Dropping In For The Hodgepodge…

I said I’d give it my best shot–so here I am, participating in today’s Hodgepodge.  The veggies will just have to wait today, and I’ll tell you why in my random thought below.  As always, thanks to our gracious hostess, Joyce, for hosting this fun meme.  Now for today’s questions:

1. Since you weren’t Hodgepodging last Wednesday, how did you pass the time?

Last Wednesday, I had an appointment for a ‘cut and color’, which is always a good day!  I thought about doing some shopping, afterward, but decided to come home instead.

2. What’s the first word that comes to mind when I say marriage? Yes, one word.

The first word that comes to my mind is ‘compromise’, because marriage involves the blending of two independent people into one united couple, and eventually a family.  No two people like all of the same things, or do things the same way, so some type of compromise will be necessary to achieve happiness and harmony.

3. Summer officially arrives in the Northern hemishpere later this week. Does it feel like summer where you live? Describe your idea of the perfect summer day.

Yes, it feels very much like summer here!  Last week, our heat index was at 107 for two days in a row!  One of our hens apparently became over-heated on one of those days.  Fortunately, she recovered and seems to doing okay, for now.  We’ve installed a fan inside of the chicken coop now, so hopefully, that will prevent any future problems.

4. “Deep summer is when laziness finds respectability.”(Sam Keen) Is laziness ever respectable? Do you have a lazy summer planned, or something semi-ambitious?

I think everyone needs a little time to relax and regroup, sometimes.  In those cases, laziness is absolutely respectable!

As for my summer, it will be a combination of work and play, thanks to the garden!  We rarely go on over-night vacations anymore, but we take our fair share of day trips to the ocean.  (Besides, it’s the only way to get Ed to sit down and relax.)  Ed and I have both come to look forward to those ‘mandatory’ vacation days every two weeks 🙂

5. Past or present, who’s your favorite television dad? Why is he a favorite? Is he anything like your own dad?

My favorite television dad was Charles Ingals on ‘Little House On the Prairie’.  He was an honest, hard-working man, and he was gentle and loving with his wife and daughters.  Yes, I suppose my own daddy had a few of those same traits, too.

6. June 18th is International Picnic Day…share a favorite picnic memory.

My favorite picnic memories have taken place at St. Simon’s Island.  Ed and I used to always stop and pick up sandwiches [on the way to the beach] at Subway, then eat them under our favorite oak tree–but that was before we saw the roach in Subway’s cookie bin one day!  These days, we’ve found a delicious bar-b-que  place on the island, that we both love, so we get take-out sandwiches and eat those under our favorite oak tree.  Everything tastes better when eaten under that tree, while admiring the ocean.  (Did I mention that we’ll be having a picnic there today?!)

7. The travel site Trip Advisor lists the top five islands in the world for 2014 as- Ambergris Caye in Belize Cayes, Providenciales in Turks and Caicos, Bora Bora in French Polynesia, Marco Island Florida, and Lewis and Harris in The Outer Hebrides (Scotland). Have you been to any of these? Of those listed (and if price were not a factor) which would you most like to book for a holiday?

I’ve never been to any of these islands, and I don’t know anything about any of them.  Since I don’t have the time or energy to research them, I’ll choose Marco Island Florida because I’ve loved almost any place I’ve ever been in Florida.

Random:

Forty-two years ago, today, Ed and I became husband and wife.  I can’t believe how quickly those forty-two years have passed!  God blessed me with a truly wonderful husband, and I wouldn’t change a thing!

Many years ago, Ed and I began the tradition of timing our vacation around our anniversary, so we could always spend the entire day of our anniversary together.  Today is no exception.  Ed has taken another ‘mandatory’ vacation day, and we plan to spend the day under our favorite oak tree, at St. Simon’s Island.  (The garden veggies are  just going to have to wait!)

On our wedding night, our first meal as husband and wife was Kentucky Fried Chicken.  The manager of the KFC gave us our meal for free, after noticing ‘Just Married’  was written all over our car.  Ed and I have made it an anniversary tradition to eat at KFC every year since.  This year won’t be any different.  We’ll stop by KFC on our way home…

I made the video, below, for Ed on our 40th anniversary, and the years seemed to have passed almost as quickly, in real life, as they do on this video!  Ed and Kathy, this is your life…

 

Published in: on June 18, 2014 at 6:51 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/06/18/dropping-in-for-the-hodgepodge-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy Anniversary! Hope you have a wonderful, “lazy” day!! 🙂 Great video…you two have aged beautifully!

  2. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!! Loved the video, which is full of love and fun! Your anniversary traditions are great! Enjoy your trip to St. Simon’s today! You are right to let the veggies wait!

  3. I just love that song. Alan Jackson has such a way with words. Happy Anniversary! Enjoy your day at the beach and many more years together. The KFC tradition is too sweet!

  4. Ah, day trips to the ocean sound wonderful! Getting my hubby away from the area completely is also really the only time he relaxes. And guess what, we’ve been married almost the same length of time as you two. Happy Anniversary to you!

  5. Happy Anniversary! (is it really that time of year again?) Enjoy your day on your favorite beach!

    I love the slide show, but just have one question… A little while back I thought you had said One True Media was shutting down? And yet, you used it for this slide show. Did they change their mind, or did I have that all wrong?

  6. Happy Anniversary! Such a sweet video, and combined with that song, it required work on my part to hold back tears.

  7. Happy Anniversary! Love your yearly tradition!!

  8. Wonderful answers.

  9. Happy, happy anniversary (belated). I hope you enjoyed your day on SSI.

  10. Compromise is a good word choice. Glad your chicken is doing better.
    Happy to hear your working in some play time for yourself. Happy Anniversary and I love that your first meal together was KFC!!!


Leave a Reply

