A Quiet Weekend…

Once again, it’s been a few days since I’ve posted.  Sometimes the words just aren’t there, and sometimes I have other things demanding my attention, but today I’m beginning the week by blogging!

Ed and I are dealing with a few things, job related, that I can’t blog about, and at times, it gets to be quite stressful.  Sometimes I think we have problems, then I take a look at so many others around me, and our problems don’t seem big at all…  For instance,

Gene, brother-in-law of my good friend, Diane, just had a massive stroke, last week.  Ed and I have known Gene for many years, and, in fact, Ed just saw him at the hospital, recently.  Gene’s been in the NICU since Thursday, on a ventilator.  There’s been no improvement, and he’s not expected to recover.  His family will soon be faced with some tough decisions, concerning removal of the ventilator.

My friend, Diane, is dealing with several health issues of her own, as well.  Among them, chronic back problems, chronic foot problems (surgery needed for both), and her most recent problem –stomach ulcers.  In addition to all of this, Diane’s husband suffered a mild stroke, just over a year ago, and Diane’s mom recently had to enter an assisted living facility, due to having Alzheimer’s.  When it rains, it pours, sometimes–or so it seems.  Like I said, suddenly my problems don’t seem so big, after all.

In other news, Ed and I spent a quiet weekend at home.  Ed finished a few chores around the house.  Mowing the grass, cutting down the last of the spring garden, washing cars, etc.  Meanwhile, I didn’t do a whole lot, other than a little grocery shopping.  Sometimes quiet weekends are good.

However, on Saturday morning, I did manage to hoe one-half of the fall garden!  Ed helped me hoe the other half.  Thank goodness the fall garden consists of only three rows of vegetables–but those three rows are 150 feet long each!

On Saturday evening, our family (minus three) gathered over at my daughter’s house for boiled peanuts and a cookout.  It rained, so we had to move our activities indoors, but we still had a good time.  While eating supper, I sat at the table in the dining room, admiring the beautiful view out of the front sliding glass doors.  Oh how I miss that view!  It overlooks much of the family farm, including our current garden. (In case you’re confused, Ed and I lived in our daughter’s current house for 30 years, before moving next door.)  I couldn’t help but wonder how many meals had been enjoyed, by our family, in that dining room, over the years.  Lots of memories, that’s for sure!

The high point of Saturday evening (other than enjoying the view and everyone’s company) was watching the wedding video of our daughter’s wedding.  Oh my goodness!  A lot happens to people in thirteen years!!!  Many of the wedding guests have since passed away, and many of us have not aged gracefully…  Enough said!

We didn’t see Brad and his family this weekend, but little Evan learned how to crawl last week!  Thanks to Facebook, I’ve already been able to see the little fellow in action!  His mama recorded and shared Evan’s feat.  Social media certainly makes being a long-distance grandma a little easier.

I’d hoped to go to the beach, on Sunday, but we didn’t make it.  I woke up tired, and the weather wasn’t cooperating either.  Ed and I ended up spending a lazy day at home, watching the sun play peek-a-boo behind the clouds.  We caught up with some television watching, and took two naps!  Hopefully, Ed went back to work rested today.

I hope we’ll make it to the beach sometime this coming weekend.  Ed has a three day weekend off, due to having to take another mandatory vacation day.  I’m sure looking forward to seeing this again…

100_3782

Update:  I just received word, from Diane, that Gene passed away at 5:30 yesterday afternoon.   I know he’s in a far better place, but I will continue to pray for his family in the difficult days ahead…

Published in: on July 21, 2014 at 9:53 am  Comments (8)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/07/21/a-quiet-weekend/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. So sorry about the loss of Gene, but so glad he doesn’t have to suffer any more. I’ll say a prayer for his family and friends.

    Hope you make it to the beach this week and that all goes well with the work situation.

  2. So sorry to hear of the loss of your friend, Gene. I will offer prayer for the family. We spent a lazy weekend, too. I only did as much as I had to, to not feel like a total vegetable!

  3. We had a quiet weekend here too. I’m sorry for your friend and pray peace reigns down on his wife. So hard.

  4. This comes with prayer for Gene’s family, all those big problems among your friends and family and for those problems you and Ed are facing.

  5. Oh my, such a sad post. I hope everyone involved finds peace.

  6. Praying that you’ll have peace and wisdom on those job-related issues you’re dealing with.

    Praying, also, for peace and comfort for your friend Diane and her family.

    I’m looking forward to seeing that view, too. Hard to believe that it’s been so long since we’ve been to SSI! Need to get back.

  7. So sorry about your friend Gene….((HUGS)) I think it is always important, when going through a difficult time, to be thankful for what we do have. Keeping Gene’s family and friends in my prayers.

    Sounds like a nice visit with your family on Saturday and hope you can get to the beach on Sunday. I have the beach on my mind almost everyday lately!!!

  8. Sorry to read about your friend Gene, my sympathy. That water view looks good to me:)


Leave a Reply

