Old Vehicles Never Die, They Come Live At Our House!

Ten years ago, if someone had told me that we’d own three vehicles, thirteen years and older, I’d have told them they were crazy!  Yet, here we are, with three old vehicles–two of them well-past the age of thirteen.  Ya’ know, Ed and I really didn’t plan for this to happen, it just sorta’ did!

First, I bought ‘Classy’, my litte PT Cruiser–w-a-a-a-y back in 2001, right after Cruisers first came out.  It was love at first sight for me,  and I just had to have her!  She was sitting on a used car lot, with only 2000 miles on her, and the factory plastic was still on the seats, believe it or not! Once I got her, I remember telling Ed,  “This is a car I’d like to keep forever…”  Little did I know I might get my wish!

9-3-2009 6;03;25 PM

‘Classy’ and me

My little PT Cruiser has been my favorite vehicle of any that I’ve ever owned.  It’s little, but so versatile.  It works like a small mini van, with seats that fold down, then up and slide forward.  It’s, also, easy to spot in the parking lot, because it’s different ( there aren’t very many of them on the road anymore).  Best of all, I haven’t had a car payment since 2006!  I never go anywhere (except St. Simon’s Island) so I’ve only recently racked up 100,000 miles on the old girl.  I think “Classy’ still has a lot of miles left in her, but we’ll have to wait and see.

Next came the 1991 Ford truck that belonged to Ed’s daddy.  After my FIL passed away, in 2002, Ed’s mama insisted that Ed drive the truck, sometimes, to keep it in good running condition.  Eventually, we ended up keeping the truck at our house, even though it still belonged to Ed’s mama.  We mostly used the truck for taking the trash off because the truck has always gotten terrible gas mileage, and the a/c no longer works.  It began needing repairs, but we put them off because nobody really needed it for anything, other than hauling the weekly trash to the cans up by the highway.

About the time Ed’s mama passed away, my washing machine died.  We then discovered how important it is to have a truck!  Everybody wanted at least sixty dollars to deliver a washer/dryer,  just seven miles!  Ed decided to sell his little Dodge Neon and buy his daddy’s truck from the estate.  We purchased new tires for it, as well as replaced the brakes and exhaust system.  We’ve been owners of the truck for almost a year now–an antique truck!  However,  that old truck is our last reminder of Ed’s daddy.  He loved that truck, and, in my mind, I can still picture him driving it.

7-15-2011 1;29;18 PM G'pa's b'day 20002

Ed’s daddy with his truck (cir. 2001)

Back in 1997, Ed’s daddy’s health was beginning to fail.  He wanted to buy his wife the car of her dreams, and he did.  He bought her a  white 1997 Lincoln Towncar, with all of the ‘bells and whistles’, and she absolutely loved it, right up until the day she died!

Ed’s mama was crazy about her Lincoln Towncar, and always made sure everything stayed in perfect condition.  She didn’t drive much after Ed’s daddy passed away, in 2002, but if she had to go anywhere, she always said, “Let’s take my car!”  We never once drove off in the Lincoln that she didn’t say (and I quote), “This is a fine car, ain’t it?!”  Vivian always looked forward to riding in her Lincoln.

100_4094

Ed’s mom’s beloved Lincoln

The months passed, following Ed’s mom’s death, and Vivian’s beloved Lincoln sat under the carport of her former home.  Ed cranked it weekly, and occasionally we’d drive it somewhere.  Nobody in the family seemed interested in buying it, and we just couldn’t stand the thought of selling it to a stranger.  So, guess what?  Ed eventually bought the Lincoln from the estate!  Now we have an antique car to go along with our antique truck.

So that’s how three old vehicles came to live at our house, at least for now.  Fortunately, neither of Ed’s parents’ vehicles have many miles on them; both have less than 100,000 miles, even though they’re up in years.  Ed drives the Lincoln to work every day, but we keep the truck parked at Ed’s parents’ house unless we need a truck for hauling something.  (Yes, Ed’s parents’ home still sits, unoccupied, except for ‘Trouble’ the cat, but that’s a story for another day…)

I suppose it’s good to have several vehicles to choose from, in case of car trouble.  We’ve already had to depend on those ‘antique vehicles’ twice this summer, when my ‘Classy’ decided to act up, out of the blue.  Maybe older is better…  Who knows?  Only time will tell.

 

 

Published in: on August 1, 2014 at 9:04 am  Comments (6)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://edshunnybunny.wordpress.com/2014/08/01/old-vehicles-never-die-they-come-live-at-our-house/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. First, let me say you have a beautiful family. Love your pictures, old and new. Also, love to hear about your adventures with the animals, at your house and your m-in-law’s. I’m touched by the way you and your husband care for them….the world needs more people like you in it. Your plant looks so healthy…you do have a green thumb…just look at your garden!!! I would love to have your lasagna recipe. Hope you and your family have a wonderful weekend.

  2. We keep cars forever here, too. You have one more up on us. Our 1987 Camry is currently out of commission. I believe it runs, but something needs repaired. It has more than 600,000 miles on it. Nope, I’m not kidding, either. We brought home all three of kids in that old gal. It’ll be a sad day when we finally say good-bye to her. Our 2003 Camry is our only running car. She’s still in good condition with more than 200,000. You won’t hear a single complaint roll of my tongue, if tomorrow she died. The thing with Toyota vehicles is they really last! I think your story of how you came in possession of your old vehicles is really touching and far better than mine. We bought ours straight off the lot brand new and just keep using them till the life drains from them. lol Thanks for sharing! 😉

  3. I got my PT Cruiser in 2002 it is a 2003. I got all the bells and whistles. It alas is getting old and starting to show it’s age. A bit of rust. Huge rust there. Minnesota salt on winter roads do that. It has less than 90,000 miles on it, but I fear it won’t see the 100,000 mark.
    I have used my car as if it were a truck and hauled much more than reasonable for a car. But what do you do when you don’t own a truck?

  4. I was enjoying your post and identifying with you on your love of Classy when my mind pulled up short and yelled “Whoa Nelly, hold on a second?!” Did she say they have to drive their garbage to the road. How far away is the road?We definitely inhabit two different worlds, girlfriend!

  5. Us older folks (and vehicles) just need some constant TLC. Hoping you get many more years out of your three vehicles!

  6. I always wanted a candy apple red PT Cruiser, but I never got it! 😦 Glad you got your “Classy”! We are going to St Simons next weekend for a wedding at Lovely Lane Chapel at Epworth. Maybe I will look for your oak tree! 🙂


Leave a Reply

