Hello Hodgepodge…

I’m still blogging in ‘hit or miss’ mode, lately.  I’m so thankful for The Hodgepodge because it gives me a reason to get up off my booty and get back to blogging!

I’m also grateful to our hostess, Joyce, for providing such great questions week after week, and for the blog friends I’ve made through participating in The Hodgepodge.

Here are this week’s questions, along with my answers:

1. The month of July was named for Roman Emperor Julius Caesar. He’s quoted as saying, ‘Experience is the teacher of all things.” So what has experience taught you lately?

Experience has taught me that my body is not as young and resilient as it used to be.  Although I can still do the same kinds of things, it takes me a little longer to get back the ‘pep back in my step’, afterward!  (In other words, I’m still recuperating from our 2014 gardening experience!)

2. Where did you last ‘roam’?

Ed and I ‘roamed’ to our son, Brad’s, house.  Last Sunday, some of the family went into the city to help Brad celebrate his 29th birthday.  We ate pizza, salad, bread sticks, cheese cake and birthday cake for lunch.  The food was delicious and we had a nice visit.  When we got there, we discovered that Brad had shaved his beard off!  Doesn’t he look ten years younger?

Brad's b'day 1

3. Speaking of ‘Rome’…pizza, pasta, gelato…you can only pick one, which would you choose?

I’d choose pizza every time!

4. ‘Rome wasn’t built in a day’, ‘All roads lead to Rome’, ‘When in Rome…’ which ‘Roman’ idiom have you most recently encountered? Explain.

It seems to take forever to get anything finished, these days.  I keep telling myself, “Rome wasn’t built in a day.”  Thankfully, growing older has given me more patience.

5. What’s a movie you’ve seen or a book you’ve read, that makes you want to book a trip to Italy?

Nothing comes to mind, but of course, Italy has never been on my list of places that I’d like to visit.  I started watching ‘Under the Tuscan Sun’ but never finished watching it…

6. Walt’s original Disneyland opened almost sixty years ago, on July 17, 1955 Have you ever been to the California park? How about any of the other Disney parks around the world? What’s your favorite amusement park ride or attraction?

I haven’t been to Disneyland in California, but I’ve been to Florida’s Disneyworld, twice.  Disneyworld is nice, but it’s too crowded for my taste, and the lines are too long!  It’s been thirty-something years since I’ve been, but, back then, I liked ‘Space Mountain’ and ‘The Haunted Mansion’.

7. It’s that time of year…when were you last bitten or stung?

I get bitten by mosquitoes almost daily, even though I rarely go outside without wearing insect repellent!  Mosquitoes and gnats love me.  Thank goodness, it’s been quite a while since I’ve been stung.

Random:

Did you read my yesterday’s post of Three Mockingbirds In A Pear Tree?  If not, check it out to see what’s been going on around our house.

 

 

Published in: on July 16, 2014 at 7:58 am  Comments (7)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/07/16/hello-hodgepodge-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Such a sweet picture of your grandson too-he’s a cutie!

  2. I am with you on needing more time to get things done. I too take longer and I am slowing down. Good thing I am retired.

  3. I’ve learned the same thing about healing and aging. I took a tumble a year ago May and it took way longer to get over it than it ever had in the past. I just took another tumble Monday and am wondering if taking tumbles are going to be my fate. LOL It’s not as bad as the one in May 2013. I agree with Disney being too crowded too. I just don’t handle heat or crowds well. If you put them together—look out! 🙂

  4. Yay for pizza. I’m like you right now in the blogging arena. Definitely hit or miss with me. I too am grateful for Joyce and the Hodgepodge.

    I didn’t get your post read yesterday, heading there now.

  5. Looks like a fun visit with your son and his family. Quite a handsome group! It does take a little longer to bounce back after activities these days. I’m realizing it after two days with the 11 month old grandson. Thanks for stopping by, and happy Wednesday!

  6. I hear you on the body not being young anymore 😦 Glad you got to celebrate with Brad for his birthday. Beards are fun but I do love a face with a clean shave. You must finish Under the Tuscan Sun!!!

  7. The things I used to do all day now takes me all day to do! I’m still having trouble reconciling the fact that I’m 60 years old. I agree with you on the Disney question. I’m not a fan of long lines. Great picture of your grandson, he’s a real cutie.


Leave a Reply

