t see any rain, until we got back home!  It turned out to be a good beach day for us, except for the lady with the six barking dogs!  Why would anyone take SIX dogs to the beach???  They barked at everything, almost the entire time!  FYI: I didn’t take a single picture.

Over the weekend, Ed and I canned twelve more quarts of green beans, bringing our grand total up to forty-five quarts for this season!  We’re officially finished with the beans, and that’s a great feeling!  I’m still putting squash in the freezer though.  We only planted four hills of squash, and grew more squash than ever before!

On Saturday night, I tried something I’ve never done.  I made a jar of pickled peppers!  This is our first year of growing peppers, and Ed wanted to pickle some.  I wasn’t sure how to do it, so I consulted Google, and found a video on YouTube.  I only made one jar, and they turned out great–or at least I think they did.  We haven’t opened them, yet.

100_3909

 jar of pickled peppers

On Sunday, I cooked dinner for two of our three children and their families. (Our oldest son and his family were on vacation.) I used to cook Sunday dinner every week, but don’t do it much, these days. Everyone seemed to enjoy the lunch of roast beef with fresh vegetables, along with the blackberry cobbler and banana pudding for dessert.  We had a great time reminiscing about old times, afterward.

As you can see, little Evan (our youngest ‘grand’) isn’t so little anymore! It’s amazing how much he grows and changes in just two weeks’ time. He’s a busy little fellow, these days, and I was only able to capture one picture of him.  Everything goes straight into his mouth, these days!

100_3910

our 7 month old Evan

This time, I’ll only have to wait five days to see Evan again, because all of the family has been invited to Brad and Jennifer’s house on Saturday!  They’re having a cookout for everyone, with swimming afterward.  I know the grandkids will love that!

The new kitten is doing well.  I’m still deciding on a name for it.  I keep calling it different names, waiting to see what it best responds best to. So far–nothing!  By the way, I think ‘it’ is a ‘she’!  She is very ‘spirited’, and likes to stay right under my feet.  I’ve been leaning heavily toward the name “Lucky”, but if she doesn’t stay out from under my feet, that name may no longer apply! That crazy little kitten actually likes to chase the chickens, too!  No fear!

Speaking of the chickens, another one of our hens became ill, yesterday.  Why is it always something, lately?!  She was fine yesterday morning, but by the afternoon, she wasn’t.  I’ll be watching her closely today to see how it goes.  (I’m thinking – now I know why people butcher and eat their chickens each year, then get a new flock!)  If this one dies, we’ll be down to just three hens!  It’s getting time to decide whether to continue this venture or get out.

Yesterday was a hot day!  I don’t know what the high temp was, but at 9 o’clock, last night, it was still 81 degrees!  Today appears to be headed in the same direction.  As of 6:30, this morning, the chickens now have a fan blowing inside of their coop!  Lucky girls–except for the one who’s not feeling well.

That’s pretty much what’s been going on around here.  So what have you been up to, lately?  Do tell!

 

 

Published in: on June 10, 2014 at 9:14 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/06/10/this-n-that-on-tuesday/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hope your chicken will be okay. I hate for anything to be sick.

    We have rain today, but it cooled off enough last night, that we turned off our air and opened the window. Love it!!

    What have I been doing….I’m trying a new craft. Melting beads to make a suncatcher. It’s pretty easy, but stinky and I think I’m going to like them when I work out all the bugs. lol When I get a really good one, I’ll post it on my blog.

  2. Sorry to hear about another sick hen. I know nothing about them, or what their life expectancy is (if not used for Sunday dinner!). Keep us posted about the new kitten’s name. It will come…

    The buffet will make a nice storage space for you, but I can see how pretty it will be when your daughter decides to refinish it. All that dark stain will go away and the wood’s grain will emerge again…it will be a show piece! Thanks for catching us up! Family time sounds wonderful!

  3. You should be so proud of your flowers, beans and peppers. Just as our tomatoes and okra started producing, we left for a wedding in Virginia. Wedding festivities are over and we are into our third week on the road. Gardening and travel aren’t mixing well, methinks.

    We have enjoyed festive meals last week with family that we don’t get to see often. Your gathering and menu reminds me of happy memories of years past. Hope your hen gets better and that somehow the mystery illness is identified and banished.

  4. 45 quarts of green beans! I can’t even picture that!
    About the kitten’s name. Right before we got divorced, my husband found a kitten at work and brought her home. He named her L.C. for Lucky Cat. I insisted it was Elsie. His mom moved out to California from NY and she eventually took the cat ,to live with her. Elsie lived to be about 14 so she was a lucky cat.

  5. Buffet is a great piece…glad you are holding in to it! 45 quarts…Wow! That represents a lot of work! Hubby canned some peppers last year. He found an easy recipe on line and did about 20 jars, He and our younger son have really enjoyed them!! Hope yours are as good! 🙂

  6. Am I the only one who immediately thought of “Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers; a peck of pickled peppers Peter Piper picked. If Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.”? 😉

  7. That is a lovely bouquet from your garden. Is that baby’s breath your growing or something similar? It is a lovely buffet. We have my husband’s grandmother’s dining room set and they are priceless. Pickled peppers, how cool! Evan is so precious and your kitten sounds cute too. Sorry to hear about your sick chicken 😦


Leave a Reply

